We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, clean, comfy rooms. Traditional bar downstairs, within doable walking distance to city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dutch Mill Hotel

The Dutch Mill Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberdeen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dutch Mill Hotel
Save
You added The Dutch Mill Hotel to your Saves list
7 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4NR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 97 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Large, clean, comfy rooms. Traditional bar downstairs, within doable walking distance to city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Enjoyed the weekend here. Large, comfy and clean room. Nice bay windows, good feel to the room. Tea and coffee available. No lift.

Solidly British (cooked) breakfast, although healthy options available. Adequate but nothing fancy. Interestingly the whole menu appeared available to order, all for a fixed price.

Downstairs had a pleasant, well-visited traditional pub. Pleasant crowd, again nothing fancy. Not too noisy on the first floor, windows opened which was nice in the warm weather.

In all, a solid hotel to stay at. Nothing jumped out as being amazing, but everything in place to be expected from a decent hotel. A good price for what you get. Location in walkable distance to city centre (10-15 mins).

Will most certainly consider returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
9
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights while working in Aberdeen. Manager and staff were friendly. In twin room first night then single and both were spotless and decorated to a high standard. Lovely fluffy towels, comfortable bed, tea and coffee facilities in room as was free wifi and complimentary mineral water which was replenished each day. Breakfast was made to order and there was a good choice of meals at reasonable prices for lunch and dinner. It was a twenty minute walk to the top of Union Street and a bit longer to get down to Centre but well worth the walk as stayed in a City Centre Hotel on last visit and the Dutch Mill is far far superior so worth the walk. (there is a bus stop across from hotel with regular buses to centre and beach)

Room Tip: Top floor room a touch quieter. Noise didnt bother me but could hear a few voices at bar closing ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stopped there for 2 nights and the hotel was recommended by a work colleague. Rooms were spot on, nice and clean, free wifi in the room was excellent. Bed was nice and comfy. Breakfast was first class, cooked breakfast was beautiful. We had an evening meal there as well and the food was excellent, signs of a good place to eat, we stopped Tuesday and Wednesday nights and the restaurant was busy on both nights. Will stop there again, could not fault it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYRSHIRE
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

When attending a family party, several members of our family stayed at this hotel. The rooms both single and double were well furnished and spacious, with lovely ensuite bathrooms. refurbished within the last couple of years. Tea and coffee making facility. Evening of our arrival had dinner in the restaurant with an excellent menu and everyone in our party said how good the meal had been. Breakfast the next day was excellent, there is a dedicated Breakfast room, with lovely Delft china in cabinets,which is a nice touch. Various fruit juices, cereals and full Scottish cooked breakfast (including the most delicious black pudding) with toast and tea or coffee. Excellent value, especially as they quote a room rate including breakfast. All our party said they would definitely return to this hotel. There is a large bar area which caters for the sports fans with large screen TV's. Very good atmosphere, even if you are not in to watch the TV's there is no problem with conversation. We picked this hotel for the locality close to where we were attending the family party, There is good car parking in the hotel ground. Twenty minutes walk to the city centre and shops.

Room Tip: There are only nine rooms in this hotel both single and double and all used by our family were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Staff were very friendly, the food was nice, and everything was clean and tidy. My only bit of advice, however, would be to get some brighter bulbs for the bedroom - it was really dull, and impossible to read properly. It made an otherwise lovely room a bit miserable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

On one of my last working trips to Aberdeen, I came across this small hotel, over a well known local pub. It's in a lovely street with granite houses, the staff is very friendly, it's within walking distance from the center and the room was very comfortable and had recently been refurbished.
I will surely try to stay when I am back in Aberdeen, and it's not over priced, the food is really good and I had a really relaxing night. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: the hotel only has 5 or 6 rooms, I can only speak from mine and that was great and modern. I think a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I have stayed in the Dutch Mill for the last seven weeks for business. Each week I have experienced consistent friendly staff and lovely clean rooms. Although the rooms small in number (I think under 12) they are decorated to a high standard and are very clean. Sky movies and sports in the rooms. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I was delayed one night due to car break down and the staff kept me food for my arrival 1 hour after the kitchen closed. The bar is a good sports bar, but can be noisy at times so in the evenings not so family appropriate but great friendly atmosphere. Breakfasts were promptly served with choices of cereal or cooked breakfasts. The meals are good portion sized bar food. Good parking facilities as well in an area that is difficult to park roadside. The hotel is a pleasant 20mins walk to centre of bAerdeen (10 mins to start of Union Street). Based in lovely residential area with other bars and hotel within few minutes walk. I would definitely stay here again either on business or pleasure.

Room Tip: A front facing room is best. There are two floors so if there are no mobility issues the upper floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dutch Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dutch Mill Hotel

Address: 7 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4NR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Dutch Mill Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dutch Mill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.