We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced, over-rated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aberdeen Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aberdeen Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overton Circle-Dyce, Aberdeen AB21 7AZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WiFi + Late Checkout
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Over-priced, over-rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I recently stayed here on a business trip and picked this hotel for its proximity to the Kirkhill Industrial site. However, I wish I'd picked a hotel in the city centre instead and travelled out every day. The hotel is dated, bland and quite a depressing place to be 'stuck'. My room was either too hold or too cold due to the air heating system, which didn't respond well to my attempts at temperature regulation and made an annoying whirring noise all night. The internet connection was super slow, despite being advertised as high speed broadband (this was with ethernet connection too, not wifi). I couldn't even send a 3MB email (which sent in 2 seconds when I returned home). On top of all this, the price was outrageous - £200 a night plus £15 a day for internet and £20 a day for breakfast! I guess they get away with this extortionate price due to mainly business clientele. The only saving grace was the evening meal in the restaurant which was very good, even if the atmosphere left something to be desired. I'm not normally a fussy customer, however on this occasion I felt I needed to air my complaints. In future, I would stay at a hotel in the city centre, for half the price and with better quality accomodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    147
    67
    23
    6
See reviews for
52
83
26
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Modern, clean, quiet, with air conditioning . . . everything you'd want in an airport hotel. Good shuttle service to the Aberdeen airport as well. The rooms are really pretty top notch. The exercise/gym facility is also pretty nice with modern equipment.

The restaurant (which doesn't open for dinner until 6:30 pm) is marginal, at best. My wife and I had one of their dinner specials (pork cutlet), and it was darn near uneatable. I'd recommend eating in the bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Needed to catch up with a friend and the Marriott was a logical place, distance wise and somewhere were I could buy her lunch. Chose not to eat in the restaurant so sat on the leather sofas near the roaring fire, but not too near as curl up and go to sleep! I ordered drinks at the bar who offered to open a tab so I could add lunch etc. Very nice staff, including a 'new girl'. Ordered lunch, just sandwiches, and coffees later. Excellent, large cappuccinos! One of the sandwiches chicken and crispy pancetta, with side of vegetable crisps and crisp french fries, was fine. Mine, the Marriott club sandwich was HUGE! Two large sandwiches covered in crisps - far too much or my friend and I could have had it between us. It was a huge price too so really would have been better for two people. As we had a lot to talk about we stayed much longer than we planned and the staff brought us the bill when checking that we had all that we needed. Comfortable space just to stay and chat in, no pressure to leave or keep eating/drinking. Would use again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was a little weary about staying here given all recent reviews but have to admit I was pleasantly surprised. Location was great for me as it was near the office and near the airport. Customer service was excellent the minute I arrived with the check-in desk staff very polite and helpful. My exec room was large, clean and comfortable and breakfast the next morning was hot and tasty.

There was even a free shuttle to take me to work the next morning!

The downsides were:
1. No lift. I'm surprised a hotel like this does not have a lift but I was offered help by the porter

2. The exec lounge was small, no atmosphere and food horrible! More effort is needed here!!!

3. Breakfast was ample and included some hot items but I did notice an egg station and I was shocked to see that cost even extra!!! It's expensive enough (and a rip off) paying for breakfast in the first place and £270 for an exec room only to see extra charges for a custom made omelette. 4 star plus hotels around the world include this as standard breakfast, it should no different here

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingwall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Lovely hotel with plenty of (free) parking, ideal for travelling in and out of Aberdeen by car. Pool was clean and quiet during our visit. Our double room was very spacious with two king size beds. We didn't have breakfast on this occasion but previously has been very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room beside the pool if you are going to use it, you can just go out of your room and stra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

In my opinion this hotel is expensive (for what it has to offer). Although the quality is good, the price of meals and drinks is quite high, and to top it all - they charge a hefty levy for use of the internet (which, in fairness I should point out, they removed from my bill when I expressed an objection). Incidentally, if your business is with BP, then great - it's just across the road - otherwise it may be worth looking elsewhere for better value.
When I stayed (for 2 nights), the gym was closed for renovations - although the pool and sauna were available. The room was fine but I noted the noise from the airport at an ungodly hour on both nights; like many hotels, the best point was the staff, who were pleasant, helpful and welcoming.
Shall I stay there again? Undoubtedly, but only for a couple of nights at a time and as long as I don't have to pay for internet usage

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face the airport. Sometimes there are helicopters being serviced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Aberdeen Marriott is located in Dyce near the airport reather in the City centre. Howver the adavntage of this is that it is easy to get into town - a short drive and parking at the hotel is free.
The hotel itself is a 2 storey building which looks quite bland from the outside, however once you are through the doors it has the feel and look of a quality hotel. The lobby, bar and part of the restaurant look mock-baronial in style. As always at a Marriott, the rooms are spacious and well equipped with 32in flatscreen and a very very comfortable bed. The bathroom was quite small but was also well equipped and clean. The shower was excellent. We ate breakfast in the restaurant and the service and the food were great. Indeed all staff were friendly and welcoming.
The weekend rates can be very low - around £60 which makes the Marriott an excellent choice for a weekend break in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aberdeen Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Marriott Hotel

Address: Overton Circle-Dyce, Aberdeen AB21 7AZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#23 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aberdeen Marriott Hotel is ideally located 2 miles from Aberdeen International Airport and 6 miles from the city centre, offering elegant accommodations in the thriving port known as the Granite City. With a Spirit to Serve culture our associates know the unique requirements for both the leisure and business traveller alike. Our hotel features 155 spacious Guest rooms, Executive Lounge, Business Centre, complimentary WiFi in all public areas, 24 hour room service, on-site car parking for registered guests and air conditioning throughout. For dining requirements, Source Grill offers a wide variety of fantastic Scottish and International dishes whilst in the more informal Chats Bar we proudly serve Starbucks™ Coffee, an ideal venue for catching up with family and colleagues. Our Leisure Club is complimentary for all guests staying at the hotel and includes an indoor heated pool, whirlpool and sauna as well as a well-equipped fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Aberdeen Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Aberdeen
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aberdeen Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.