We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesnt look much but then it surprises you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Menzies Dyce

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Menzies Dyce to your Saves list
Menzies Dyce
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Farburn Terrace, Aberdeen AB21 7DW, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Dyce Skean Dhu)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Moray
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Doesnt look much but then it surprises you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This hotel did not look much when we drove into the car park but we were pleasantly surprised with what we got. We stayed here for a Saturday night only. Special deal of £ 78.00 D(3 courses)B & B.for the two of us. I have to say this was excellent value for money. Our room was large and clean with a separate sitting area instead of having to lounge on the bed which, by the way, was a super kingsize and very comfy.
Dinner was excellent, from the service to the great quality and portions of the food. The bar area and reception were large and well laid out. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was from an excellent choice, from bread, rolls, ham, cheese, cereals, fruit and yogurt and offering cooked breakfasts too, asking for something off menu was no problem either. Overall this was one of the best hotels we have stayed in and did not hear any airport noise in the room and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    59
    43
    21
    26
See reviews for
12
35
15
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

118 pounds for one night ? Looks like butlins from the 70s ! Room is basic the bed is awful the mattress has been slept in far to many times springs what springs . You would think with 800 + rooms they would buy new ones . I am totally disgusted in the price and the room

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaipeda, Lithuania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

If you stay in the rooms from 100 to 250 you will find that rooms are good, everything else is below middle. Tried to sleep yesterday in the room which cost 100 £ night, cleaners woke me up at 7 in the morning and tried to get in room one more time in 30 min, while cleaning rooms next to mine they were shouting, laughting, banging doors(like they would be on the street) woke me up again three more times in about an hour!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Wasn't sure what to think at first sight but stayed for a couple of nights and enjoyed it. Rooms were clean. The restaurant feels a little posh compared to the rest of the hotel, doesn't really fit, but good food. Breakfast was excellent. They use a third party hosted wifi which after paying for I realized I wasn't getting very good signal on that end of the building, so when checking in maybe mention you want a room with good signal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We took advantage of the hotel chains offer of 2 nights b&b & 1 nights evening meal for £99. Wasnt too impressed when we drove in as it looked very shabby from the outside, but our room more than made up for it.(exactly like the picture shown).Very good breakfast both mornings, with the usual, cereal, fruit juice, cold meats, fruit, & good old fashioned fry up. Evening meal was £20 for 2 course or £24 for 3 course, which we thought was VERY steep. Our inclusive meal was £20 per person, so that took the sting out of the price. On the second night a wedding reception was being held in the hotel, wasnt too noisy, but barstaff decided to empty a bottle bin into the recycling bin at MIDNIGHT, which was very noisy as rooms are only about 20metres away from bin area, where we were, rm 218. all in all really nice hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, and yes we would go back. Only down side is oilrig workers lying about main reception area ( some sleeping) which you have to pass by to get to restaurant for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stayed here with a group of friends last week as it was the cheapest option for a wedding we were attending nearby. I hadn't checked the reviews online but had heard about it's reputation from an oil worker family member - it didn't really put me off as it was only a place to crash out, grab breakfast and head off early.

It's not pretty from the outside but the inside area is nice and the reception, bar and restaurant are all kind of open plan. There are a number of overseas staff in the hotel but they were mostly pleasant and proficient in English. The foreign girl on reception was smiley and welcoming and gave us rooms in what I believe to be the nicer part of the hotel (well, it had an internal hallway!). The room was spacious, had a nice seating area, VERY comfortable bed, plasma telly. Even the cookies on the tea tray were a cut above what I would have expected! The bathroom was basic but functional.

Breakfast was efficient - tea & coffee is brought to you by staff but the rest is self service. There was plenty on offer in terms of cooked items, breads, yogurts etc. This kind of setup meant we could grab what we needed quickly and get out!

A couple of issues - one of our party had a problem with the TV in their room but this was fixed swiftly by the manager guy at the reception. Also, the internet access was a bit slow for my liking but it is free so can't really moan too much!

All in all, a functional hotel which is not overly expensive. If we need to stay over at that side of Aberdeen again we'll definitely go back there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manilva, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

This is a clean decent hotel. It costs about £8 in a taxi from the airport and there is a free shuttle bus running from the hotel to the airport and heliports from 05:30 Monday to Friday.
The breakfast is very good and free in-room internet access

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menzies Dyce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies Dyce

Address: Farburn Terrace, Aberdeen AB21 7DW, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Dyce Skean Dhu)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Menzies Dyce 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Menzies Dyce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Dyce Hotel Dyce
Menzies Hotel Dyce
Menzies Dyce Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menzies Dyce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.