We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skene House Whitehall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Skene House Whitehall to your Saves list
Skene House Whitehall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service is outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Skene House Whitehall for 2 weeks and the service was outstanding. All the employees make you feel like you are royalty. The rooms were nice and comfortable. We will stay here whenever we come back to Aberdeen. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Skene House Whitehall. We really appreciate your very kind remarks and we are certainly do aim to make our guests feel like royalty.

We hope to see you back in Aberdeen very soon,

With kind regards,

Karen Barbour
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    71
    19
    1
    0
See reviews for
94
169
19
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penarth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was my second visit and the quality and cleanliness of the accommodation, efficiency and friendliness of the staff, and excellent value proved to have been maintained at the same very high standard as on my previous visit. The suites are close to the centre of Aberdeen (just off Union Street) with plenty of restaurants around and a short walk from the bus and railway stations, yet located in a pleasant, relatively quiet residential area, and are equipped with everything to provide a real home from home. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your recommendation. We are delighted that you have chosen to revisit Skene House HotelSuites and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

If you would like to keep up-to-date with our news and events you can now follow us on Twitter or Facebook.

With kind regards,

Karen Barbour
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

What can you say about a hotel that gets it right from the word go to the moment you leave...perfect....great suite, exceptional service and a fantastic breakfast....

The lounge area was great, we took visitors back after the theater and it was the perfect space to sit and relax. The hotel bear was a great hit with the kids who loved filling in the postcards from his travels.

Top marks all round...will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your fantastic review of Skene House Whitehall. We are delighted that you consider us ‘First Class’ and that you have taken the time and effort to share this on TripAdvisor.

We certainly aim to get everything right, every time. We want all of our guests to feel as comfortable as possible whilst away from home, having the freedom and space to invite friends allows you to create that home-from-home feeling.

William, the hotel mascot bear is always a hit with the kids – check out our blog on the About Us section of our website to see more of Williams travels when our little guests have taken him on visits around Aberdeen.

With kind regards,

Karen Barbour
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We received a warm welcome when we arrived and the complimentary welcome drink was a nice addition. Rooms were of a good standard and good value for money. Decent breakfast and helpful staff. Would highly recommend!


  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your review of Skene House Whitehall. We are delighted that you highly recommend us!

We look forward to seeing you again, in the meantime you can find us on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.

With Kind Regards,

Karen Barbour
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

As a regular visitor to Aberdeen I normally stay in hotels. This was the first time I've stayed in a serviced apartment. It was a much nicer experience and felt much more like home than a hotel could. The apartment was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Some furnishings were a bit basic but nothing to really complain about.

The one thing I would change would be the TV, it was far too small for the size of the room.

Nice breakfast and friendly staff. I'd certainly recommend and will stay again but only at a discounted rate - the standard rate is rather expensive

Good location for Aberdeen city centre

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.

We aim to bridge the gap between a serviced apartment and a hotel by offering hotel services such as 24 hour reception and concierge and a breakfast room. We are delighted that you liked our concept and we hope to see you again very soon.

To keep up-to-date with our latest news and offers you can now follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

With kind regards,
Karen Barbour
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had two nights here in a three bedroom apartment, with a large lounge and two bathrooms. There were stairs to reach it. We loved it. There is a lovely lounge room off the reception area, which we didn't have time to make full use of - we didn't have time for the welcome drink! The staff were helpful, and the breakfasts good (you could order - and pay for - other food if you wished). The location was good - not too far to walk to Union St. Note there is free Wi-fi in the rooms but it was quite slow and we found it better to use the computer in the lounge by reception. There is a parking area, but you are not guaranteed a spot. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: The three bedroom apartments were excellent (although the third bedroom was small - but there were t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for you review. We hope that you get the opportunity to revisit Skene House Whitehall and make full use of all that our suites have to offer.

We apologise that the WiFi was slow during your stay, in case of any interruption to our WiFi network we provide Ethernet cables in each suite, alternatively we also have the computer in the main lounge area. We have two free car parks, one small close to the front entrance of the main building and one larger one across the courtyard.

We look forward to seeing you again,

With kind regards,

Karen Barbour
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The decor and soft furnishings are beautiful, our two bedroom accommodation was spotlessly clean and very well equipped, the staff are really friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Complimentary drink available on arrival with complimentary tea and coffee available throughout the day-much appreciated. A tasty and plentiful continental breakfast is included in the price. Location is convenient for city centre visits. Pat & Ron

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Pat and Ron,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hotel Suites. Our staff will be delighted that you have recognised their hard work. We get a lot of comments about the high standard of cleanliness of our suites; our housekeeping department are a loyal and dedicated team who really appreciate our TripAdvisor comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon,

With kind regards,

Karen Barbour
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is situated in a quiet residential part of Aberdeen, yet only 5 minutes walk from the city centre, with its own private garden exclusively for guest’ use. The gardens lend a more residential feel to Skene House Whitehall and make this the perfect place for longer-stays or family trips with younger children.Skene House Whitehall’s interiors are easily the most eclectic of the Skene House collection. From the dramatic grandeur of the reception and Grosvenor Lounge which features an honour bar to the cheerily floral breakfast room. Whitehall has HotelSuites ranging from modern penthouse studios to more traditional townhouse apartment living and a selection of family suites.Free on-site parking, free wifi, breakfast restaurant, honour bar (complimentary drink on day of arrival) and guest lounge with complimentary tea, coffee and daily newspapersBreakfast included in price is a deluxe continental breakfast buffet, with cooked to order menu available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skene House Whitehall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.