We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service, great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skene House Whitehall

Save Saved
You added Skene House Whitehall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekend rates from £69
Ranked #1 of 61 hotels in Aberdeen
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous service, great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Skene Apartments for 3 nights on our annual return to Aberdeen. The apartment was a large 2 bedroom on the 2nd floor with a huge living room and kitchen.

From our arrival and throughout our stay we were treated with nothing but courtesy by very professional and friendly staff, from reception to check out we simply couldn't fault the level of service we received.

Located 5 mins from Union Street, the main street in Aberdeen, the apartments were ideally situated for shopping and access to restaurants and bars, neither of which are in short supply.

The only reason for a 4 star review was a persistent smell of dirty drains that we highlighted to reception shortly after our arrival. Staff did arrive and sprayed air freshener throughout, though this merely masked the smell briefly. No attempt was made to find the source of the smell or address it.

Otherwise a great visit and superb alternative to the hugely expensive hotel market in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    66
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
86
155
17
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room we had was excellent value for money ideally located in the centre of Aberdeen. The hotel is a 10minute walk from union street in a lovely quiet residential area. The room we had included kitchen, bathroom, living room a double bedroom and single bedroom, unbelievable value. There is secure on site parking also. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked a last minute stay here, we had a two room executive suite. Room was very clean, parking was very good as we were parked just a few meters from the entrance to our suite. We took our own travel cot although the hotel can provide these but we did request a high chair, unlike a lot of others the chair we had in the room and also in the breakfast room were very, very clean and not at all grubby.
We were not aware however that the hotel can provide a bottle warmer, steriliser and baby spoons and bowls until we arrived, we were also offered these at breakfast the next day, although a lot of people would prefer their own but to know the hotel can provide these is just an extra bonus if you forget something. The double bedroom had plenty of space for the travel cot next to the bed, the kitchen was small and compact but had everything we needed to have a take-away and wash, sterilise and make up the bottles for the next day.

We found the room warm but it was a very hot weekend in the middle of summer, we called reception to see if they had a spare fan and one was delivered to the room 10 mins later.

We were also entitled to a free drink from the bar, this was a nice touch.

Location was brilliant not far from the Bon Accord centre or the retail parks either.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at Skene House Whitehall on Saturday 19th July 2014 and we couldn't have had a better stay. The suites are brilliantly equiped, tea and coffee and our own little carton of 'proper' milk! We even had a complimentary drink in the hotel before we headed out and the breakfast was lovely! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Owner at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review of Skene House Whitehall. It’s the little touches like fresh milk in the fridge, complimentary tea, coffee and shortbread and of course the welcome drink from the Honour Bar that make all the difference to your stay.

I am delighted that you would chose to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager - Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Was in Aberdeen for two nights in July and stayed at Skene House Whitehall. Got a quiet room at the back on the 1st floor which was clean and spacious. Single and double bedrooms, living room, kitchen and bathroom. Nice soap and shampoo in the small bathroom. Good to have a fridge and stove. Very welcoming front desk and lovely seating area with tea, coffee or a complimentary drink. Wonderful continental breakfast with great variety. Large parking lot which is a great benefit in a city. Close to Union Street and the main shops. Recommend this hotel especially if you are traveling with family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 5 days ago
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the facilities in your suite. I am sure you will agree staying in a suite is much more comfortable than staying in a hotel room, you really have the best of both worlds. Space to relax with all the facilities of a hotel.


Customer feedback on Trip Advisor is very valuable for both accommodation providers are travellers and I am grateful that you have taken the time to post this review. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager - Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was extremely roomy and clean. The only problem was the parking lot was really hard to get to. It was convenient to restaurants and the main street in Aberdeen. The staff were very friendly and helpful which also made the stay in Aberdeen fun.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 5 days ago
I would like to thank you for choosing Skene House Whitehall and for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted to read that you found our accommodation roomy and clean and found our staff friendly and helpful; they all take great pride in their work.

I hope you will have an opportunity to return and stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager - Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed two nights but wished we could have stayed more. We had a two bedroom suite with full kitchen, large bathroom, and separate living room. Hotel staff were incredibly nice. Breakfast was very good as well. No complaints!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Skene House Whitehall, I was delighted to read that my staff provided the excellent customer service that we are reputed for.

As you have found serviced accommodation is a much more comfortable choice than traditional hotel rooms.

Hopefully you will be able to enjoy a longer stay when you return, please check our website for the latest special offers.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager - Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is situated in a quiet residential part of Aberdeen, yet only 5 minutes walk from the city centre, with its own private garden exclusively for guest’ use. The gardens lend a more residential feel to Skene House Whitehall and make this the perfect place for longer-stays or family trips with younger children.Skene House Whitehall’s interiors are easily the most eclectic of the Skene House collection. From the dramatic grandeur of the reception and Grosvenor Lounge which features an honour bar to the cheerily floral breakfast room. Whitehall has HotelSuites ranging from modern penthouse studios to more traditional townhouse apartment living and a selection of family suites.Free on-site parking, free wifi, breakfast restaurant, honour bar (complimentary drink on day of arrival) and guest lounge with complimentary tea, coffee and daily newspapersBreakfast included in price is a deluxe continental breakfast buffet, with cooked to order menu available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skene House Whitehall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.