We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skene House Rosemount

Save Saved
You added Skene House Rosemount to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Skene House Rosemount
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   96 Rosemount Viaduct, Aberdeen AB25 1NX, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekend rates from £69
Ranked #5 of 61 hotels in Aberdeen
Flekkefjord, Norway
1 review
“Excellent choise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were four friends planning a long weekend in Aberdeen. We searched Hotels.com to find a hotel that would be close to the senter of the city, be of a fare price and a hopfully good standard. We booked a two-bedroom suite and when we arrived, we all was very pleased by the service of the staff and the appartement. The bathroom was very nice, the bedrooms a little small, but that didn't matter much since we had a livingroom and a kitchen. The WiFi in the appartment worked very well! We had to go outside to an other building to eat breakfast. The breakfast was good, but the room was quite cold. We walked every day to the Union Street area and back, just about 10 min each way. We also went out on the countryside and the staff was very helpfull to find out what was best for us. We enjoyed our stay very much and will recommand this hotel especially to a group like us!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing Skene House Rosemount for your recent trip to Aberdeen and then taking the time to write a review.
It was great to read that you were so pleased with the customer service and the suite. Our staff like to make sure our guests enjoy their time in Skene House and will be delighted to read your comments.
I was sorry to note that you were a bit cold in our breakfast room. Please do not hesitate to bring this to the attention of our staff on any future stays and they will make sure the temperature is raised to a more comfortable level. I hope this did not interfere with your enjoyment of breakfast.
Thank you again and hopefully we will see you and your friends again soon.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    102
    30
    15
    4
See reviews for
89
176
25
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Flexible, friendly staff, eager to please. Our upgraded room was the gorgeous one they put in the photos with the red kitchenette and black tile bath. Could have easily stayed there a week if we needed to but we were just there for the night. Loved the huge roof windows with views of Granite City's skyline. Only issue was my unfamiliarity with opening said windows to get ventilation on what proved to be an unusually warm evening in early May. There was no AC in our unit so a bit stifling on the top floor. Plenty of food at the included continental breakfast downstairs: yogurts, toast, fruits (fresh kiwi!), selection of teas, boiled eggs, cold meats and cheeses.

Room Tip: Be sure to specify twin beds if you need them. Ask for a room across the street in the conference ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Rosemount after your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you were so happy with your stay and your suite.
It is not very often that we get reviews saying that the weather was so warm in Aberdeen that the windows needed to be opened! Please be aware that we have staff on site 24 hours a day who will be happy to help with any issues in the suite whether you would prefer the windows opened or a fan provided.
I will make sure that our staff all get a chance to read your great comments.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next Aberdeen trip.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very comfortable accommodation. The apartment I stayed in was very clean and spacious. The bathroom was quite big, kitchen was well equipped. It is located in a walking distance (10 min) to Union Street. There are no lifts but my luggage was carried to the 2nd floor for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Rosemount for your recent trip to Aberdeen. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the suite was to your liking.
As you mentioned, not all of our suites are accessable by lift but we have staff on site 24 hours a day and they will be more than happy to help you with any luggage you may have. We do have one block of one bedroom suites with lift access. If this would be more to you liking please do not hesitate to request this when making your booking.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Aberdeen and to Skene House Rosemount.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forde, Norway
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed as Skene House Rosemount as part of a larger group for an oval weekend. Skene House Rosemount is placed in walking distance to Union Street, and the attractions. It's not an ordinary hotel, but an apartement hotel. The room I got was on the 1st floor, which was in the basement. It had a mezzanine bedroom, and a livingroom/kitchen and bathroom below. The window looked out onto a carpark. However, I didn't mind that, as I didn't spend much time watching the view. All the rooms were modern and clean. The WiFi was excellent as each room had its own router. The place seemed to cater to a lot of Scandinavians, since many of the rooms had Scandinavian electrical socket. Very useful! Only one negative thing, being in the basement, it was awfully cold both in the room, in the corridor and in the breakfast room. Though the room had several panel heaters and a rapid-warming radiator on wheels. Very friendly staff and concierge!

Room Tip: Room 106 has a Scandinavian electrical socket, is in the basement, and was a bit chilly in April.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing Skene House Rosemount for your recent Aberdeen trip. Thank you too for taking the time to review us afterwards.
I was delighted to read that you were generally happy with the suite. I agree that the view to the car park isn't the best but it does make for a quiet suite.
I was sorry to note that you found your suite and the breakfast room cold. I will discuss this with our property services team and our breakfast team. Hopefully this will not be a problem for your next stay.
Thank you again and we loook forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just back from our stay in the rosemount, had a fantastic stay. we were in the duplex penthouse flat 604 it was stunning bed was so comfortable very clean. We liked the fact that it wasnt just a small hotel room, we could have the choice whether to dine in the flat or dine outdue to the stunning kitchen. Reception staff on arrival were so accomodating. The new assistant manager Rhys Perry was very professional and the passion for his job shone out. Went for breakfast in the morning and the staff were so nice couldn't do enough for us. All staff were very professional in manner.Would definatley go back to rosemount and recommend to my friends and family for somewhere to stay in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing Skene House Rosemount for your recent trip to Aberdeen and then for posting a review.
I was delighted to read that you found your suite so comfortable and our staff so helpful. They will all be very happy to read your comments.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Skene House Rosemount soon.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elgin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very comfortable accommodation, cleanliness is excellent. Felt like being at home. Very quiet even being so close to centre. Fresh inviting decor, very well equipped kitchen. Comfortable couches in lounge, warm flat. Will book again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Rosemount and taking the time to write a review .
I am delighted that our suite surpassed your expectations. We do try to make every guest feel like they have that home from home feeling when thay stay with us.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Rosemount.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A strange hotel if I may say. Small reception. Out of the building through the back yard to find my entrance to the suite. Got a great apartment. Unfortunately, already occupied by another guest. Back to reception. New room. Very reduced in size compared to the original.
Comfortable bed. Clean rooms. Nice staff. Very nice bathroom!
Had to cross the street the next day to get breakfast.
In my opinion Skene House Rosemount is too expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Rosemount and for reviewing us afterwards.
I would like to apologise for the error made when checking you into your suite. This is not common practice at Skene House and we are looking into why this happened as we do have systems in place to prevent situations like this.
I was pleased to read that once you were in your correct suite you found everything to your liking.
I hope you choose to return to Skene House Rosemount in the future.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Skene House Rosemount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Rosemount

Address: 96 Rosemount Viaduct, Aberdeen AB25 1NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#7 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Rosemount 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Hotel Suites set in the cultural quarter of Aberdeen, only a few minutes’ walk to the theatre, art galleries and shopping centres.Smart, modern & comfortable serviced accommodation in Aberdeen with additional benefit of hotel services. Interiors have been designed by leading interior designers to offer guests a more minimal, streamline aesthetic – from the duplex penthouses offering bright and airy loft-style living to a more homely environment in Rothko’s tequila sunrise hues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Skene House Rosemount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene House Rosemount Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skene House Rosemount, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.