We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 star, or close” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Chester Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Chester Hotel to your Saves list
The Chester Hotel
59-63 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4YP, Scotland (Formerly Simpson's Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not 5 star, or close”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A real missed opportunity to be an excellent eatery. Having had a very disappointing meal at the chester some time ago I wrote a very friendly letter suggesting improvements however, the letter was not acknowledged. I should be surprised but given the management style and service in-house, I'm not.

Service is poor and particularly casual given the self proclaimed high standards at the venue. I then visited the bar for lunch; food is good but overpriced; not one new glass was provided despite 3 bottles of wine being served at our table; staff were not attentive (although we were in a booth off the corridor to the main restaurant so they could see us-terrible design concept) and one member of staff literally threw an item across the table rather than place it where it was suppose to go.......bizarre. So, 7 months on form my first particularity poor experience in the main restaurant, nothing has improved. Such a shame.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    17
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
11
27
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First stay at The Chester and will definitely be back. Room was modern and immaculate throughout. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Hadn't looked at this hotel before thinking it would be vastly overpriced but I got an excellent deal including breakfast and in comparison to Malmaison next door (which was more expensive) I think the rooms at the Chester are much better and overall better value. Malmaison wasn't as clean, room was tired and felt far too dark.

The internal access to the Chester restaurant is a bit confusing unless you go outside and back in the main door but not a major issue. Food was excellent. Also used the IX Beauty spa and was delighted with the service.

Only slight issue was a chilly room (as a previous reviewer stated) that took a while to heat up. Also quite a bit of noise carrying from the next door room (there was an adjoining door so think that was the main problem). Could hear every word of my neighbour on the phone and moving around, they weren't being overly loud but it was a bit annoying. Next stay I would ask for a room without the connecting door.

Overall very happy with my stay and will be back.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

2nd visit to The Chester and was slightly disappointed. There was 6 in our party and to start we ordered 1 bottle of wine. I tasted the wine and then the member of staff proceeded to pour wine into the glasses without asking how many were drinking wine and by the time she came back to me the wine was finished. She proceeded to say that 1 bottle would not provide enough wine for 6 people and asked if we wanted another bottle of wine and without wanting to create a fuss I agreed with her. However 10 minutes later she returned and apologised for her mistake and the second bottle was free of charge. With regard to the food the starters seemed smaller than before and not very well presented, no garnish or presentation just put onto a plate and served. 4 members of our party had the steaks and although they were good 3 of us commented that they were slightly over-seasoned and one was not cooked to preference. Overall disappointed with the food and won’t be rushing back.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I wasn't aware of the The Chester Hotel at all, not being too familiar with Aberdeen. This was booked by my company, but i will definitely stay again.
Check-in was easy and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. My room was excellent and the en-suite had a cracking shower with a rainfall head. Bliss.
The hotel all has easy access to the shopping and entertainment in the city centre. 30 minute walk if you're up for it or 10 minutes by cab.
The food at the function i was attending, breakfast and room service were beautifully presented and thoroughly enjoyable.
I'd recommend this hotel to any of my colleagues or friends.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved this hotel. Stayed over with friends. Check in was smooth, our rooms were top class. We decided to stay in the hotel to eat and enjoyed some great food in the bar. Had a fantastic nights sleep in their luxury beds and ended it all with a wonderful breakfast. Staff were so friendly and It really worked for us, we'll be back for sure. Very Classy!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've not stayed here before but couldn't see a link to post a review of the restaurant which is what this is. Their restaurant is a lovely new addition to Aberdeen's dining scene. My husband brought me here for my birthday dinner. The food was excellent. I had langoustines (see pic uploaded). Just as a side note friends who have visited the spa also enjoyed it.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The stay was pleasant enough, and because the hotel was nearly empty we got a good deal. We would have preferred to stay at the Malmaison, which is next door, but that was fully booked, that speaks volumes. The hotel is well presented with great John Byrne artwork hung around the hotel. Dinner was acceptable but nothing great. After dinner coffee was returned due to lack of coffee in the decaff. The staff tried very hard, to the point where their over attention made me squirm.
After I left they were less helpfull. I left my tablet charger which I reported immeadiately, this could not be located, even though I knew exactly where I left it and directed them to it. They are either sticky fingered or couldn't be bothered, I suspect the latter.

Room Tip: Go bigger if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Hotel

Address: 59-63 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4YP, Scotland (Formerly Simpson's Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Chester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpsons Aberdeen
The Chester Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.