We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skene House Whitehall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Skene House Whitehall to your Saves list
Skene House Whitehall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We were only here for an overnight stay but the studio was beautiful and it was cheap as chips.

It's about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Aberdeen and there isn't much happening in the immediate area, but that has the benefit of meaning it's quiet at night so a decent sleep is assured.

The room we had, on the top floor in the eaves, was brilliantly spacious, with a separate lounge area (with a kitchenette) and an en-suite bathroom (no bath but great shower).

There is a honesty bar for guests (first drink free each night! - why am I talking about alcohol again?) and a great buffet breakfast each morning (with more expensive a la carte options available), and the staff we met were delightful (albeit one or two were local and thus almost unintelligible).

All in all, fantastic hotel which I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    77
    21
    1
    0
See reviews for
102
190
20
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Stayed in studio apartment for 1 night on business - Sat through to Sun in November.
As i had luggage with me, l took a taxi from the train station to the hotel and it cost me £6 which included a tip. Later on, i walked to Union Street (city centre) and it took 10-15minutes, where you can find lots of places to eat.
Warm welcome to the hotel and promptly checked in with a porter escorting me to the studio. Friendly and helpful - offered to take my luggage to the top floor.
The studio apartment itself was spacious, perfect for couples and individuals. It was modern, clean and welcoming, clean and fully functional kitchenette with a complimentary carton of fresh milk in a good size fridge. En-suite was a good size and in keeping with the rest of the studio, clean and modern with a good size shower and good pressure water. Towels were good, thick and soft. The bed had an adequate number of plump pillows which were all very comfortable.
There is a comfortable 1 and 2 seater material sofa suite in the living area with a round table and a large flat screen with the majority of freeview channels available to watch with good quality pictures. A coffee table to place your laptop (if you brought one with you) to connect to the internet via wifi or use the rectractable ethernet cable for a wired connection (very impressed with this particular facility and the connection was fast).
Breakfast was very good with a good selection of cereals, fresh fruit, fruit juice, yogurt, bread, pastry, cheese and cold meats. Toast was served to order and cooked breakfast was available on request (cost extra). I didn't order a cooked breakfast as the continental selection was more than adequate.
I go to Aberdeen now and again on business and I have found a new 'wee gem' of a place to stay. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure.
Only negative was the radiator did not work, but as i was only staying overnight, i did not bother contacting reception that evening. I informed reception of this fault in the morning and were apologetic and would notify maintenance to get it fixed. I also received an email to apolgise for the faulty radiator, so all in all very good customer service and attentive to the guests needs.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portree
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

This apartment-hotel was the ideal set up for us. With a young teenager, it was great having a "suite" with two bedrooms plus a livingroom and kitchen. Continental breakfast was included and was more than enough for us. There was also a "residents' lounge" with newspapers, complimenatry tea and coffee and an honesty bar.
The locality was quiet yet central - only 10 minutes easy walking to the west end of Union Street - and it was great having off-street parking. The hotel is in a lovely terrace of granite town houses and the whole area consists of quiet, clean, pretty, prosperous residential streets. So hard to believe Aberdeen's best shops, entertainment, night life and eating places are a short walk away, as is the railway station.
The bed was very comfy - this is a most unusual comment from us - since we upgraded our mattress and bedding a few years ago, we are now so spoiled that normally anywhere else we go the bed is not nearly as nice as our own one at home. But this matress was excellent.
Flat was very clean and the decor was nice and simple; soothing colours compared to lots of hotels.
All the staff we met were very pleasant and friendly without being obsequious. The reception staff seemed very efficient and were very welcoming and helpful.
We will definitely be staying here again. Next time we will be travelling without our teenage son and it will be good to try one of the studio flats.

Room Tip: There is a choice here - from simple open-plan studios, ideal for couples or individuals, to multi-r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Spacious rooms with cosy lounge and a more than adequate clean kitchen. Free parking with security cameras, free welcome drink and snacks, nice breakfasts, supermarket only 5 mins walk if you cook. Staff were SUPERB, housemaid free cleaning every day and above all things (a deal clincher for most fellas) all the SKY Sports channels free for your digital TV. I love Skene House, and wish they were all over the UK. I would use them every time on my travels!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Staying in this serviced apartment was so much more comfortable and relaxing than staying in a double room in any hotel. And yet it has all the positive features of a hotel - a friendly and obliging staff, a lounge and dining room for breakfast (good continental one) and a free car park. Well positioned for visiting the centre of Aberdeen, it's only a short walk to Union Street, Skene House, Whitehall place, will be our future port of call whenever we stay in Aberdeen.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, following your recent stay at Skene House Whitehall. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff looked after you in the way that Skene House is reputed for. It is so true that Serviced Accommodation is a much better option than Hotel Accommodation, you really have the best of both worlds. Space to relax with all the facilities of a hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Aberdeen, don’t leave it too long….

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour, Manager
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavangar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

No wonder Skene House Whitehall is No 1 in Aberdeen. We arrived early (11.30am) but our rooms were ready and the staff had been expecting us. Once settled in our delightful suite the reception staff were more than happy to provide shopping tips and maps. We returned throughout the day to drop off shopping bags and returned at night to find everything waiting for us in our suite. Breakfast was busy, but exceptionally well executed and the buffet was everything you needed. All staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Will we be back, definitely.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are always grateful to hear directly from our guests, about how much they've enjoyed their stay with us. The staff will be delighted to see your review.

I am glad you enjoyed our Breakfast Buffet and that our staff looked after you in the way that Skene House is reputed for. Aberdeen is now a very attractive city for shopping breaks with the addition of Union Square and hopefully we will have some January deals to tempt you back to stay with us and ‘Hit the January Sales’.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour, Manager
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughty Ferry, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Amazing suite. Everything we could want and more. Loads of space, wonderful kitchen and bathroom and very cosy. Staff very pleasand and helpful. Really could not fault it and did not want to leave! would not hesitate to return or to recommend it to ohers. Good situation. we were able to leave our car and walk to town

Room Tip: Have stayed twice and both times have been given a larger suite than booked but sure they would all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Whitehall, following your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were pleasant and helpful.

Hopefully for your next visit to Aberdeen you will be able to stay a little bit longer and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour, Manager
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is situated in a quiet residential part of Aberdeen, yet only 5 minutes walk from the city centre, with its own private garden exclusively for guest’ use. The gardens lend a more residential feel to Skene House Whitehall and make this the perfect place for longer-stays or family trips with younger children.Skene House Whitehall’s interiors are easily the most eclectic of the Skene House collection. From the dramatic grandeur of the reception and Grosvenor Lounge which features an honour bar to the cheerily floral breakfast room. Whitehall has HotelSuites ranging from modern penthouse studios to more traditional townhouse apartment living and a selection of family suites.Free on-site parking, free wifi, breakfast restaurant, honour bar (complimentary drink on day of arrival) and guest lounge with complimentary tea, coffee and daily newspapersBreakfast included in price is a deluxe continental breakfast buffet, with cooked to order menu available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skene House Whitehall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.