We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Granite City Returnee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Aberdeen Centre

Save Saved
You added Ibis Aberdeen Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Shiprow, Aberdeen AB11 5BY, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% OFF THIS SUMMER
Ranked #21 of 61 hotels in Aberdeen
A TripAdvisor Member
“Granite City Returnee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight at the Ibis Aberdeen and would probably make a return visit to this hotel now we know what to expect. The problem for us was it was a Saturday night and most of the other guests went out "clubbing" and didn't return until the wee small hours! Coupled with this, the lift broke down so late-night revellers made a lot of noise accessing their rooms.

The bed was comfortable and the pillows fine. The staff were all very welcoming and accommodating. The breakfast was very satisfactory. However, we wouldn't be in a hurry to eat in for a main evening meal again - as this was not a happy experience for us or the waiting staff - due to the soup being cold, and the speciality pie my husband ordered a culinary disaster. The man in charge dealt with our complaints immediately and was very apologetic - and even ended up refunding us for my husband's poor meal. I suggested the pie should be removed from the menu as it was truly disastrous. Parking is right next to the hotel and a reduced charge is given to patrons. If you do not arrive by car, the hotel is near to the main bus and train stations, just off the main street of Aberdeen. Noise from outside is not an issue.

We have stayed at several Ibis hotels in France and are happy to continue to use these hotels. When we return to Aberdeen, it will be during the week and we will definitely eat out in the evening.



  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila S, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Ibis Aberdeen Centre. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with the team and the breakfast, and we have noted your comments about your evening meal, which we have since addressed. I was disappointed to read that your night was not entirely peaceful, however I would like to inform you that our reception team is 24/7 at your service, and happy to help you any time, furthermore on your next visit please do not hesitate to request one of our quietest rooms, so we can make sure you have a very pleasant stay.

Kind regards,

Dora S.
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    181
    75
    26
    7
See reviews for
43
133
55
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed one night on a business trip - I normally stay at the Jury's Inn but it was full!
Positives - only a short walk from the station (I was a bit dubious about the area - but actually it was fine). It is obviously a relatively new hotel and found it spotlessly clean. The reception staff were friendly & welcoming.

Dissapointments - although dinner was hot/tasty/reasonable choice it was obviously pre-prepared and just heated and served by the staff - who were rushed off there feet (1 in the kitchen & 1 trying to look after the bar and the resteraunt). Breakfast was OK with plenty of choice - but again only 1 staff member meaning most tables had used crockery on them and the hot option was only acceptable - not great.

Would I stay again? -Yes probably when required - this was my first experience of Ibis and found it more basic than Jury's Inn for about the same price (bit like the difference between Premier Inn and Travel Lodge)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly. We also very happy that you compared our hotel to Jury`s Inn despite we have to improve even more, but the two hotels are not the same category.
Kind regards,
Szabo Attila
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is in an ideal location if you want a city centre break and are happy with public transport I went by train and it took less than 5 minutes to walk to the hotel. I asked about parking had I brought my car and the told me they use the NCP next door which gives Ibis customers a £6 discount on the 24 hour rate.

The room is good for a budget hotel, it fits the Ibis range precisely. I did not try the restaurant or bar but they looked good. As it is near the centre there are loads of places to eat and drink. All in all I had a great break. Visiting family in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that your were satisfied with the service as well. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have stayed before. The location is excellent. It is just off Union Street and has a secure car park and gym next to it. Downside the bed sheets were not clean and at just under a £100 for the room it is pricey. No free wifi in the rooms and you have to pay extra fro breakfast

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear valued Guest,
We sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. We treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We travelled to the Ibis hotel in Aberdeen as part of a Valentines day trip. From the outside I was a bit worried on how the hotel would be on the inside as it looked a bit grubby. Upon entering the hotel it was obvious that this was a nice place. The hotel receptionists were very promt and helpful and hotel security was reassuring.

Rooms were large and modern with a lovely shower room, and best of all no shower curtain. Shower pressure could have been a bit better but this was the only complaint about the room. Beds were comfy, pillows were great and the room temperature was precise. Location was excellent too, just down the road from Union Street and Whethersppons where drink was cheap and cheerful.

We didn't use the resteraunt so can't comment on that but I would definately stay at the Ibis in Aberdeen again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and it was our pleasure to amaze your "Valentine".
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Aberdeen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Aberdeen Centre

Address: 15 Shiprow, Aberdeen AB11 5BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 61 hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Aberdeen Centre 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Aberdeen Centre is a newly opened hotel, located in the centre of Aberdeen. The railway and bus station are just a few minutes walk away at Union Square. The ferry terminal and Aberdeen Maritime Museum are just opposite our front door.All business locations as well as Aberdeen City Council Headquarters are within five minutes walk together with the shopping and restaurants in the famous Union Street. The Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre (AECC) and Aberdeen Airport are both a short 20 minutes drive away. The A9 and A96 motorways are easily accessible from the hotel together with Market Street, Virginia Street and many more of the city's main attractions, all within the surrounding vicinity of the hotel. Our guests can visit many of the local attractions such as Balmoral Castle, summer home of the Royal Family being one of many famous Castles to be seen in this beautiful Scottish country side. Why not go on the Whisky Trail and try a Speyside malt? Codonas Amusement Park, Aberdeen Art Gallery or any of the amazing golf courses are all close by. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant, guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast or continental breakfast available from 4am till noon, snacks and evening meals are offered 24 hours per day. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and free WIFI internet. The hotel is adjacent to the NCP car park and Pure Gym Aberdeen which is open 24 hours per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ibis Aberdeen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Aberdeen Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Ibis Aberdeen Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Aberdeen Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.