We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked the boxes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Aberdeen Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Aberdeen Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Shiprow, Aberdeen AB11 5BY, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ticked the boxes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed the night prior to her interview at Aberdeen university . The check-in was very efficient and the staff very pleasant . We arrived around 9pm as we hadn't had dinner we chose the fish wraps from the hotel snack menu. They were delicious . The beds were very comfortable and the shower room was well equipped . Breakfast in the morning very good with plenty of choice . Overall the Ibis ticked all the boxes we required for our stay in the granite city . My only criticism would be the hairdryer ... Having long hair the tiny little hairdryer wasn't up to the challenge !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    221
    90
    28
    8
See reviews for
48
167
57
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Friendly staff and excellent service. The rooms are very comfortable and modern. The shower in particular was a stand out feature very spacious indeed. There was nothing to fault with this hotel, apart from the lager in the hotel bar was flat. Overall very, very good and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.
We hope that we can welcome you soon in Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel again.
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

500 yards from the main railway station, which I walked at a leisurely pace taking approx. 10mins.
Check in was painful, as the receptionist was not fluent in english and had difficulty understanding me, along with the incoming guest who was checking in, infront of me.
Room was pod like; minimal toiletries and basic design. Bed was comfortable, pillows need replacing.
Stayed in room 113 on the first floor- noisy room until around midnight, which I never did figure out where the banging and slamming was coming from below.
Breakfast was pathetic; empty bacon server, bread finnished and when I asked for a fried egg, it was like I'd just asked for "giraffe kneecaps on toast" - No Sir, it is not available! - there is powder egg scrambled egg only (breakfast was at an extra cost of course - not too sure how much it was, but, what ever the cost, it was overpriced.
Room only was £150/night - rip off mentality rules. Marginally better than the Station hotel - would not stop in any of these hotels again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly. Please be advised if you book in advance you can always find very attractive offers on the official website of the hotel.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Ibis hotel is ideally located for the city centre close to all shopping, amenities and railway station and car park. The hotel has friendly welcoming staff and provides bar and restaaurant service on a 24 hour basis. Some of the rooms offer excellent views of Aberdeen Harbour. heck in and check out is speedy with a friendly service

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnham-on-Severn, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

this hotel is very modern,with pod type bathroom,great view over port but this has its problems.with the supply ships engines running you seam to get a vibration through the fabric of the building, it makes you feel like you are on the ship in a cabin. Had a total of 5 fire alarms over a period of 3 hours-about an hour outside at 2am not great,3 fire engines attended.when will hotels provide smoking areas for guests.it was a small fire in the end but disturbed all guests.The staff did the best they could in the situation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Unfortunately the fire is a very serious health and safety issue in every hotel no matter how big it is. Very luckily there were no injuries despite the intensive smoke. We are so sorry because of the inconvenience caused despite there was nothing else the hotel could do more because the fire was caused by guest.
We really hope you will never have fire while you are staying in any hotel.
I am sure that your next stay will be excellent in Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I received exactly what I thought. Rooms were clean but basic. The TV needs more channels and free wi-fi is a must in hotels but the location was fantastic. Right in the centre and right next to the train station. The fire alarm did go off one night but we were given free breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. Overall I was pleased with the service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

I was pleased to read you had enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your comments, we always appreciate constructive criticism and try to take advantage of it.

Kind Regards,

Dora Somossy
Hotel Team Leader
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Aberdeen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Aberdeen Centre

Address: 15 Shiprow, Aberdeen AB11 5BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Aberdeen Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Aberdeen Centre is a newly opened hotel, located in the centre of Aberdeen. The railway and bus station are just a few minutes walk away at Union Square. The ferry terminal and Aberdeen Maritime Museum are just opposite our front door.All business locations as well as Aberdeen City Council Headquarters are within five minutes walk together with the shopping and restaurants in the famous Union Street. The Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre (AECC) and Aberdeen Airport are both a short 20 minutes drive away. The A9 and A96 motorways are easily accessible from the hotel together with Market Street, Virginia Street and many more of the city's main attractions, all within the surrounding vicinity of the hotel. Our guests can visit many of the local attractions such as Balmoral Castle, summer home of the Royal Family being one of many famous Castles to be seen in this beautiful Scottish country side. Why not go on the Whisky Trail and try a Speyside malt? Codonas Amusement Park, Aberdeen Art Gallery or any of the amazing golf courses are all close by. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant, guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast or continental breakfast available from 4am till noon, snacks and evening meals are offered 24 hours per day. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and free WIFI internet. The hotel is adjacent to the NCP car park and Pure Gym Aberdeen which is open 24 hours per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Aberdeen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Aberdeen Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Ibis Aberdeen Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Aberdeen Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.