We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Scottish Country Hotel, but in the City!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norwood Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Norwood Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Norwood Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garthdee Road | Cults, Aberdeen AB15 9FX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Scottish Country Hotel, but in the City!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My family spent a wonderful four night stay in the Norwood Hall Hotel this past January. A few minutes from the city centre, the Norwood nevertheless feels like it could be nestled in the highlands. One of the best features is the secluded grounds that buffer this Victorian estate from the hustle of the Granite City. The lobby and bar areas are magnificent. Soft lighting, ornate wall coverings and a crackling fire in the hearth create a cozy atmosphere. Our room was spacious by UK standards. The included breakfast service was good, not great, but I would gladly stay at the Norwood again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Norwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed the comfort and tranquility of our beautiful house.
I am happy to advise we have a new restaurant manager recently joined the team whom I am confident will ensure restaurant and bar service delivery is of a high and consistent level.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Margaret Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    82
    34
    25
    36
See reviews for
65
116
19
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

wow what a lovely place
lovely roaring fire
excellent afternoon tea lovely sandwiches , cakes and scones clotted cream was scrumptious
only thing i would say is you dont get a choice of what fillings for your sandwiches
salmon cream cheese
coronation chicken and egg and rocket - still very tasty
5 little cakes each - very full by end
we had a spree voucher to so buy 1got 1 free
defo going back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Norwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Delighted to hear you enjoyed a relaxing afternoon tea in our Library.
Chef will be delighted to offer a choice of fillings for sandwiches should the standard offering not be to your taste.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Norwood Hall in the future.

Margaret Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Wonderful weekend in gorgeous hotel. Room beautifully furnished & Immaculate bathroom. Good service and delicious Scottish breakfast.

Wedding day was amazing. Wonderful surroundings and fabulous food.

All in all a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Norwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are delighted you found the overall experience at Norwood Hall to be of a high standard both for the wedding reception and your over night stay.
We hope to welcome you back to Norwood Hall in the future.

Margaret Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My second visit to Aberdeen, the location of this hotel is superb, set in its own private grounds you could be on a country estate in middle of knowwhere but your actually really handy to get into town. We arrived early after a long blizzardy drive, through door, to a receptionist & a log fire glowing. On way to room more cozy fires, looking in on bar & restaurant a further 2 staff were welcoming & offering assistance, or drinks. We felt well attended to.
The room wow Largest hotel room ive ever stayed in, to the point that still felt spacious even with large comfy sofa & armchair, table, Bigger TV than we have at home and a Bed we lost each other in, perfect for our plans of relaxing. My husband was dissapointed to see no shower over the bath, that was only because he hadnt realised the size of the bathroom and the shower that could fit 4 in to the left of him, robes beautiful minatures were all added extras to the plush bathroom, totally exceeded our expectations.
We went to the bar which was a grand guilded room it was very homely, we were offered to casually browse the menu & order when our meal was ready, staff carried our drinks through and shortly after the food arrived we ate 3 beautiful courses, both lamb & steak were cooked to perfection, in fact it was so good we both ordered the exact same meal the second night, never before have i done that.
On way to breakfast Room attendants were cheery & polite. I must say also that the breakfasts were astounding, perfect poached eggs and such a vast choice of cold breakfast, the saying "eat breakfast like a King" kept popping into my head. The Manageress actually printed us a map after overhearing us at the breakfast table struggling with directions. Summary friendly staff went the extra mile, a lord & lady country feel in a city hotel, our anniversary was definately made special. Thinking of our wedding, it is perfect for a wedding. There were actually photographers doing a wedding shoot, no wonder they picked there and that grand staircase for there portfolios, I also wish id known of that hotel 6 yrs ago for our wedding.

Room Tip: I think we were in a new wing of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Norwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you and your husband have enjoyed your recent visits to Norwood Hall Hotel and that you had a fantastic anniversary.
We hope to welcome you both back again soon, perhaps for a renewal of vows?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The building (a historic, listed Victorian mansion) is stunning and the bedrooms in the new wing are excellent (apart from the maze of lifts and corridors you have to negotiate). The management however appear to be running it on a skeleton staff who just aren't coping.
The reception has been moved into the entrance hall which used to be a beautiful, atmospheric welcoming area. It is not suitable for a reception as it is too small and dark. The service in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast was very disappointing. We were lucky to have got a great last minute deal but if we had been paying the (extortionate) rack rate I would be seething. They need far more staff if they want to justify these prices.

Room Tip: It has to be in the newer wing. Don't bother with the breakfast unless it's part of a barga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Norwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear you do not feel our new reception area enhances the arrival experience. We appreciated your constructive comments and are looking in to further lighting within the area.
I am delighted to advise we have a new restaurant manager recently joined the team who will ensure restaurant and bar service delivery is of a high and consistent level

Margaret Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is now the second time I have been here for a Burns night. On each occasion stayed over.
Great night although a wee bit delicate in the morning!!
Fine night, dance floor full pall night. Nice meal.
Only causality was the haggis as is tradition it was stabbed in glorious style.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Norwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our ever popular Burns Night for the second year running and hope we can welcome you back once again next year.

Margaret Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh Province, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Agree with TP_13_13 review reception staff require training in customer service. Maybe i was not the regular customer thats uses Norwood Hall. That was the impression i got, anyway arrived after 2200 hrs due to the snow. Asked if food was available told no the kitchen is closed, well and chance of a snack then due to the late hour? no kitchen closed.
Room was not ready? had to wait for a room to be found strange.
Reported in morning shower not working, hence the reply did you wait for the water?
Well not for half an hour and still cold, well i will have to arrange a repair then was the reply.
This was the first meeting/training held at Norwood by my company. Well my feedback hopefully will change their mind.
On a positive breakfast was excellent with professional staff, suggestion pass on your skills to reception.
Norwood is set in nice grounds and obviously specialises in weddings, which i am sure they are good at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norwood Hall Hotel

Address: Garthdee Road | Cults, Aberdeen AB15 9FX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norwood Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norwood Hall Hotel was built in 1881 on the site of the 15th Century Pitfodels Castle. This truly magnificent Victorian mansion exudes character and charm, with roaring log fires, sweeping staircases and magnificent interior design. Set in seven acres of secluded gardens and woodlands this four star hotel is the ideal venue to host your wedding,family gathering, business meeting and team away day. Norwood Hall has 73 en-suite bedrooms including junior suites, four poster rooms and superb original house rooms, which include all the luxury and modern facilities of a 4 star hotel, whilst still retaining the history and ambience of days gone by.The new conference centre boasts seven superb conference rooms with state-of-the-art audio visual equipment which, along with the traditional Norwood hospitality and customer service, is guaranteed to make your conference a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Norwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hall Aberdeen
Hotel Norwood Hall
Norwood Hall Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norwood Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.