We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for the purpose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cults Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cults Hotel to your Saves list
Cults Hotel
328 North Deeside Road | Cults, Aberdeen AB15 9SB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Fine for the purpose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed at the Cults for two nights. We were in Aberdeen attending a wedding elsewhere. Our room had been refurbished and was mainly very nice. Some of the designer touches, however, don't work too well. The closets are behind the headboard and are painted black inside. Since there is no light around there you can't see anything inside them and lots of groping results. There are high-intensity lights let into the ceiling but when you lie down on the bed they shine straight into your eyes. Minor points really. Staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast was the usual instant heart attack feast.

The lobby is very small. There is an elevator marked for 'Disabled' only. Not thinking, we dragged our luggage up the stairs and nearly ended up disabled. Mistake. We used the elevator for luggage when checking out. The politically correct police did not catch us being naughty.

We came back from our wedding at midnight. The Cults had their own reception going. Right beneath the bedrooms, unfortunately. The music man wanted to entertain Dundee as well as Aberdeen and there were guests outside hootin' and hollerin'. It wrapped up at 1:00am and we got to sleep. I would suggest that you check with the hotel if they have a wedding going on. If you are at said wedding, then fine, not a problem.

Overall, a nice stay, excellent value for money, and I would not let any of this put us off going back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    30
    12
    11
    5
See reviews for
19
23
6
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Stayed here in June as a friend was having a wedding reception in the hotel. Staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Room was great, decorated in a clean and modern style. Room even had a balcony overlooking the alotments out the back :-)
There was a good choice of Tea/Coffee/etc. in the room.
The Wedding reception was good, the function room was plesent and the staff were very attentive.
After a good nights sleep, we enjoyed a full and hearty breakfast in the conservatory.
We would definitely recomend this Hotel to anyone that is visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

We attended a function and stayed overnight in the annex. Very good and large room with sound proofing, so little noise got through. Food at the function was good, as was the breakfast, where the portions were large and service swift and friendly. Staff helpful throughout. Drink prices at the 'do' were a little expensive. When booking in and checking out, they kept forgetting that there are prefential rates if you're attending a function.

  • Liked — Large, clean room
  • Disliked — Nothing to 'least like'
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

The hotel is in a pleasant location, being set back slightly from the road on a wide corner just on the way into Cults. The number 19 bus runs regularly back and forth into the city just in front of the hotel and getting the bus might be a good idea as there is v. limited parking, less than 15 spaces.
We arrived at lunchtime and there were no spaces; I suspect a lot of them were being used by people eating in the restaurant. Luckily, after circling the area a few times, someone left and we got the space.
On entering the hotel you find a pleasant, modern lobby area but with no-one manning the desk, so you need to walk through the restaurant and wait at the bar to be served! I thought this was just because we arrived at lunchtime, but in fact we never saw anyone at the desk all day.
The hotel doesn't seem sure what sort of style it wants; going in to the restaurant and corridor to the rooms is like going back in time, with those bright, garish carpets and clashing wallpaper colours that you often see in old-fashioned hotel.
Like a previous reviewer, we also stayed in room 1 which indeed only has a view of a roof. It is a big room but in February that was actually a disadvantage as it was only heated by one small electric heater at the far end of the room and despite that being on full the whole time, the room never heated up.
They do have free wi-fi and a nice, flat screen TV, so there are things to do to distract yourself from the cold.
We found the bed comfortable (hate soft beds!) and the bathroom (shower only) big, bright and clean (no nasty drain smells during our visit).
As you can see from the photo, this room has been "modernised" with a headboard that would give you a migraine. However, they have kept the old fashioned desk and lamp which says to me it has been done on the cheap!
In the morning, we were the only people at breakfast (the breakfast room being back into the modern style again!) so I was surprised that the quality of food was distinctly average. The sausages and bacon were on the chewy side, like they'd been sitting round for a while and there was a huge pile of baked beans on the plate which were not mentioned on the menu. If I'd known, I would have asked them to keep them in the tin!
We were up in Aberdeen to look at potential wedding reception venues, and the Cults was immediately struck off the list; I would be embarrassed to bring our wedding guests here.
Overall:
Pros - Nice location, comfy bed, big bath (shower only) room, free wi-fi, pleasant staff.
Cons - Limited parking, Quality of food, Cold room, Bizarre decor

  • Liked — Free wi-fi
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2007

We stayed here for a weekend as we were attending a function nearby. We had a lovely spacious room with a beautiful original fiireplace, we had our young daughter and as usual a third bed was put in for her, it did not overcrowd the room, as we have experienced before in other hotels. My only negative point about the room was that we had to go outside of the hotel to get to it and as it was a wet weekend it was a bit annoying to have to take your brolly to breakfast!!!

