We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Aberdeen Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Aberdeen Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Shiprow, Aberdeen AB11 5BY, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Does the job!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Aberdeen for years has been afflicted with low standard, expensive hotel accommodation staffed with surly unpleasant staff. In the past two or three years this has started to change with new hotels being built and others nearly complete. Bed and breakfast accommodation is generally dire so a budget option is very welcome.

I booked the Ibis for a Friday night in March online with Agoda and was amazed at the price of £43. For Aberdeen this was nothing short of miraculous. Undoubtedly this rate will increase greatly during the week but still, it is pretty good.

The hotel is situated on Shiprow near to the docks, a 5 minute walk from the railway station. Taxis in Aberdeen are extortionately expensive so head right out of the station and then left into Shiprow after about 300 yards.

The hotel is in a lovely old Aberdeen area with a maritime museum across the road. The hotel itself though is modern and blends in well with the old buildings in the area. In the same building is a 24 hour gym owned by a separate company and daily memberships are available at a competitive price.

I was greeted by friendly efficient staff and the formalities were dealt with speedily. Thankfully the staff were not Scottish as I find the locals to be unfriendly and unwelcoming to outsiders.

The room was a standard Ibis-type with en-suite, TV and plentiful storage space. The only reason I am giving this hotel 4 instead of 5 stars is the TV and internet system. No wifi and the television settings lead you to believe you have to use the inhouse movie channel and inhouse internet. Yes, you have to use the inhouse internet on the TV screen and a keyboard is provided for this. However, press the "TV" button on you remote control and the TV channels are free. Sadly, the choice isn't very good but it is adequate. I find penny pinching like this by big hotel chains akin to charging for soap ...... petty.

There is a 24 hour restaurant along with a bar that closes around midnight. I didn't eat there so can't comment on the food. I left around 5.30 in the morning and I understand there is a buffet continental style breakfast available from 04.00 which is excellent forethought for those oil workers with an early check-in.

All in all I will certainly stay at the Ibis again due to the clean and reasonably priced accommodation, efficient staff and the central location with a gym next door. I wish there were more like it in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.
We are pleased to inform you that the new solution regarding the wifi is coming soon.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    222
    90
    28
    8
See reviews for
48
167
57
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Good decent hotel in a great location. Value for money on all counts. Plenty of restaurents and pubs in the walking distance. Right in the center of the city. Airport is also not far as well and public transport buses are within 200 mtrs. What else you need and to top it all the staff is very service oriented and helpful. Cheers

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie, Manitoba, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

New hotel so very clean and up to date. Crazy price for WIFI access but a free computer was available in the lobby so no big worry there. Rooms seemed small compared to N America but we soon adapted. Short on amenities (only two thin towels, no shampoo etc) but they gave us extra towels when we asked. Staff were exceptional - always friendly and helpful and very polite. Location, location, location - half a block off the main drag and close to everything we wanted. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Difficulty booking by phone, extra charge.
E mail booking for me not everywhere possible.
The frendliness of the personnel very good. (professional)
Coming back tonight for another night.
The sign outside the door reveals rooms for 44 pound, havent been offered yet to me.
Nice Hotel and when not full will use it again.

Dirk Zeinstra

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
If you need any assistance regarding reservation or rates please contact the reception or directly me.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Conveniently located between Union street, harbour and railways station. Concierge doing their best to answer any questions. Rooms are contemporary, furniture have no drawer so there is no risk to forget and leave anything when packing, however there is plenty if convenient storage on shelves. Wifi available as additional charge. Breakfast is very nice with cappuccino type machine, croissants, smoked salmon, ham, scrambled eggs and sausages, yogurts, cereals. There is a menu for diner which has good selection and service is very prompt.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Ibis Aberdeen Centre. We appreciate your kind comments and recommendations especial regarding the bar and restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Quite new hotel located near upper dock / union centre and union street in Aberdeen. Room was ok, nothing fancy but clean and the double bed was really nice. The breakfast is ok, nothing more.
If you compare the price to what you get this is good value for your money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad that you find the hotel exceptionally clean.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money and ideal location for a bit of shopping and meal/cinema.rooms and hotel clean and well equipped.............. ............................................................................................................

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks for your review. I am glad that you had a good stay with us. See you on your next check in, hopefully!
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Aberdeen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Aberdeen Centre

Address: 15 Shiprow, Aberdeen AB11 5BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Aberdeen Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Aberdeen Centre is a newly opened hotel, located in the centre of Aberdeen. The railway and bus station are just a few minutes walk away at Union Square. The ferry terminal and Aberdeen Maritime Museum are just opposite our front door.All business locations as well as Aberdeen City Council Headquarters are within five minutes walk together with the shopping and restaurants in the famous Union Street. The Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre (AECC) and Aberdeen Airport are both a short 20 minutes drive away. The A9 and A96 motorways are easily accessible from the hotel together with Market Street, Virginia Street and many more of the city's main attractions, all within the surrounding vicinity of the hotel. Our guests can visit many of the local attractions such as Balmoral Castle, summer home of the Royal Family being one of many famous Castles to be seen in this beautiful Scottish country side. Why not go on the Whisky Trail and try a Speyside malt? Codonas Amusement Park, Aberdeen Art Gallery or any of the amazing golf courses are all close by. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant, guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast or continental breakfast available from 4am till noon, snacks and evening meals are offered 24 hours per day. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and free WIFI internet. The hotel is adjacent to the NCP car park and Pure Gym Aberdeen which is open 24 hours per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Aberdeen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Aberdeen Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Ibis Aberdeen Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Aberdeen Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.