We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got what i came for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Aberdeen Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Aberdeen Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Shiprow, Aberdeen AB11 5BY, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Got what i came for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I'll start with the bad points. The bathroom door had a slight gap under it, making it kind of uncomfortable going to the toilet with my boyfriend in the other room. And there wasn't a bath tub (in my room at least), but now i'm just being picky. The bed also must have had wheels, cause it kept sliding away from the wall.

On the positive side, the hotel was extremely clean. We got a very modern room and bathroom, which was nice. the shower was amazing! Staff were very friendly, although we didn't really get to see much of them, as we only stayed the night. (loren, who checked us in was very welcoming). The thermostat was handy, because when we arrived it was very cold. (can't be helped in aberdeen. Easily the coldest place i've ever been) .We had a lovely night here, and i would consider coming back if returning to aberdeen.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila S, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is very much appreciated and I can assure you that our team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am sure Loren will be very happy when he reads his name in your review.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Dora S.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    222
    90
    28
    8
See reviews for
48
167
57
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Ibis knows how to train the best for customer service. Although I have never stayed at a budget hotel with non carpeted floors and a bathroom door which is only as good as a thin fabric curtain, and, and, and, whinging done about the hotel itself, I must say the customer service I received was excellant. Most of my hotel experience has been at the Ritz and the Savoy, but I came here as a guest. When I spoke with Tomas at the front desk about some minor issues, he found another, larger, quieter room and personally came upstairs with me to help transfer the luggage from one room to the other. The following day, searching out the business center I asked Diana for assistance and she took care of me, and went above and beyond what I expected from the best of hotels! I'd suggest many upgrades but I assume that for the money this fits the budget from both ends of the spectrum. Loyalty points will keep those who travel~ loyal~ 21st century marketing works!
People matter and Ibis HR division has it down perfectly at this location. Everyone we encountered was professional, pleasant, and went out of their way to get things right!
Bravo to everyone at this hotel for confirming; you cannot and should not judge a book by it's cover.
Thank you staff for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The view from the harbor side is Hollywood worthy but bring ear plugs! Also come with a good attitu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
It was our pleasure to welcome you in Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel.
We are delighted that Tomas and Diane made your stay excellent and I will share your kind feedback with them. We very much look forward to see again and offer you the same level of customer service.
Kind regards,
Attila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Clean Friendly if lacking in personality, good value and great bed. Small room with shower room Pod, The walls are a little thin so could be problematic dependant on neighbours. Good proximity to some nice places to eat, drink and for entertainment and transport likes like the Bus, train station and ferry port.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We wish to make sure that we satisfy every guest so your feedback is very important for us.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Srtayed here for a night and for the money it was perfectly fine..Clean tidy rooms if not a little on the small side. But the bathroom "pods" are great with a big shower area. Like most modern hotels the walls are paper thin so was a bit noisy from other guests..Cant complain for £32..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and posting your comment regarding your stay. I regret to learn that you have been disturbed by other guests. Please accept my sincere apology. I will ask my night team again to check the corridors even more frequently to avoid similar situation.
We hope to welcome you again in the hotel soon.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK Sheffield
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

A pretty standard Ibis. Have used them a lot on the past but no so often anymore, this one just happens to be in a good location for my work.

Good central location, with car park right next door. Right in the city centre, with good food at the Grosvenor Casino next door, or a Jamies Italian if you dont mind spending a bit more.

I used to be a platinum card holder, but they no longer give points for stays booked through Egencia, a shame really for them as it gives me no reason to show them any loyalty to the brand when booking, I stay in hotels all week and used to collect a lot of points I could use on personal trips. Their head Office should really address this. As generally I would be happy to stay with them 80% of the time, but unfortuantely other brands now have better loyalty schemes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind feedbacks. It is very important to us and I wish to confirm that I will address your comments regarding the loyalty program. However, please feel free to contact me and I can also give more information.
We hope to see you soon in the hotel.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Aberdeen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Aberdeen Centre

Address: 15 Shiprow, Aberdeen AB11 5BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Aberdeen Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Aberdeen Centre is a newly opened hotel, located in the centre of Aberdeen. The railway and bus station are just a few minutes walk away at Union Square. The ferry terminal and Aberdeen Maritime Museum are just opposite our front door.All business locations as well as Aberdeen City Council Headquarters are within five minutes walk together with the shopping and restaurants in the famous Union Street. The Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre (AECC) and Aberdeen Airport are both a short 20 minutes drive away. The A9 and A96 motorways are easily accessible from the hotel together with Market Street, Virginia Street and many more of the city's main attractions, all within the surrounding vicinity of the hotel. Our guests can visit many of the local attractions such as Balmoral Castle, summer home of the Royal Family being one of many famous Castles to be seen in this beautiful Scottish country side. Why not go on the Whisky Trail and try a Speyside malt? Codonas Amusement Park, Aberdeen Art Gallery or any of the amazing golf courses are all close by. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant, guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast or continental breakfast available from 4am till noon, snacks and evening meals are offered 24 hours per day. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and free WIFI internet. The hotel is adjacent to the NCP car park and Pure Gym Aberdeen which is open 24 hours per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Aberdeen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Aberdeen Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Ibis Aberdeen Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Aberdeen Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.