The staff were relaxed and friendly. We ate in the restaurant on the saturday night, it was very busy and I think we were quite lucky to get a table, I have to say the food was unimaginative and bland... it was more of a pub food menu that a hotel restaurant.

However, I would stay in the hotel again, only not eat in the restaurant.

  • Liked — The bedroom and the coffee maker in the room
  • Disliked — The fact that we had to go outside to get to the hotel dining facilities
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2007

Just back from a one night stay in Cults Hotel. My husband has stayed previously on 2 occasions so we expected a nice room with great service. Sadly not this time. Firstly it took us 10 mins to find someone on arrival to check us in. Then we were unfortunate to get a very dull room (No 1) with a view of a roof.

The room was big but as well as the small overlooking roof it had a very strange old window which due to an extension on other side looked nowhere - it was just black on other side. As it had no purpose it was odd as, rather than cover it over and say put shelving over, it they had retained it in the room and dressed with a lovely curtain - looked very strange.

Bed was a bit hard. Furnishings looked new though but that was spoiled by scuffed paintwork on skirtings and a damp area on ceiling. En-suite has large shower only - but was powerful. Paint was peeling all over en-suite ceiling and toilet wobbles when you sit on it. Worst thing though was smell from plug-hole in sink ! They had 4 air-fresheners in there plus two bowls of pot-pourri - didn't work. They'd be better spending money on a plumber to sort it out properly.

Staff all very young - mostly foreign - and tho plentiful - seemed a bit aimless. We only saw an owner/manager on checking out - he was very friendly so maybe he just needs to be a bit more directive. Like I say my hubby has been before and had no issues though he did think some of the character had been lost with new extension. Maybe we were just unlucky but for me as a first-timer it just about scrapes a 3 star - v. average . It's a lovely area though and price was ok at £37 B&B so If you do decide to visit just make sure you ask for a room with a view - preferably of the tennis courts (they apparently also have a wee balcony).

  • Liked — Quiet - good location
  • Disliked — Smelly drains in bathroom
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2007

We stayed here overnight after attending a function here.

Our room was round the back of the building and smaller than expected, but lovely and clean. The hotel is under going renovations just now. The bathroom was smaller than other bathrooms I have seen in hotels, but it was lovely, bright and airy. Tthe bathroom had a towel heater too. We had a sky light in there.

We had a small balcony off the main room with a table and chairs, but it was too cold to go out there and test it out!! We looked out onto allotments and a tennis court.

There were extras in the room, 2 white bathrobes were in the wardrobe, there was also a bowl of sweets beside the bed, small vase of fresh flowers, you had your usual tea/coffee facilities and a few packs of biscuits too. Oh and 2 bottles of water too.

We ate in the resturaunt - service was fast - we ate at 5pm but it was filling up quick and was quite busy. I asked for something that was on the lunch menu and they still made it for me. So was impressed with that. Food was good too. The bill can be added to your room bill.

The Cults Hotel is in my opinion, a small, romantic getaway. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel which takes you into Aberdeen within 15/20 minutes (dependent on traffic!!).

It was very quiet during the night, so we got a good sleep. Mattress was firm but comfortable and room was cosy, without being too warm.

Shower was good - there was a slope on the roof in the bathroom, but hubby managed to fit under the shower no problem and he is 6 foot 3.

We would definately stay here again and would recommend the hotel.

  • Liked — Just a lovely hotel!!
  • Disliked — Nothing!!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cults Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cults Hotel

Address: 328 North Deeside Road | Cults, Aberdeen AB15 9SB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cults Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cults Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cults Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.