We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location, try to avoid the attic rooms!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Dutch Mill Hotel

The Dutch Mill Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberdeen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dutch Mill Hotel
Save
You added The Dutch Mill Hotel to your Saves list
7 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4NR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 97 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location, try to avoid the attic rooms!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Nice hotel in a nice part of town. Room was very clean and modern, however as it was an attic room it was very cramped; the bathroom is particularly awkward for tall men! Busy bar downstairs with a good atmosphere. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast not to be missed! Hallways could be cleaned more frequently as food residue evident the next morning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
9
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed here recently while in Aberdeen on business and was very happy with the room. It was beautifully decorated with a wonderfully large and comfortable bed.

Unfortunately my room was not in the best position (Room 1) as I heard everyone coming and going, had light coming under my door from the hall all night and wasn't able to sleep past about 6:30 when the extractor fan in the kitchen directly below my room went on.

A great place and I would stay again, but would ask for a different room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here rather than drive home in the snow after a do in Aberdeem. Had a single room which was very clean and had a great shower. Great friendly check in. There were 2 functions on and the place was packed on Saturday night and still nothing was too much trouble and they took their time to make me welcome. Free parking and wi-fi was a bonus,

Lovely breakfast, relaxed check out and was well set up for the drive home. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballater, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We've stayed here for a golfing weekend for two years running now and would unhesitatingly go back. The rooms are lovely - try and get one on the top floor looking south for a great view across Aberdeen. Great service too and as I say - the brekkie is lovely - bar the sausages. I think I did try the porridge once though - and wouldn't be rushing back to sample that one again.

Room Tip: Top floor facing south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonhill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Really nice hotel and reasonably priced. Stayed on a Friday night. We got room number 8 if I remember correctly which is pictured in the 1st two photos in the reviews. Great room full of character and a lovely bathroom. Only negative was the temporary scaffolding that was erected in front of the lovely large bay window. Bed was very comfy and the room was well appointed. We had dinner in the evening and it was excellent as always (I've ate here several times). Breakfast was ok and choice was limited compared to other hotels I've stayed in, although it's refreshing to have this included in the price of the hotel. Parking can be a little tight, especially in the evenings with people coming to eat. About a 10 minute walk from the city centre, although Queens Road is a nice place to stay with nicer and more upmarket bars.

Overall 4/5 and I'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms look to be the same high standard (we managed to have a peak when the cleaners had left th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very happy with my stay here. Good value and exactly what was needed for this trip. nice little room and en suite bathroom, looks like its been done up recently. Good, friendly service, a decent breakfast to start the day, and not being hussled for an early check out. Spot on.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Enjoyed the weekend here. Large, comfy and clean room. Nice bay windows, good feel to the room. Tea and coffee available. No lift.

Solidly British (cooked) breakfast, although healthy options available. Adequate but nothing fancy. Interestingly the whole menu appeared available to order, all for a fixed price.

Downstairs had a pleasant, well-visited traditional pub. Pleasant crowd, again nothing fancy. Not too noisy on the first floor, windows opened which was nice in the warm weather.

In all, a solid hotel to stay at. Nothing jumped out as being amazing, but everything in place to be expected from a decent hotel. A good price for what you get. Location in walkable distance to city centre (10-15 mins).

Will most certainly consider returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dutch Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dutch Mill Hotel

Address: 7 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4NR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Dutch Mill Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dutch Mill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.