We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not worth the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Deeside Road Blairs, Aberdeen AB12 5YP, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #19 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    240
    152
    67
    31
See reviews for
105
310
31
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were invited to a wedding here and decided to book a room so we could enjoy the pool and facilities as well as the wedding. The food at the wedding was lovely (we were there for the evening only) but there was soup, great bacon rolls or sausage in buns, everything hot and served with a smile. Bar staff also prompt and provided good service.
Pool and Jacuzzi were fine and not too busy.
We had asked for a room that had been refurbished as I had read that some rooms were a bit tired and our room was large and well decorated. We also asked that it was not facing the front as others had said it was a bit noisy when guests leave late at the front. So our view was over a roof but I had expected that so did not mind.
The things that We did not like were:
- We ordered some food in the room and the chap who brought it up forgot to bring up the wine and we had to send him back twice as there was no salt in the salt cellar. Also the tray was still outside our room when we got back from the wedding reception and the next morning, one of my pet hates in a hotel!
- At about 1am in the morning the kitchen staff decided to empty the bottles from the bar into something else making a really loud noise which must have woken a number of guest with windows facing into the inner "courtyard". Certainly woke me!!
So in summary , an ok hotel but not great. I certainly don't think it is worth the full price we would have paid if we had not been wedding guests.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has been done up recently
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterArdoeGM, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it would seem that you had an enjoyable stay let down by a couple of regrettable errors which I will be certain to speak to my team about, apologies for any inconvenience casued.

Kind regards

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel will always be special to me as I got married here and we will continue to visit. My husband and I returned last week to soapies for an anniversary meal. We very much enjoyed our food. The service was excellent and the staff so welcoming and friendly. The hotel is so nicely done up now, so different to when I was there last. In my opinion it has a modern twist but also still has the antique look to it, that's what I love about this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterArdoeGM, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time with us recently and that Ardoe House continues to hold such fond memories for you both.

Best regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I booked a spa weekend for 14 friends - a hen weekend. We were all extremely impressed by the excellent service we received throughout our stay. We were not a rowdy group, but i would have understood if the staff had been apprehensive at the prospect of a hen party. They went out of their way to accommodate us - we had our meals in a private dining room, were given a complimentary glass of champagne before dinner, and they took the trouble to find out the bride's name and personalise her dessert! Compared with other similar hotels I have stayed in in Scotland, Ardoe House is far superior.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterArdoeGM, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback, I am delighted that you all had an enjoyable time with us here at Ardoe House and hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. In the meantime please pass on my best wishes to the bride to be.

Best regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband & I were given a free night here as a gift from a supplier. We arrived Sunday afternoon & have to say the exterior of the hotel is beautiful. The foyer / reception / bars / drawing room etc are lovely, obviously a lot of care & attention have gone into making a good impression. The staff were very friendly upon check in and explained the restaurants etc. - we then headed up to our room. The corridors are gorgeous, lovely tartan curtains, plush carpets then we entered our room (207). It was like going into a timewarp. Gone were all the plushy extras of the rest of the hotel - it was a large basic room with awful 1980's furniture.
It was very clean, I can't complain about that - but one of the windows did come away in my hands when I tried to open it though! It was so disappointing after the initial impression of the rest of the hotel.
We went down to the bar to have a drink & sat outside in the gardens. We felt that because we were not paying for the room - it was a freebie - we couldn't complain & ask to change - we weren't sure if any of the other rooms were any better! There was also a wedding going on so we thought the wedding party had all the good rooms (if there are any!) So we made an excuse that there had been a family emergency & we had to leave. The gentleman on reception was very nice & didn't charge us for the drinks we had in the bar.
If we had known that the rooms were going to be that bad we would have stayed at home & not driven over an hour to Ardoe - that's why we checked out - I have a much nicer room at home that I would rather spend the night in!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterArdoeGM, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments, it is very dissapointing that you chose simply to leave the hotel and hot discuss your concerns with our team. We are undergoing a detailed refurbishment throughout the hotel currently and if this room was not to your liking I am certain we would have been able to allocate you another. Perhaps we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Regards

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great hotel with endless facilities and reasonable prices for hotel type and location.

Staff helpful and attentive.

On site bar was resourceful, but I would consider eating out at a local pub before returning for the night as the serving sizes do not match the size of the hotel!

Rooms: plush and equipped with all conventional tea making facilities, tv. Beds were exceptionally comfortable.

Location: Good, a bit of a drive and tricky to find with a sat nav, but ample car parking.

Overview: Great Balmoral looking hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterArdoeGM, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback, I am please that you enjoyed your time with us and I will be certain to share your comments about portion sizes with our chef, I must say this is certainly the first time I have had such feedback but we will certainly look into it.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Very pleased with our recent stay.
It was a beautiful day so we sat outside enjoying the lovely grounds and had some drinks after we checked in.
Our room was probably the furthest away from reception but was very comfortable and clean.
We enjoyed a delicious 3 course meal in 'Soapies' brasserie. One of the staff had found out it was my birthday when we were at the bar and they served a lovely plate of chocolates saying Happy Birthday with our dessert - a lovely touch.
We enjoyed a swim in the morning, the pool was quite busy but the facilities were nice.
I also treated myself to a full body massage in the spa and felt very relaxed afterwards.
All the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble
We would definitely recommend this hotel to people looking for a romantic getaway

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterArdoeGM, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed your Birthday celbrations with us here at Ardoe House and hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa

Address: South Deeside Road Blairs, Aberdeen AB12 5YP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the royal residence of Balmoral Castle, a few miles upstream, this 4 Star 19th Century mansion house offering 109 en suite rooms is situated 3 miles outside the city centre of Aberdeen, in 30 acres of countryside. Ideal for shopping, theatres, scenic walks and Balmoral Castle. Meetings suite for up to 500 guests, Blairs Restaurant, Soapies Lounge Bar, pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, tennis courts, fully equipped gym, aerobics studio, state of the art beauty salons and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Ardoe House Hotel And Spa
Mercure Ardoe House Hotel Aberdeen
Mercure Ardoe Hotel Aberdeen
Accor Ardoe Hotel Aberdeen
Ardoe Hotel House
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel And Spa Scotland
Ardoe House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.