We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On our to-do list every time we visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bennachie Hill Walks

Bennachie Hill Walks
Pitcaple, Aberdeen, Scotland
44-146-679-4161
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A series of hiking trails through the scenic landscape surrounding the city.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“On our to-do list every time we visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We visit Aberdeenshire every year and always climb Bennachie. Some ascents are more challenging than others, and the visitor center will provide helpful maps that help plan the route that best suits your energy level.

We've made the ascent in a variety of weather conditions, but you should usually expect winds as you get higher, and of course showers because this is Scotland. If you choose to tackle Mither Tap it's hard not to believe that this could be the site of Mons Graupious as you climb through the drystone defensive walls.

A great choice of hill walks with superb views if the weather is clear.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    22
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Great range of walks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Approach the peaks from many directions. Its slightly easerier to get to the upper land from the back o car park or if distance is preferable to incline try the gordon way which has great views up towards alford way once you get out of the forrest. We love waking up here breathing the nectar that is aberdeenshire high ground air.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Excellent Walks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Lovely place to walk or cycle. There are toilet facilities at the car park and fantastic views at the top of the Mither Tap

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Traipse.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Excellent walk on a glorious day. Through forest up a steep ziggy zaggy path and to the old fort thing on top with good panoramic views.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“Mither Tap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a marvelous walk, the last part of which has been pleasingly left alone by the Health & Safety brigade, truly stunning views and a sense of achievement when you get to the summit.
Wonderful.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennachie Hill Walks also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Bennachie Hill Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bennachie Hill Walks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.