We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good independent hotel in Aberdeen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atholl Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Atholl Hotel to your Saves list
Atholl Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 King's Gate, Aberdeen AB15 4YN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Norwich, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A good independent hotel in Aberdeen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend university reunion arranged by friends in Aberdeen. The welcome at reception was good. The evening buffet for our party was excellent in a good function room with bar provided. All the staff (except one) were helpful and pleasant. The breakfast menu was varied, with excellent cooked options especially haddock and kippers. Bedrooms were unexciting but clean and comfortable. Hotel bar had a nice relaxed atmosphere, obviously popular with locals. Centre of the city was only 15 mins walk. Our only criticism was that a room for a disabled friend was on the first floor with NO lift access.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    73
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
72
24
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed here for four nights in April, as we were getting married in Aberdeen. Many of our friends and family also stayed here. Everyone thought that it was a great hotel. The building is in typical Aberdeen granite and is centrally located, not too far from Union Street. The staff at the Atholl were outstanding, before and during our stay. Nothing was too much hassle for them and all our requests were dealt with promptly and with a smile. The executive room was well presented, clean and very spacious. Food was consistently of a high standard with portions to fill even the biggest and hungriest of men. Sticky toffee pudding was a particular highlight, although it was closely rivalled by breakfast. A special mention needs to go to the Emma Birchall and all the reception staff who were always friendly, approachable and incredibly helpful. Most importantly, the hotel rates are exceptionally good value. We can't wait to celebrate future anniversaries at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I stayed at this Hotel which was chosen by a colleague, what a brilliant choice! This is a beautifull building,furnished with care and taste. There are lovely paintings adorning the walls. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The staff are fabulous, nothing too much trouble for them and excellent food! What more could you ask for!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Good value for the "executive" rooms. Good location for hospital and university access and ample car pRking.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I always try to stay here when in Aberdeen. Plenty parking space unlike others, clean, well-serviced rooms and the best scrambled egg and mushrooms for breakfast ever. Access to rooms is a bit awkward if you are older and the rooms above the laundry are a little noisy although it does stop later in the evening. The food is good and reasonably priced and what makes a huge difference for me is real linen napkins and butter which you don't have to wrestle out of a bit of tinfoil wrapping. The restaurant isn't as good as it used to be due to the service. The staff were so inattentive that my wife actually had to leave the table and go to the desk to ask for some salad dressing. However, they may just have been having a bad night and it wouldn't put me off staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at The Atholl on Saturday 14th May. We booked an executive double on Laterooms - excellent value for money. My sister-in-law decided to stay too & I booked a standard single room for her. On our arrival she was upgraded to an executive double next to ours. We really appreciated this as her husband had had a triple heart bypass 2 days previously & was the reason for our stay. We were looked after exceptionally well & will certainly stay again (soon I hope!). We ate in the hotel
restaurant & the food was divine - I would say it's one of the best meals I've had in a long time. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order & again was of an extremely high standard. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

I was wanting an early breakfast so the staff set it up for me right in front of their wide screen tv so I could watch the first F1 race of the season. Top marks in my book.
I cant fault this place and £70 seems reasonable for the standard of hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atholl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Hotel

Address: 54 King's Gate, Aberdeen AB15 4YN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#14 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at The Atholl Hotel in Aberdeen. For guests and culinary devotees, private functions and business parties, there is a long standing tradition of providing the very best. Our surroundings are unique and new decor sumptuous, our atmosphere is tranquil, warm and friendly. Why not experience it for yourself? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Atholl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atholl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.