We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for offshore workers or business... that's about it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Menzies Dyce

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Menzies Dyce to your Saves list
Menzies Dyce
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Farburn Terrace, Aberdeen AB21 7DW, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Dyce Skean Dhu)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“OK for offshore workers or business... that's about it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

After staying here on and off for the last 8 years before going offshore I am pleased to say that some of the old issues are starting to change - but some remain the same

Being primarily used for offshore workers expect to see a lot of them about.

The staff on reception are generally very friendly and you never seem to need to wait long to be seen to.

The restaurant just off of reception has never been a strong point for me. Staff are very detached, slow and the place is fairly small. Food is fantastically overpriced for what it is.

By total contrast food from the restaurant at the rear of reception is the total opposite. Staff are friendly, bright and the food - while still fairly expensive - has always been of good quality.

Location is probably best for those using the heliports, airport and nearby business areas. There's not much else to do locally within walking distance. Fairly recently a large ASDA superstore has been built but it is still a good 10 min hike away.

Expect to be woken very early in the morning by airport noise and people leaving hotel / cleaners. Rooms are not soundproofed at all it seems, the huge gap under the door to the outside world won't help that much.

Rooms seem to be very hit or miss. Some are clean and comfortable, others seem to be straight from the 80's and with a mattress made from local granite. If you're lucky you might end up in one of the "vip rooms" to the right of reception - where rooms and standards are like a whole different hotel! I've only been lucky enough to stay there once, probably by accident.

Another positive is the courtesy buses to the heliport, but be there early they fill up fast.

Luckily my company has always picked up the tab to stay here, I doubt I would pay for it out of my own pocket.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the left next to the train tracks, the noise is 10 times worse there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Menzies Dyce, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review further to your recent stay and for discussing your comments with me. As I mentioned we have refurbished all of our bedrooms and are not fitting weather proof strips in order to draught proof the rooms.

As promised I will ensure that your next stay is a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    59
    43
    21
    26
See reviews for
12
35
15
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
540 helpful votes 540 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

the rooms are ok for an over night stay like we did but not for longer as there is nothing really around there to do. we found one pub nearby near the train station at dyce (the spiders web.) the rooms are trying to look better than they are. the hotel seems to have a number of oil workers staying there in between travel and it can be quite noisy. the hotel is near the heliport and the noise from the sprinter train and helicopters starting up in the morning. if you get the upgraded rooms near reception they would be more quieter i would imagine. mixed bag of staff on reception. food is good however but expensive. breakfast is ok with a good choice. staff working on the breakfasts were more polite than the staff in the evening. there is no link between the main hotel and the cheaper rooms in different blocks, so if weather bad you will get wet between your room and reception.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Menzies Dyce, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay back in October, I am sorry you did not wish to discuss this in detail. I can tell you that since your stay we have made improvements to our rooms. I have shared your review with the team in order to improve our facilities and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here in October 2012. From the outside the place doesnt look very nice at all. Inside its modern and quite nice. The room i stayed in was nice and large and had a double bed with plenty of tea and coffee. The reception staff werent that helpful at all as i wanted to get into town and wouldnt really give me much information to help me.
The food was nice but very overpriced for what it was. Breakfast was good though with a wide selection and the breakfast staff were very friendly. top points to them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Menzies Dyce, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, however I have noted your comments with regard to the receptionist being a little unhelpful and the food pricing. I hope you will stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed her for the night as we were attending a family function,
Check inn was simple and we were directed to our room which was
in a building just across from reception.
There was a large and extremely comfortable bed, beyond this was a seating area
with a comfy sofa and coffee table, Dressing table and plenty lights and mirrors,
Coffee / tea making facilities, a trouser press and iron and also a hair dryer.
These rooms have everything you need.
There is a bathroom with shower over the bath, and above the sink a selection of toiletries everything you need for a comfortable night.
The only thing that let this lovely room down was that the bathroom could have been done with a deep clean, behind the taps and the bath pannel was a bit grubby.
We slept in due to the late night we had at the function and missed breakfast so cant comment on that, but from what I have read on here we missed out on a spectacular breakfast.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Menzies Dyce, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your comments on Trip Advisor, I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please accept my apologies for the housekeeping issues which I have passed on and may I say you missed a great breakfast but maybe next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is VPP very bad choice of food for the price. Staff are the worst ever in any hotel. I can partially understand why when they need to deal with 100's of oil workers everyday but come on that never excuses ignoring taking my order for 1 hour then a 40 min wait for food.

Shower leaked so bad that I had a swimming pool in my bathroom. Toilet seat never stayed up. Walls made of paper and when I made comment at the desk the next morning the receptionist typed it all into a computer and said it would be fixed.

Still waiting 2 days later.

Good to be close to helicopter departures but very overpriced Aberdeen hovel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Menzies Dyce, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments, having contacted you personally I am sorry that you did not wish to discuss this matter further. I am confident that we could have reached a satisfactory conclusion, however I respect your decision.

I hope you will consider us again in the future as we take this feedback very seriously in order to improve our customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Although I gave this a rating of 4, it only just scraped that due to the very comfortable room and excellent breakfast.

The checking in procedure was very laborious, however it was done in a very friendly manner by very helpful staff. I was allocated a room in an outbuilding, and you have to watch your feet in the winter here, I nearly ended up on the floor a few times.

It was a very long walk to to get to the room, but the room itself was very nice. My only criticism was the lack of natural light due to 2 thick curtains, a net curtain then doubled up windows. I like natural light and this made the room a little dark for my liking.

The room was extremely clean, and very well made up. The shower fitting was a little temperamental, but once you figure it out its fine to use.

The room staff were a little on the noisy side in the morning remaking all the other rooms (I had a later flight that day), and woke me up from what was supposed to be a nice long lie.

I went down at the last minute for breakfast, and was very surprised to still see a full selection to choose from. I was expecting to be picking trough the leftovers due to the time I had appeared but I was to be very pleasantly surprised. The breakfast was amongst the best in any hotel I have stayed in.

Would I stay here again on Business, yes.
Would i stay here on personal travel, no, it is too highly priced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Menzies Dyce, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor, my apologies that you had to wait to check in. Due to the nature of our business we have blackout curtains in the bedrooms but I take your point.

With regard to noise levels, I have spoken with the housekeeping team to address this. I am pleased to found the staff to be friendly and you enjoyed the breakfast.

I hope we will see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for a works course,having seen the price they charge there is no way id ever stay here for anything other than work booking it
Hotel is clean and the staff (well the British staff are friendly) the rest are typical polish
Rooms out the back are a joke,heater didnt heat up and the shower was cold water only big gap at the bottom of the main door and you hear all the noise from all the rowdy people round about
The breakfast in the morning is brilliant and the morning staff are even friendlier

Iv stayed in the main building before and these rooms are totally different in everything.

All in all i wouldnt recommend it but it does a job when its paid for by work

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Menzies Dyce, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I have tried to contact you directly to discuss your concerns over the heating in your room.

I understand that on a previous stay you had been upgraded to a Deluxe room which is closer to the main building, these rooms are of a higher specification and therefore carry a supplement.

Our breakfast has become a big hit with our guests and your feedback is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menzies Dyce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies Dyce

Address: Farburn Terrace, Aberdeen AB21 7DW, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Dyce Skean Dhu)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Menzies Dyce 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Menzies Dyce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Dyce Hotel Dyce
Menzies Hotel Dyce
Menzies Dyce Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menzies Dyce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.