We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet.... in a 1986 kind of way.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Skene House Whitehall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Skene House Whitehall to your Saves list
Skene House Whitehall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet.... in a 1986 kind of way.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

A series of converted flats (apartments) above a converted shop, Skene suites are clean and quiet. And rooms (sorry, suites) ARE big. So if all that's what you're after, then this place is good and friendly. Downsides are access is through the outdoor carpark and decor - deary me - like a throwback to 1986. See pictures.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Skene House Whitehall. As you have found, our suites are decorated in a traditional manner keeping with the traditional Granite buildings and we appreciate this is not to everyone’s taste. We do have an extensive of range of suites available, and perhaps if you are travelling to Aberdeen in the future you will give us another try and we will allocate a suite to your preference.

Kind Regards
Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    71
    19
    1
    0
See reviews for
94
170
19
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. Spacious and clean rooms The comfortably beds were made with soft cotton linen. Good wifi connection. Excellent car parking facilities with good security. ldeal location for short walk to town centre. Good breakfast cooked to order. And also a large selection of tasty marmalade and fresh fruits to choose from. I would absolutely come back again and can recommend this place. Good value for your money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Skene House Whitehall. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and would recommend our accommodation to others.

Please check our website for our latest special offers and hopefully there will be something there to tempt you back.

Kind Regards
Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have just returned from a family wedding in Aberdeen. We stayed in Skene house Whitehall. We had 14 people with many different requests and had some changes to our original booking. Liz and the reception staff could not have done more for us. Nothing was a bother. We could not thank them enough. The breakfast staff were wonderful and when really busy stayed calm and coped with us all. A truly wonderful place to stay to explore city centre Aberdeen.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, during your family wedding. I am sure you will agree staying is a suite is much more comfortable than a typical hotel room. Liz our dedicated Group Co-ordinator works tirelessly to ensure every last detail is correct and I will be sure to pass on your thanks to her and the rest of the team here.

I hope you get a chance to return to Aberdeen and visit us again.

Kind Regards
Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Cannot fault this place really. Only thing you need to watch out for is the lack of lifts and the noisy seagulls if you are on the top floor as we were. Ask for a room lower down if you have trouble with stairs although the concierge staff were very helpful with luggage. The room was plenty big enough for the two of us and well equipped with a small kitchen area including cooker rings, microwave, fridge and sink. Breakfast was good and cooked extras very good value for money compared to cafes etc. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The icing on the cake for us was because we had our flight from Manchester cancelled at check in we had to drive up in double quick time and were going on after 2 nights on a weeks coach tour so had nowhere to leave the car. The hotel staff checked around but could find nowhere convenient for us to do this so let us leave the car with them for the week. I would happily have paid for this but they would not hear of it. This going the extra mile for customers is what distinguishes excellent customer service and I would have no hesitation in recommending them to others or staying again myself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay, it is always nice to hear from our guests.

Unfortunately there are no lifts available due to the traditional style of the buildings, however our Concierge staff are always on hand to assist with luggage or where possible we will accommodate requests for suites on lower floors.

My staff strive to provide the very best customer service and I am glad that you experienced their efforts.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Skene House on your next trip to Aberdeen.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

After travelling with my partner for a month, we really appreciated how spacious our apartment was - we could finally sit in different rooms! The fully equipped kitchen was the first we've had on our trip and it was great to have the option to cater for ourselves. Although the decor was dated it was actually quite nice, reminded me of my grandmothers home. Wifi signal was free and strong. We had access to laundry facilities both washer and dryer (free) which was pretty exciting for us (some places charge an arm and a leg)! As others have mentioned, the complimentary red was also thoroughly enjoyed. Parking was available on site but was pretty tight. But overall, wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Skene House Whitehall. As you have experienced staying in a suite is much more comfortable than a traditional hotel room. Space to relax and freedom to cook a meal.

Our suites are located in traditional granite buildings and therefore our interiors are designed to compliment them. We do however have lots of different styles and sizes of suite and we like to think we have something to suit all tastes.

I am glad you enjoyed our choice of red wine and I hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We're staying two nights in Aberdeen while my hubby does some ancestry chasing and are based at Whitehall. I don't know how this place makes any money! Our accommodation is a flat with kitchen, bathroom, lounge and two bedrooms. When we arrived there was a complimentary bottle of wine on the dining table. We were shown the communal lounge and bar where we could have a complimentary first drink before paying for any subsequent ones. The continental breakfast is also included. I'll be honest, I wasn't expecting much but it's exactly what I'd have at home. It's a great location for all the city centre attractions with secure car parking. OK, The decor is a bit 1980's but its really clean and comfortable and the staff are extremely helpful - And this is costing us £65 a night! As we're going on to tour the highlands for a week after this we're having a night in tonight with an M&S meal deal and watching the telly before a week of eating out every night. I couldn't recommend it highly enough and would look out for other apart- hotels on future trips.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
It is always a pleasure to read that our guest’s expectations have been exceeded and I am delighted that you are enjoying having the space and freedom serviced accommodation
allows. Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of our suites, it nice for our ‘behind the scene’s’ staff to feel appreciated too. As you have experienced, I have a very dedicated team of staff across all departments, who are always happy to help. I hope to welcome you back to Skene House Whitehall in the future.

Kind regards

Karen Barbour- Manager
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isleworth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here for just one night on the last Saturday in May. Really nice place. Great rooms, complimentary drinks, very fairly priced honesty bar. Friendly staff, great breakfast. Clean. Quite well placed in relation to town centre and stupendous value for money.

I had only one gripe. Putting me on literally the furthest room (832) when I have a newborn (and they know this as they put a cot in there!) is silly! I am sure this is just a lack of thought and would assume Karen and her team take this on board next time people book with infants in tow.

In summary book this and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay at Skene House Whitehall. I have noted your comments regarding the allocation of your suite. Unfortunately all of our Studio suites are located on the top floor. Wherever possible we try to allocate guests with young children on low floors, close to reception, but we were exceptionally busy the weekend you stayed with us and we were unable to allocate a lower floor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay despite this issue and I look forward to welcoming your family back to Skene House Whitehall in the future.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour – Manager
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is situated in a quiet residential part of Aberdeen, yet only 5 minutes walk from the city centre, with its own private garden exclusively for guest’ use. The gardens lend a more residential feel to Skene House Whitehall and make this the perfect place for longer-stays or family trips with younger children.Skene House Whitehall’s interiors are easily the most eclectic of the Skene House collection. From the dramatic grandeur of the reception and Grosvenor Lounge which features an honour bar to the cheerily floral breakfast room. Whitehall has HotelSuites ranging from modern penthouse studios to more traditional townhouse apartment living and a selection of family suites.Free on-site parking, free wifi, breakfast restaurant, honour bar (complimentary drink on day of arrival) and guest lounge with complimentary tea, coffee and daily newspapersBreakfast included in price is a deluxe continental breakfast buffet, with cooked to order menu available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skene House Whitehall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.