We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely nights stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norwood Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Norwood Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Norwood Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garthdee Road | Cults, Aberdeen AB15 9FX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely nights stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We got an excellent deal at the Norwood for DBB for one night and had a wonderful time! This was part of a birthday celebration and the whole experience was just excellent. The food was lovely and our room was beautiful (a junior suite). Thought breakfast in your room for only a small bit extra was a lovely idea. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and we were well looked after, wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    82
    34
    25
    36
See reviews for
65
117
19
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

I have stayed at Norwood Hall twice recently on business and can't praise it highly enough. The staff all offer fantastic service - reception, restaurant and bar. The building itself is impressive, from the minute you walk through the front door to be greeted by a roaring fire. Then into the fabulous main entrance hall. The bar and the restaurant are both also beautiful and the food was excellent. I would definitely choose to stay there if I could any time I'm in Aberdeen. I'm amazed at some of the negative reviews that have been written. I've also attended a wedding at Norwood Hall and it was also excellent, with fantastic food and service.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Horrible service, noisy rooms, altogether a nightmare. Stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

we had the great fortune to choose the Norwood Hall as the hotel for the wedding reception for my daughter and her husband. The staff could not have done more to make a very special day even more memorable. Nothing was too much trouble and it would be impossible to single out any member of staff as the overall standard was so high. Please note I am extremely hard to please and if anything was not adequate i certainly would comment upon it .So for services beyond the call of duty the Norwood gets full marks

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLOCK1
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

I stay in Aberdeen at least twice a month on business and this has to be one of the best hotels. The rooms are very clean as are the public areas, the service is always excellent. The restaurant offers very good food and the bar is a great place to sit and relax over a malt. This is my hotel of choice when staying in Aberdeen. Go & enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

My husband and I married here in July 2010. It is very convenient to access from the city of Aberdeen yet feels like it's in the middle of the contrary. We went in and fell in love with the front porch area before we'd even see anything else.

Staff - Very good, helpful, professional, can't do enough for you.

Cleanliness - First class.

Rooms - We had the bridal suite and it was awesome. Fantastic bathroom too, needs to be experienced to be believed!

Food - Excellent. Only fault would be our wedding breakfast's desert was supposed to be pavlova. We got a meringue like you get in a box from Marks or Tesco with fruit on top. I do kind of wonder whether a catastrophe happened in the kitchen and this was actually their back up.

Location - Pretty, woodland setting. Convenient for Aberdeen city centre. Pity that they were doing building works on the day of the wedding. It hadn't commenced when we viewed the place nor were we warned of it.

Would I go back? Absolutely!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011 via mobile

Stayed recently on business. Very impressed.
Main hall is amazing, full of character. Drawing room and library give space to chill out.
Breakfast was very good although when I was there the service looked a bit overwhelmed by sudden infux of people. Couldn't fault the the food quality, good choice, and well prepared.
Can,t comment on restaurant as we didn't eat there but heard it's excellent.
Rooms spacious and well decorated. Bed first class.
Location is a little out of town if you want a central location but the immaculate massive grounds do look beautiful.
Finally - free fast wifi, !!!
Finally - free fast wifi!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norwood Hall Hotel

Address: Garthdee Road | Cults, Aberdeen AB15 9FX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norwood Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norwood Hall Hotel was built in 1881 on the site of the 15th Century Pitfodels Castle. This truly magnificent Victorian mansion exudes character and charm, with roaring log fires, sweeping staircases and magnificent interior design. Set in seven acres of secluded gardens and woodlands this four star hotel is the ideal venue to host your wedding,family gathering, business meeting and team away day. Norwood Hall has 73 en-suite bedrooms including junior suites, four poster rooms and superb original house rooms, which include all the luxury and modern facilities of a 4 star hotel, whilst still retaining the history and ambience of days gone by.The new conference centre boasts seven superb conference rooms with state-of-the-art audio visual equipment which, along with the traditional Norwood hospitality and customer service, is guaranteed to make your conference a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Norwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hall Aberdeen
Hotel Norwood Hall
Norwood Hall Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norwood Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.