We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Konnichi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Konnichi
The Academys Shopping Centre | Belmont Street, Aberdeen, Scotland
01224 644991
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #336 of 528 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Went there with some friends for lunch after being recommended by another.

Restaurant was nice and airy and the lunch deal was pretty good value with a good choice between chinese, thai and singapore

They're advertised as being small dishes but were actually pretty filling. Highlight was definitely the singapore noodles, honey chilli chicken and squid

Nice place for something different

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poorly run bar and restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We had a drink in the bar prior to going for our meal. Found it to be very badly organised - cloths drying over the end of the bar, a sweeping brush sitting around, gin and tonic served without a slice of lemon. Restaurant was very quiet and decor very stark, tablecloths a bit grubby. We ordered wine from the wine list only to be told they did not have it available - why have it on the wine list then? Starters were good. Three of our mains were brought out - in oval serving dishes but had to wait for some time for the rice to appear. We then had to ask for plates for our food. The waiter was a very pleasant lad but his poor service just shows a lack of any training for staff. The food was reasonably good although green thai curry a bit runny.

Music from the bar was dire - we asked if they had any decent music only to be told there was an event on in the bar. They did offer to turn it down - did not happen and there was little evidence of people in the bar enjoying the music. A very disappointing visit to Konnichi, particularly as we had taken friends with us to use a voucher. Not like the previous restaurant Chi which was a classy place to eat - will not be giving Konnichi another go.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KONNICHIaberdeen, Owner at Konnichi, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Hi Elizabeth

We are very sorry to hear about your recent experience in KONNICHI.

Rest assured that the issues you highlighted are being dealt with and we are in the process of revising our staff training as well as partitioning off the bar area.

Our standards are usually better than that so we welcome your review and appropriate measures are being put in place.

Sincerely

KONNICHI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Had a nice lunch through Living Social deal.
Choise of the Maki list was good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A definite miss this time...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We first dined at Konnichi in November 2011. It was overall a tasty meal if not a little on the pricey side but it definitely hit the spot with being a bit fusion adventurous on a Satruday night. The service was good and the atmosphere was crisp which added to the dining experience well. We didn't order the set menu then so maybe that's where we went wrong.

Because this time almost everything about the food and drink was wrong. What on Earth happened in three months?? We ordered a Tokyo set-menu and the starter was decent but then everything after that, except the fish, was disappointing. Even the non-alcoholic drinks (lemonade, followed by a glass of water) were sub-standard, the lemonade tasting better than the water as we couldn't taste what was mixed with it strong enough. A clear sign that the filters needed cleaning, but maybe that is the problem with it being a restaurant/bar. We were hoping that the Green Tea Ice Cream would be a redeeming feature of the meal, since it was quite good the last time, and was more than disappointed as it came out more frozen than creamed and tasted more like lemon-lime.

All we can say is don't order the set menu and don't order non-alcoholic drinks. The only reason this place is getting a 2-star rating from us is because it was a 'hit' before and that the service and atmosphere was good both times around.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyaberdeen, Public Relations Manager at Konnichi, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Daisy,

Many thanks for your post on Trip Advisor. We have noted the contents and have taken on board the comments made. I felt that your post was very constructively and I have commenced with an internal investigation looking into the matter.

Naturally, no buisness likes to recieve negative comments but here at Konnichi we feel that all feedback is important. Without it, we cannot improve or put right issues that have arisen.

I would like to advise that we have already disgarded the Green Tea ice cream, as it does not meet standards - pointed out by your kind self. I will now be bringing in a new line. I do accept that this may not bring any immediate compensation to you but nonetheless, I hope ,that our actions are accepted in good faith.

Notwithstanding the above, I would like to offer my apologies on behalf of Konnichi.

Accordingly, I would welcome an opportunity to speak with you directly, and if you choose to do so; I can be contacted at the restaurant.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great birthday dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I went to Konnichi to celebrate my 19th birthday with friends. I have to completely disagree with dirdriller,I booked a table for 10 and had a great time. When we got there, the staff had put together tables so we could all sit.
We ordered 3 jugs of tap water (which were refilled without us asking throughout the night) and cocktails, which were all delicious. We got the Sushi platter to start off with, which was enough for everyone to try a few different types of sushi. Some of us had never had sushi before and were pleasantly surprised, others knew sushi well and were equally satisfied. We then each ordered different dishes, from Singapore rice noodles to Honey Chilli Chicken to the Konnichi Chicken Supreme to Salmon Tempura, and everyone loved their food. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We had the chocolate rolls for desert, which are a definite must try - they are like spring rolls but with chocolate inside, served with vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce. Delicious. After the dinner, some more friends joined us for drinks, which are very reasonably priced. Technically, the restaurant closes at 11, but they let us stay a little longer, and when we eventually left everyone had had a wonderful time and I definitely enjoyed my birthday dinner!

I recommend the Konnichi Bar for anyone who wants to try some genuinely unique food in a great atmosphere!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konnichi also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Konnichi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konnichi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.