We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but grubby” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aberdeen Douglas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Aberdeen Douglas Hotel to your Saves list
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43-45 Market Street, Aberdeen AB11 5EL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good location but grubby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is just off Union street so right in the centre of Aberdeen and great for access to all amenities. The "on site" car park is just around the corner from the hotel and is accessed via a dark alley which is not pleasant if you arrive late at night in the dark. The car park is also tiny and keypad entrance is required so you need to know the code before you can try and park your car. The hotel is a little grubby with stained carpets and couches but otherwise clean and functional. Fine as an overnight business stay but there are nicer places. Staff were lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    43
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
9
33
3
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located between the ships and the centre of Aberdeen, perfect for visitors to the city or seafarers. Just round the corner from the train station and bus station its very easy to find. Rooms nice and clean, staff friendly and if your companies paying the bill who cares. Foods not great, but its not too bad either, and there are plenty of restaurnants close by to explore also. Stayed here many times, never had a problem. Respectable hotel.

Cheers

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton on tees
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room are very nice and clean, the location is excellent right in the city center but food at molly's is not great value for money with poor service which brings hotle down, breakfast was good and the service was good overall .

Room Tip: room are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on Saturday night. The hotel was very accommodating and let us check in early to get ready. The reception girls were very helpful and provided assistance.

When we got to our room my initial thought was this looks like a single room, it was tiny. The bed wasn't a double bed and the room was tight. I didn't have time to go down to reception or I would have.
the whole experience was a disaster. I've had better nights away in a travelodge.

my husband and I were feeling claustrophobic trying to get ready in that room, we was falling over each other. The bed was tiny and we are not overweight people we could hardly fit in it. The room was soo hot there was no aircon and the windows were screwed shut.

Then the cleaners came on shift and made such a noise in the morning. Talking and giggling while they unloaded their towels and linen.

Breakfast was ok nothing exciting, coffee wasn't that good.

The whole experience had left me exhausted with no sleep. I travel a lot for work and I've never had such a small room.

The reception passed on my details to the manager who offered us an upgrade because of the ventilation on return however we won't be returning.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff were very friendly and accommodating, we only stayed for 2 nights in April. The breakfast was great especially as I could have poached eggs! Nothing was too much trouble, from the chambermaids to the breakfast staff to the receptionists. This is rare to see and it shows the hotel has great management. I would definitely stay again! Lovely stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked to stay for a 2 night city break, including bed and breakfast. The price was extremely reasonable so our expectations were not too high. How wrong we were!

The rooms were pleasantly appointed and were very comfortable. Everything you could need was provided, including free wifi.

The bathroom was superb and included a cascade shower with adjustable water jets. There was also a full-sized wall mirror.

We visited the bar adjoining the hotel (Molly's) but we didn't eat there.

The hotel is on Market street and is right between the main shopping street (Union Street) and the harbour area. The train and bus stations are at most 5 mins walk from the hotel. Union Square, a shopping and eating heaven sits next to the railway station. We ate out at Carluccio's in Union Square and it is well worth a visit!

The beach esplanade is about 15-20 mins walk from the hotel. Pittodrie Stadium and Codonnas Amusement Fair are near the esplanade.

The hotel gives easy access to the
main travel links and road networks. The harbour is near the hotel, although you do hear some noise we didn't find it intrusive, even with the window open.

Breakfast consisted of the usual fare - fruit, cold cuts, continental, traditional cooked Scottish etc. We both felt it was excellent (it was served between 8 & 11).

The hotel has its own car park with barrier access. You have to get the code from reception but spaces are very limited. It cost £5 per night. There is also a NCP car park nearby and reception will validate the ticket so you can get a discount rate.

I honestly could not fault the hotel or its staff. We both plan on staying here if we visit the city again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here on numerous occasions the last being Sat 4th April. The hotel is near both rail and bus links and a 3min walk to Union Street. The rooms are spacious and clean. We alway have a meal in Molly's Bistro located in the hotel. The staff are friendly and efficient and the food is excellent

Room Tip: Better at the back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aberdeen Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Douglas Hotel

Address: 43-45 Market Street, Aberdeen AB11 5EL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberdeen Douglas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aberdeen Douglas Hotel has been welcoming guests since 1848 and in recent years has re-established itself as one of Aberdeen's premier hotels. As an independently owned, family-run business with friendliness and efficiency at it's heart - our experienced staff will do everything to make your stay in the Granite City, now Oil and Gas Capital of Europe, a truly enjoyable experience. The hotel is located in the heart of the city centre, just a stones throw away from Aberdeen Bus Station and Aberdeen Train Station. Close to the whirl of city life, just off Union Street in the Merchant Quarter area - The Aberdeen Douglas Hotel is the perfect location to enjoy the very best of Aberdeen whether visiting for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Aberdeen Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aberdeen Douglas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.