We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skene House Rosemount

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Skene House Rosemount to your Saves list
Skene House Rosemount
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   96 Rosemount Viaduct, Aberdeen AB25 1NX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed four nights here and really enjoyed the accommodation. It was quietly situated and the secure parking was useful. The rooms were clean and well equipped. The staff were helpful and professional. The breakfast were simple but offered a reasonable choice. It was a short walk to Union Street, which was useful as no transport is needed. I will stay here again when I am next visiting Aberdeen.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Rosemount for your recent trip to Aberdeen.
I was very pleased to note that you were happy with the suite and our service.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    110
    33
    16
    6
See reviews for
96
184
26
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Yes, I really do make this many trips to Aberdeen!

This time I am back in Skene House Rosemount, where I have stay many times before. These are located in what was traditionally a residential part of the city centre. In fact, most of their apartment are refurbished "tenement" flats, but don't let that put you off.

The reception (despite its rather funereal external colour scheme) is staffed by some of the most friendly and enthuiastic staff you will find in Aberdeen.

The traditonal apartments are reasonably well furnished and equipped, even if perhaps in a somewhat old-fashioned style, and you are provided breakfast provisions or can buy breakfast for a mdest cost in a nearby buiding. That building also houses more modern, slghtly more expensive and (in my view) rather more comfortable apartments. If you stay in these breakfast is free. However, I need to give you a warning about the breakfast - unless you have a very good appetite any porridge should be ordered in a small size.

Two free car parks, one of which, despite being immediately behind the building, is very, very difficult to find.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Skene House Rosemount after your recent stay with us.
It is always good to get reviews from our regular guests as sometimes there are different comments from staying with us so often or over a longer period of time.
Our reception team are really pleased by the friendly and enthusiastic comments, they genuinely enjoy meeting people and making sure their time with us is enjoyable.
We have also recently changed our breakfast service and continental breakfast is now included with all suite types. There is also a new menu in place so please let us know what you think of this when you are next with us.
Thank you again for your lovely comments.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Only stayed one night but wish we were staying longer. We had a 1 bed apartment which is beautifully decorated and fully equipped. Breakfast is included in the price which was a nice surprise, choice of cereal, pastries, bread, yoghurt and fruit.

Excellent value for city centre accommodation.

Can't wait to come back

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Skene House Rosemount for your recent visit to Aberdeen. I was delighted to read that you were so happy with our facilities.
We have recently made changes to our breakfast service. All suites now include continental breakfast in our Park Room and we have also updated menu. I don 't think this was in place for your last visit so you can try our new selection next time.
Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to your next trip.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandness, Shetland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Me and my fiance stayed here in September and we were very impressed. Rooms are large and spacious and spotlessly clean. Secure car parking and continental buffet breakfast are a bonus, and the hotel is just a short walk from Union Street. Will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Aberdeen.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Rosemount after your recent visit. I was delighted to read that you were so happy with your stay.
I will make sure our housekeeping team in particular get a chance to read your review.
Thank you again and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Booked at Skene House Rosemount as it was the only Skene House that had a lift in one of its buildings. We were situated, I think they call it, in the old church building, where they serve breakfast. The room was large, however there were a few issues. The fan in the bathroom stayed on for 20 mins and was extremley loud. The carpark was not located with our building and as such meant having to empty the car at the main buiding, carry the bags up stairs then out and across the street to our building - this would be ok if you are only away for a short time, but we are travelling the UK for 6 weeks so we have a large suitcase, a carry on suitcase and personal bags. I booked an apartment so we could do some washing and was lead to believe the laundry was downstairs in our building, but it was downstairs in the main building. The apartments themselves are only a 5 minute walk to Union St and the main shopping centre.

Room Tip: We were in room 404 in the old church building that has a lift. The apartment has full cooking facil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing Skene House Rosemount for your recent visit to Aberdeen. Thank you too for taking the time to write this review.
I was sorry to read that there were one or two issues during your time with us.
Since your bathroom didn't have a window it has a fan but 20 minutes does seem excessive. I will ask our maintenance team to have a look at this.
We also have a car park behind the building that you stayed in. All of our parking is on a first come first served basis so this was possibly full when you were here but please do not hesitate to ask for directions to this for any future stays.
Thank you again for taking the time to review us and I hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Myself & partner stayed in the superior double on a saturday night and were thoroughly impressed.

The apartments are within a 10 minute walk to city centre with lots of restaurants and bars nearby, despite being so close to the nightlife the apartment is in a quiet area so no dispruptions throughout the night - very peaceful.

The apartments were kept very clean, well maintained & well furnished. The bed was super comfy!

Breakfast the next morning was good, most of the usual items like yogurt, fruit, cereals etc with a good selection of hot foods also. Alex, the breakfast attendant who seated us, was very friendly and always had a smile too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing Skene House Rosemount for your recent trip to Aberdeen.
It was great to read such a list of pros for your time here. We are ideally located for the main amenities of the city’s cultural and social areas.
Our team work hard to ensure the level of customer service and cleanliness are maintained so we stay at the top of our game and I am glad you recognised this. We are very proud of our breakfast offerings and have recently invested in changing and developing out buffet and menu of which I am glad it met your expectations.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Rosemount
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The rooms were very large, well lit and comfortable. Had to haul the bags up several flights of stairs but it was worth it. We came back because of central location, comfort and helpful staff. Staff recommended great restaurants. Breakfast was well done and we felt very welcome on both of our visits.

Room Tip: Both street and back were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing Skene House Rosemount and then taking the time to review us after your most recent stay.
I was sorry to note that you had to carry your bags to your suite yourself. We have concierges on duty 24 hours a day and they will be more than happy to help with this. This should be offered on arrival but please do not hesitate to request it.
I was delighted to read that you felt very welcome on both visits. Our aim is to provide all guests with a home from home experience so this is great to hear.
Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skene House Rosemount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Rosemount

Address: 96 Rosemount Viaduct, Aberdeen AB25 1NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Rosemount 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Hotel Suites set in the cultural quarter of Aberdeen, only a few minutes’ walk to the theatre, art galleries and shopping centres.Smart, modern & comfortable serviced accommodation in Aberdeen with additional benefit of hotel services. Interiors have been designed by leading interior designers to offer guests a more minimal, streamline aesthetic – from the duplex penthouses offering bright and airy loft-style living to a more homely environment in Rothko’s tequila sunrise hues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Skene House Rosemount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene House Rosemount Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skene House Rosemount, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.