We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you expect !!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Aberdeen Centre

Save Saved
You added Ibis Aberdeen Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Shiprow, Aberdeen AB11 5BY, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% OFF THIS SUMMER
Ranked #21 of 61 hotels in Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What you expect !!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I received exactly what I thought. Rooms were clean but basic. The TV needs more channels and free wi-fi is a must in hotels but the location was fantastic. Right in the centre and right next to the train station. The fire alarm did go off one night but we were given free breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. Overall I was pleased with the service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

I was pleased to read you had enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your comments, we always appreciate constructive criticism and try to take advantage of it.

Kind Regards,

Dora Somossy
Hotel Team Leader
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    181
    75
    26
    7
See reviews for
43
133
55
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I have recently stayed in IBIS hotel in Aberdeen. The location of this hotel is perfect and close to Union street and to my needed locations. The food was fine and the service was acceptable. I just had a bad incident in the hotel, when I was checking out the manager there was extremely rude. I was extremely polite and there is no reason or explanation for his conduct. I am a frequent client of IBIS in all my business and leisure travels all over the world, and did not appreciate such remarks and behavior.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
I was much very much surprised because of your kind comments. You can find all my contact details of the official website of the hotel. I wish to fully investigate what has happened. You can also e-mail me on h5170-gm@accor.com. I am pleased to be at your services any time.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed in this relatively new hotel for three nights. On arrival it took three attempts to get into my room, and this was due to the reception staff making mistakes with the room numbering and electronic keyless entry system. No matter......we all make the odd mistake.

The following day I took my breakfast in the 'help yourself' style eating area. Its clean and tidy and there is easily ample food and usual choices of either cooked or continental breakfasts (or both!). The tables were starting to fill up with used dishes, cups etc, as there was only one staff member to look after the breakfast area, and she was fairly slow in tidying tables after people had departed.

On my return back to the hotel in the evening, my bed had been made and the waste bin emptied, but nothing more. The bathroom had not been cleaned and the housekeeper had clearly only done the absolute minimum in the room. My used cup and saucer and one glass that had been used remained on the table,unwashed. The tea and coffee facilities, ( I had noted only ONE tea bag had been supplied), had not been replenished. The table top had not been wiped clean.
I did mention this to the hotel manager, and she agreed that this was unacceptable. She promised there would be no repeat of poor service.

The following day..............breakfast was the same. Good food, but struggled to find a clean table to sit at, due to plenty of used dishes, cups, cutlery etc all waiting to be cleared away. I did it myself to find a suitable place to take my brekkie.

That evening, my return to my room found a repeat of the previous days 'lack of housekeeping' scenario. I took the used cup, saucer and a couple of glasses back to reception myself. No reaction, other than a polite 'thank-you from the reception staff. That was a disappointment as I would have expected them to ask about why I had to clear my own room.

I had one evening meal ( Chicken curry with rice and nan bread) and it was very nice indeed.

Overall, not a bad little hotel thats well placed for the town centre, but they MUST improve the breakfast service, (clearing and cleaning of tables), and take a long hard look at what the housekeeping staff are doing, ( or more to the point, what they are NOT doing).

It was quiet, warm and clean enough.

I will not hurry back to the IBIS, but Aberdeen generally charges 'top dollar' for its hotels. Shame the service is not suited to the prices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your letter regarding your recent stay in Ibis Aberdeen Centre.
Please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you have had.
I was very disappointed to read your comments as we understand how important the breakfast is therefore we continuously try to improve both the quality of products and the service.
I can assure you the breakfast will be supervised even more to adapt better to the busy periods.
About room cleanliness we usually get very good feedbacks, I was surprised to read about this incident. Housekeeping assured me it will not happen again.
I am glad you enjoyed your dinner and do hope we can welcome you back and provide you a much higher quality of service as we are trying to do our best every single day.

Kind Regards,

Dora Somossy
Hotel Team Leader
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Room clean and tidy, bathroom spotless. Beds are excellent and a decent nights sleep desipte slight noise of ships in nearby harbour. Short walk from railway station and at top end of town centre so very convenient. Staff are very professional and helpful. No dramas. If I was going to be slightly picky, free wifi would be nice :-) I have used this hotel several times and never any issues.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind loyalty to the hotel.
It is our pleasure to make sure you experience is always excellent.
We look forward to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very useful location. I wanted to stay in the city centre. The Ibis was ideal and cheaper than the Jury. The only downside was the car parking, £16 for an overnight stay. Facilities are good and the breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am glad to read that you enjoyed yours stay in Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel.
Please note that our guests have special discounted rate in the car park. Just ask any member of staff on the reception.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have just returned from a 2 night stay for Xmas shopping. Hotel very basic but very clean and new. Don't know what the food is like as I never ate there. You wouldn't think anyone else had stayed in the room (other hoteliers take note) which is as it should be! Very efficient friendly staff. The only gripe I have is the TV does not have freeview. But I would certainly stay again if I was in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for staying and recommending Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel.
My team visits this website every day and I am sure they appreciate all your kind feedbacks.
We also hope we will welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We recently stayed at the Ibis Aberdeen, which I have to say is ideal for the city center, although as expected the rooms are basic but clean, we found it difficult at times to attract tyhe attention of staff, particularly at breakfast and as you have to wait to be seated, this is poor, also the staff are from many eurpoean countries and although there english was reasonable there was some lack of understanding what was said, the bar person on an the evening was very good, however in the afternnon this was not the case, we were the only ones in the bar and to get two drinks took an age, as non of the staff could work the till, or infact serve a pint correctly, The WiFi is not free so becarefull, it's charged for per day @ £9.50

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay.
I will make sure that the staff is always and fully available all around the hotel.
We believe that the breakfast is one of the most important occasion to welcome and serve every guest personally, so we hope your small time to wait is highly overcompensated when the waiter focuses for you.
Also, the international team is a guarantee for us that we are proud to be able to serve our guests at least 8 on different languages :)
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Aberdeen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Aberdeen Centre

Address: 15 Shiprow, Aberdeen AB11 5BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 61 hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Aberdeen Centre 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Aberdeen Centre is a newly opened hotel, located in the centre of Aberdeen. The railway and bus station are just a few minutes walk away at Union Square. The ferry terminal and Aberdeen Maritime Museum are just opposite our front door.All business locations as well as Aberdeen City Council Headquarters are within five minutes walk together with the shopping and restaurants in the famous Union Street. The Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre (AECC) and Aberdeen Airport are both a short 20 minutes drive away. The A9 and A96 motorways are easily accessible from the hotel together with Market Street, Virginia Street and many more of the city's main attractions, all within the surrounding vicinity of the hotel. Our guests can visit many of the local attractions such as Balmoral Castle, summer home of the Royal Family being one of many famous Castles to be seen in this beautiful Scottish country side. Why not go on the Whisky Trail and try a Speyside malt? Codonas Amusement Park, Aberdeen Art Gallery or any of the amazing golf courses are all close by. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant, guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast or continental breakfast available from 4am till noon, snacks and evening meals are offered 24 hours per day. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and free WIFI internet. The hotel is adjacent to the NCP car park and Pure Gym Aberdeen which is open 24 hours per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ibis Aberdeen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Aberdeen Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Ibis Aberdeen Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Aberdeen Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.