We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Wedding Weekend :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norwood Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Norwood Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Norwood Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garthdee Road | Cults, Aberdeen AB15 9FX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
1 review
“Fab Wedding Weekend :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Norwood for two nights this weekend for my sisters wedding. I would have ranked 5 out of 5 for everything had it not been for the price of drinks (soft and alcoholic) and food (fish and chips in a wee room - £15). That said, Margret and the team were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble whether it was a guest or the bride herself :-) thanks for a great "mini-break" 7 miles from my home :-) :-) my sisters wedding went without a hitch - with all the guests day and night having a great time. The 4 for the rooms is due to the fact that anyone staying with a child is charged £15 per child per night - there are no "family rooms" at all

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Norwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your five star review. I am so glad you and your family had an enjoyable experience and that the wedding went perfectly. Our drinks are priced in line with local competitors and our food is sourced from high quality suppliers using top quality sustainable produce. Our Junior Suites can accommodate additional children’s beds at an additional Bed and Breakfast charge for children aged 5 – 15, children under 5 are complimentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    82
    34
    25
    36
See reviews for
65
117
19
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Was at this hotel for a wedding , Lovely hotel and grounds but they should be embarrassed what the charge for their drinks. My husband bought 7 drinks on arrival and was £42 then he realised he had forgotten my drink he went back to the bar and asked for a whisky (Grouse not even a Malt) and coke and he was charged £7 they have the cheek to charge £4.50 for a 250ml bottle of coke why do these establishments need to do this when we all know the real price shocking total rip off they should be ashamed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Norwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed our wonderful house and our surrounding gardens. Fernando our gardener works hard to maintain the grounds to a high standard. We offer a range of quality branded drinks in our bars which are priced in line with our competitors to ensure we are always competitively priced for a four star hotel in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I have just stayed at the Norwood Hall Hotel this weekend and I have to say that I was impressed by the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and the standard of accommodation and food was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Norwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. I am delighted that you received excellent service from our staff and that you were pleased with the quality of accommodation and dining.

I hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I surprised my wife with one night stay here in March '14. It is a relatively large hotel which caters for many weddings etc.
On arrival we were informed we had been given a free upgrade from the 'Standard Double'. I presume this was to an 'Executive Double'. This said however the room (Room 9) was still relatively small. Probably a on a par with a standard double you would find in say a premier inn or equivalent. This may have been due to the age of that part of the building.

The public rooms we're beautiful. Very grand and decorated in dark wood it gave the hotel almost a 'medieval feel'. Unfortunately this was not carried over into the bedrooms. Not to say our room was not nice, it was still decorated to a high standard, but it was a shame to walk up the grand staircase with portraits and deep mahogany, only to enter a rather 'standard style' in the room.

The management very kindly included a fruit bowl with our upgrade, which was very much appreciated. We also enjoyed breakfast in bed and can recommend this greatly. Very nice including the Stowaway Black pudding.

Room Cost: £104 (via Amoma.com)
Cost of two Gin & Tonics: £16

Room Tip: Hard to say. Try requesting a more 'spacious' room rather than going by the hotels terms of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Norwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and for choosing us as the venue for your anniversary weekend. We offer a variety of rooms in our original house which all have unique features and layouts. I am sorry that you did not feel your upgraded room reflected the beautiful décor throughout the public areas of our original house.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future and showing you some more of the rooms we have available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding and it was beautiful it really was,residence bar had no complaints but wedding reaction bar...please watch your drinks! prices vary later on for same drinks?! and nips seem to get less and less with some bar staff!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Norwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted you had an enjoyable wedding and you were pleased with our stunning hotel and grounds. I apologise for any confusion or inconsistency with our function bar service. Our staff mark drinks as 'late drinks' on the receipt, but this does not affect pricing and is for internal filing. I will ensure staff are trained and retrained to pour consistently.

Thank you again for your positive review and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Margaret Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there as part of a wedding party over a two night stay. Room was immaculate, comfy beds and pristine bathroom. The staff were amazing, so helpful and nothing was a bother for them. Evening meal was lovely and breakfast was a feast. Top marks. Will definitely plan a return visit.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Norwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Norwood. I will pass on your wonderful comments regarding the cleanliness of our rooms, Caroline and her team will be very proud.

We hope to welcome you back again!

Margaret Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed at the Norwood overnight as my son had a University visit.We were warmly welcomed by excellent staff.Rooms amazing, staff, food and surroundings.Wished we had time to stay an extra night . thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Norwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed a high level of hospitality.
I hope your son enjoyed his visit to the university and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back when you come to visit him during his studies.

Kind regards,

Margaret Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norwood Hall Hotel

Address: Garthdee Road | Cults, Aberdeen AB15 9FX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norwood Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norwood Hall Hotel was built in 1881 on the site of the 15th Century Pitfodels Castle. This truly magnificent Victorian mansion exudes character and charm, with roaring log fires, sweeping staircases and magnificent interior design. Set in seven acres of secluded gardens and woodlands this four star hotel is the ideal venue to host your wedding,family gathering, business meeting and team away day. Norwood Hall has 73 en-suite bedrooms including junior suites, four poster rooms and superb original house rooms, which include all the luxury and modern facilities of a 4 star hotel, whilst still retaining the history and ambience of days gone by.The new conference centre boasts seven superb conference rooms with state-of-the-art audio visual equipment which, along with the traditional Norwood hospitality and customer service, is guaranteed to make your conference a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Norwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hall Aberdeen
Hotel Norwood Hall
Norwood Hall Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norwood Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.