We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norwood Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Norwood Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Norwood Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garthdee Road | Cults, Aberdeen AB15 9FX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Inverurie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Afternoon tea was fantastic . Beautiful surroundings . Excellent service. Well presented tea with delicious sandwiches Devine cakes and freshly made scones . Yum . Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Norwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your review, delighted to hear you enjoyed your afternoon tea. Our recently appointed executive chef, Kenny McMillan is about to launch exciting new afternoon tea options.

Hope to see you back again soon to sample!

Margaret Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    82
    34
    25
    36
See reviews for
66
117
19
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

From the first appt to book the Hotel as our venue our wedding planner could not have been more helpful or accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble for her and all of the staff at the hotel. We had a fantastic wedding their on 8th March 2014... they even arranged for the sun to shine! The Ballroom looked fantastic and the food was outstanding. The guest staying at night were delighted with their stay. Thank you staff at Norwood for making my daughters wedding a memorable day. I would definately recommend this hotel.

Mother of the Bride

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Norwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted that your family and friends had a great day celebrating your daughters marriage.

It was a pleasure to look after you all, thank you for your kind recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Norwood.

Margaret Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I can't say enough about the very professional and individual service that my new hubby and i received from the Norwood Hall Hotel in Aberdeen!!!! Our wedding co-ordinator couldn't have been friendlier, alongside the rest of the wonderful staff at the hotel! We had a fabulous day, and a cracking evening courtesy of the DJ from Elite promotions!!!!!!! The bedrooms were beautiful, very very very comfortable beds and nice and quiet for a peaceful nights sleep - which was very much required!! The food was amazing throughout and service could not be faulted! We woudl highly recommend the Norwood Hall Hotel for any event, short or long stay and will be returning for our anniversary - i hope!!!!! Many many thanks xxx

Room Tip: Any to be honest but for great views try one at the front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Norwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. The team at Norwood take great pride in ensuring every bride and groom have a day to remember.

We are all delighted to hear your day was special in all aspects. We look forward to welcoming you back to Norwood next year, if not before!

Margaret Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW France
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is an old country house and has it's own grounds which make a lovely difference when one is arriving , plenty of parking.
Its situation is excellent if one is on business in south Aberdeen as the rush hour traffic is appalling in Aberdeen.
The welcome is friendly and the rooms are fine and have all the amenities. The service is also efficient and friendly.
The restaurant is pretty good but the menu is a bit small if one were staying for more than a couple of days. The quality of the food is really good though. The wine list is a bit on the expensive side. Breakfast is excellent.

I would return if in this neck of the woods again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Norwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review. Our location is very peaceful away from the busy Aberdeen traffic but as you mention very accessible for the south and west of the city.

The team work hard to provide a friendly service, receiving feedback gives them a great boost.
Our recently appointed executive chef is working on some new exciting dining options.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Margaret Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Had a most enjoyable weekend at The Norwood Hall Hotel which brought back fond memories when It was privately owned many years ago when last visited. Situated in its own grounds within a busy City Local in tranquil settings a 'Home from Home', the log fire as you entered has a warm welcome for a cold day. The rooms were Five Star and in pristine condition, The Tribute night that was organised in the Pitfodels Suite was Fantastic with the food and service Excellent to say the least! - Staff were very efficient and friendly in their smart Uniforms, what else can I say.

We'll be back!
HB

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Norwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. The team are all very proud of our wonderful hotel having so much charachter and charm.

Our four open fires certainly do enhance a warm welcome.

Our new junior suites are very comfortable rooms along with our peacful setting and yet only 3 miles from the city centre, we are the country house in the city!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Norwood soon.

Kind regards

Margaret Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Have stayed here a couple of times - have had a lovely stay each time. The attentive staff and beautiful rooms make the stay very enjoyable. The restaurant breakfast and dinner food is of a high standard and the general manager is obviously doing a great job.

Room Tip: Every room I have stayed in has been lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Norwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

The team work hard to ensure guests enjoy a high standard of hospitality.
Our recently appointed executive chef has reviewed our dining options creating a well balanced menu to suit all dinners.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Norwood in the near future.

Kind regards,

Margaret Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as wedding guests on valentines day. I could not fault a single thing! The reception staff were extremely welcoming and friendly, she even checked if other family members had arrived yet. She showed us to the elevator and gave us clear instructions to our room. Room was amazing! Huge comfy bed, fantastic bathroom all spotlessly clean with attention to detail. The food and service at the wedding was outstanding as was our private breakfast the next morning. Very impressed and would most definitely return. Even the housekeeping staff were friendly and said good morning, held doors open for you etc. beautiful hotel with fantastic staff. If I was their manager I would be extremely proud. Well done Norwood!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Norwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. The team will be delighted to hear your comments. All departments work hard in providing a high level of hospitality ensuring guests are very well looked after.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Norwood in the near future.

Kind regards

Margaret Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Norwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norwood Hall Hotel

Address: Garthdee Road | Cults, Aberdeen AB15 9FX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norwood Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norwood Hall Hotel was built in 1881 on the site of the 15th Century Pitfodels Castle. This truly magnificent Victorian mansion exudes character and charm, with roaring log fires, sweeping staircases and magnificent interior design. Set in seven acres of secluded gardens and woodlands this four star hotel is the ideal venue to host your wedding,family gathering, business meeting and team away day. Norwood Hall has 73 en-suite bedrooms including junior suites, four poster rooms and superb original house rooms, which include all the luxury and modern facilities of a 4 star hotel, whilst still retaining the history and ambience of days gone by.The new conference centre boasts seven superb conference rooms with state-of-the-art audio visual equipment which, along with the traditional Norwood hospitality and customer service, is guaranteed to make your conference a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Norwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hall Aberdeen
Hotel Norwood Hall
Norwood Hall Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norwood Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.