We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay in Aberdeen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jays Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberdeen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Jays Guest House
Save
You added The Jays Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   422 King Street, Aberdeen AB24 3BR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 97 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A perfect place to stay in Aberdeen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Everything was perfect - service, cleanliness, quiteness,...
The guest house is very close to the University of Aberdeen, so it is the perfect location to stay if you visit the University. The staff is very kind and the atmosphere is very friendly and relaxed.
If I have to visit Aberdeen again, I will go there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeJennings, Owner at The Jays Guest House, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hi Andi

Thank you for your thoughtful and positive review. Alice and I are heartened when we receive such reviews as it validates our efforts to satisfy our guests.

Regards,

Alice and George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    21
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
14
39
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed at Alice and George's lovely B&B a few weeks ago for a buisness trip. It was excellent. On arrival Alice made me very welcome and feel at home. My room was spotless and warm. Breakfast in the morning was superb and cooked fresh. It was so good I've booked up again for my next buisness trip in few weeks. Look forward to staying there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeJennings, Owner at The Jays Guest House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi
Thank you very much for your positive review. It is most rewarding when our efforts are so warmly appreciated. Reviews such as these only galvanise our desire to maintain the standards, to which we aspire. Looking forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Alice and George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Arrived in Aberdeen after an 8 hour drive from Wales, George and Alice were so friendly. Room was very clean and comfortable, breakfast was excellent! Would definitely recommend The Jays to all my family and friends. Thankyou George and Alice!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeJennings, Owner at The Jays Guest House, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hi Guys

Thanks you for your gracious review and Alice and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate that it was a difficult and sad time for all of you and we are humbled by the fact that you took the time to write this review. Hope to see you again, under happier circumstances.

All the best

George and Alice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

It was our fourth time at The Jays, and hope to be there every time we are in Aberdeen. There is nothing but good things to say: 5 star hosts (Alice and George are so nice and friendly you feel like being home), very well run B’N’B, clean room, and superb breakfast. 100% recommendable!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeJennings, Owner at The Jays Guest House, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi Angel

Thank you for your positive review and it was good to hear that you and your party enjoyed staying with us, again. It is always a pleasure to accommodate you and your colleagues and we will endeavour to maintain our standards for any future visits. Please pass on our regards to your other associates.

Regards,

George and Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Having recently stayed at the Jays Guest House while visiting Aberdeen and its university, I only have positive comments upon the quality of our stay and the convenience of the guest house's location. Upon our arrival, we were pleasantly surprised to find that the guest house's location on King Street is just a short and leisurely 10-minute walk to the Old Aberdeen campus, and a slightly longer (about 20-25 minute) walk to the main thoroughfare of Union Street.

The accommodation itself was quite nice - the guest house combined the best of modern conveniences (high-speed wireless internet access and updated facilities) with the lovely homely touches that made our stay enjoyable (such as the full breakfast and the tea and kettle left for us in our room). Our hosts, George and Alice, were quite welcoming and their flexibility with regards to our arrival time was much appreciated.

I have already recommended this bed and breakfast to friends and family as an ideal accommodation for them when they come to visit me at the university, and can't say enough about the cleanliness, comfort, and hospitality of this guest house. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeJennings, Owner at The Jays Guest House, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Natalie

Thank you for your review and we are so happy that you were satisfied with your stay at The Jays. Alice and I endeavour to make our guests feel at home, in our home and feedback such as yours only serves to make our efforts worthwhile. I hope that you enjoyed our route suggestion to Inverness and marvelled at the splendid scenery.

Regards,

George and Alice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Have stay at The Jays on numerous occasions while working in Aberdeen, and will continue to do so happily.
The Jays is an excellent, well run and very friendly place, and a nice place to relax after a hard day in the office.
Amenities are superb.
Jim Mcilroy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeJennings, Owner at The Jays Guest House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi Jim

Alice and I are so glad that you enjoyed another stay with us. It is always rewarding to get such a positive review, as we endeavour to maintain our standards of service and facilities.

Regards,

George and Alice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I work in Aberdeen reglarly throughout the year and have stayed in several hotels and B+B's in and out of the city. Jays is definitely the best I have tried, very comfortable, best value for money, spotlessly clean and great hospitality from Alice and George. Excellent wi-fi connection also.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeJennings, Owner at The Jays Guest House, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hi Andrew

Your positive review is much appreciated by Alice and I, as it goes a long way in conveying to us,
that our endeavours are valued and appreciated.

Thank you

George & Alice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jays Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jays Guest House

Address: 422 King Street, Aberdeen AB24 3BR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jays Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jays Guest House is centrally situated and suits the needs of most business or leisure visitors. The ten tastefully furnished bedrooms have either en suite(8)or private(2)facilities. Complimentary WiFi internet connection is provided and there is also a private car park. The Jays is the only guest house in Aberdeen to have been awarded 4 Stars by both VisitScotland and the Automobile Association. A genuine home from home where friendliness matters. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Jays Guest House Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jays Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.