We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea - Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rox Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Rox Hotel to your Saves list
The Rox Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   17-23 Market Street, Aberdeen AB11 5PY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 97 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea - Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

After being let down by the Carmelite Hotel for our "Birthday treat - prosecco afternoon tea", my friend and I stumbled upon the ROX Hotel who also did afternoon tea with prosecco. What a great experience. The lounge was lovely and bright and the atmosphere lovely. The sandwiches are a good mixture, the scones, cream and jam were so lovely we asked for another to share, and the cakes (carrot cake, strawberry tart, chocolate eclair)... wow... yuuummmmyyy...... :-) we had tea and prosecco, and with our tea we were also given home made shortbread.. Again ... very yummy... I would definitely recommend (and return) to the ROX Hotel for Afternoon Tea (as the staff were also very friendly and happy). Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    49
    27
    14
    16
See reviews for
19
54
7
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Because there are so few decent hotels in Aberdeen -- particularly the centre -- we keep trying The Rox hoping it will get better. It doesn't. It's a strange building that has been cut up into oddly-shaped, dark corridors and rooms. The decor of the common areas is something out of a bad early 1990's spec office building and it's apparent someone's spouse who fancies themselves a decorator did the interiors. It's a mess.

My most recent visit was the final straw. If you have to book into this hotel, please specify that you do NOT want Room 405. In fact, room 405 should not exist in a business-class hotel or, for that matter, any hotel.

Room 405 is a shoebox shaped and sized room under the eaves with a couple of Velux windows under the hotel's satellite dish. If hotels are chiefly about providing a place to sleep, Room 405 fails on all counts.

First, the bed. It's billed as a 'single' (why there are single beds in £180 rooms is another mystery) but it's not. The bed is about two and a half feet wide and woefully short. Because it's perched on a divan it's a bit like trying to sleep on a balance beam. Sleep? You don't. Because the room is So small, the table and chair is immediately beside the bed. I moved it so I could actually get in the bed and not trip over it. The TV is weirdly mounted on a wall beside the bed. The bathroom is adequate but again very weird. There is a wall-mounted soap dish in the shower that doesn't drain and is made of glass. Glass in a tiled shower? Hello Health and Safety!!

The buffet breakfast is boring and served in a dreary lower ground 'restaurant/bar'. The front desk staff are nice but they don't have much to work with.

The hotel is usually fully booked because oil and gas people are deparate for a place to stay. It's shame because this place is pretty awful.

Room Tip: Avoid the fourth floor. And the first, second, third and fith. Try the Malmaison or Marcliffe for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This little hotel is not what you expect from Market Street it is lovely , we went for a meal and had fillet steak which was heaven but there are 2 menus so lots of choice and good price range. Have been here for coffee and they have got nice seating areas inside and out The Rox is perfect for a little break from shopping for coffee wine or food

Room Tip: i did not stay the night in the hotel and only wanted to write a review on the restaurant but they c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was the worst dining experience I have ever had. We should have realised what was about to happen when two different set menu's were presented to different members of our dining party. After ordering, we were still waiting for starters after an hour. We were only served food after we had enquired twice to the restaurant staff. When the food arrived, half of the dishes were inedible, not only were the waiting staff poor but the kitchen staff couldn't use a microwave oven to heat up food either. With half our party starving we soldiered on, even though the waiter had three attempts to get a complete and correct drinks order to the table. The main course was a mixed bag, with some diners receiving cold vegetables and dry overcooked chicken. To top it off they even managed to ruin the ice-cream birthday cake. After handing it to restaurant staff with instructions to keep it in a freezer for our party, it was delivered to the table as an ice-cream splodge. Perhaps freezer means fridge to someone in the kitchen at this shambles. Unbelievable that the staff could present this to someone celebrating their birthday without even an apology. This lot made Basil Fawlty look professional. I have no idea what the accommodation is like at this hotel but if it is anything like the service and food in the restaurant, I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Wow was at a wedding here Saturday 24/8/12 great place, great staff, really good food. Over all I loved this place the staff very friendly. The hotel was nice and clean, If there was a niggle it was the amount of stairs in the place loads lol but overall a great venue for a wedding well done the ROX

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruden Bay, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I spent a weekend in this lovely hotel. The entrance is light and airy and reception staff were very friendly and helpful. On the way to our room we came across a very relaxed guest lounge area which was lovely to sit in to read my ebook in between shopping and dining. Our room was lovely with very modern but tasteful decor. Bathromm was gleaming but it was the little touches that made it so special. From the bathrobes and slippers to the bowl of fruit and bottled water that were replenished daily. Breakfast was excellent with everything you could ask for. Throughout our stay the staff were attentive and friendly without being obtrusive. Nothing was too much trouble. there was a wedding on, on the Saturday night so we expected to hear a fair bit of noise from our room as it overlooked the outside terraces however we did not hear a peep! I thoroughly recommend this hotel to all

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Rox Hotel. From the outside it looks nothing special but when you get inside its lovely. We booked a standard room but were pleasantly surprised with what we got. The room was huge, large bathroom and very comfortable bed. The breakfast in the morning was excellent with a wide selection of cereals, fruit etc and also a cooked breakfast. This hotel is elegant and modern. It’s a great location for a night out, very central.
The only downside is that you have to park in either Union Square or the Public car park situated a short walk away from the hotel and the prices can be costly for overnight stays.
Other than that I will definitely be staying again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing market street are quite noisy during weekends, so if you are looking for peace and quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rox Hotel

Address: 17-23 Market Street, Aberdeen AB11 5PY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rox Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Rox HotelOne of Aberdeen’s premier hotels located right in the heart of the city centre.The Rox is a stunning new four star hotel combining many contemporary and classical features. With eight floors, 32 luxurious bedrooms, a magnificent grand ballroom, restaurant and dining areas, the Rox is all you would expect of a top quality hotel.From the moment you walk in you will be captivated by the bright airy surroundings, the luxurious marble floors and the magnificent glass balconies.The Rox Hotel is situated in Market Street, Aberdeen close to rail and ferry links and a mere twenty minute drive from Aberdeen Airport. It is on the doorstep of Aberdeen’s latest and largest shopping and leisure complex, Union Square with over 60 shops and a 10 screen cinema just a short walk from the hotel.Guests can relax and look forward to a comfortable night’s sleep in our stylish bedrooms and when it comes to fine dining, the Rox offers a choice of dining areas where guests can choose from our superb menus and enjoy our outstanding cuisine. There are also relaxing bar areas, the perfect setting to unwind with a cocktail or traditional whisky.Our magnificent grand ballroom is a sight to behold and has been designed to stage the grandest weddings, the most impressive banquets, and receptions to make the right impression. The Rox also has meeting and function rooms for conferences, out-of-office meetings and other important business events.Join us at the Rox and enjoy the wonderful atmosphere of this magnificent new hotel where our dedicated staff will make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Rox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rox Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rox Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.