We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Eve Lunch & Cocktails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amicus Apple

Amicus Apple
67 Langstane Place, Aberdeen AB11 6EN, Scotland
01224 587717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 515 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Price range: $13 - $31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Amicus Apple is a modern and lively social rendezvous with her finger firmly on the pulse of the contemporary social scene.Effortlessly cool cutting edge design meets molecular cocktail madness and craft products behind the bar whilst the food is a harmonious blend of British familiar with elements of the unfamiliar to make it that little bit special.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve Lunch & Cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Decided to have a wee treat on Christmas Eve with a friend who'd never been in before!

Food as always was great, good portions and real fresh!

We had 4 cocktails each including some not on the menu which was no problem at all to the staff!

Great atmosphere and fun staff made for a great afternoon!

Keep up the good work!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    41
    22
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice gastropub style food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Been here a few times and the food has always been pretty good. The menu is quite inventive and the food freshly prepared. Some of the best pub food in Aberdeen.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Had quick family lunch on Saturday before Xmas shopping. Food was good value and better than the "chain" places on Union St. We had not booked and arrived just after 12.00. We were told it was busy but we could have a table as long as it was free by 1.30 which was fine by us.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Poor show :-(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Went here for some cocktails after a birthday lunch at howie's ( which was great) . 4 ladies selected their cocktail and the most miserable selection of drinks arrived. Not one had any sort of decoration, frosted glass, fruit embellishment etc - not even a cheesy brolly !
We did say to the server that it was poor but he just shrugged and said that is how they come.
What should have been lovely to drink whilst choosing the next one, ended up in a discussion over poor service and how to lose customers. So for us it was finish the drink and move on ! Sorry, won't be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More a bar than a restaurant!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Visited her on Nov with friends. We thought we were going to a separate restaurant area in a large venue to enjoy a meal, but we ended up sitting at the back of a very dark, noisy pub near the disabled toilet! We had to ask the waitress to put the lights on so we could read the menu but she could only put these up a little bit for a little while as this affected the lighting in the whole venue. Even then we needed the flashlights on our mobile phones to read the menus! Service was ok. Apart from that the food was excellent, it was the atmosphere that spolt it. 10% service charge added to our bill - seemingly this is added automatically if party of 6 or more - so watch out for this. We decided not to pay this as disappointed with the venue.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amicus Apple also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Amicus Apple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amicus Apple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.