We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and very good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Deeside Road Blairs, Aberdeen AB12 5YP, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #19 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely place and very good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was recently at a fund raising event held here. It was really professionally organised. The food was very good and everything ran like clock work. The waiters were very attentive. It's a little bit tricky to find in the dark driving. I have been a few times and always take the wrong turn off but I got there in the end.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterArdoeGM, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback Natasha, I am delighted that your event was a success and I hope to be able to welcome you back to Ardoe House in the future.

Best regards

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    240
    152
    67
    31
See reviews for
106
310
31
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I recently stay in the hotel and had no expectations at all. I was here for business (conference in the hotel), so a perfect combination. Comfortable rooms, nice bars, good choices for food, lovely wines....and don't forget....a good accomodation for conferences. A word of thank to all the staff, especially Erika, who made you feel at home. I will surely recommend this hotels to others.

Room Tip: Room 147, a long walk but worthy. Quiet and a marvellous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterArdoeGM, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be certain to share your comments with Erika and the team. I hope to be able to welcome you back to Ardoe House in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently stayed at Ardoe House and just wanted to share what a lovely stay we had there. My husband secretly arranged a surprise stay for us and our six year old daughter to celebrate my birthday. Having been married at Ardoe a few years ago it certainly lived up to our high expectations. On arrival we noticed the interior had been impressively refurbished and very tastefully done, now contemporary but still very much sympathetic to Ardoe's lovely original features and loved the quirky colours and Scottish decor which really complements the reception area, restaurants and bars throughout. We were checked in by a friendly member of staff and were delighted to discover that our room was in the original part of the building over looking the lawn where we exchanged our vows many moons ago! As you can imagine this was sentimental for us, another lovely touch was the handmade chocolates which didn't last too long!!! We ordered room service which came within about five minutes, again the staff were very friendly. We had promised our daughter to go swimming in the afternoon and were pleased to see the pool and spa area were again still living up to expectations offering many treatments you would expect. The pool was lovely and warm and most importantly clean! After our swim we headed back upstairs for some well earned bubbles, we booked an early dinner to fit in with our daughters bed time and enjoyed some delicious food which was cooked and presented to perfection. The bar staff were all very friendly and the bar man was very knowledgable of the many whiskies available. He showed us through to the Whisky Bar which had also been refurbished and featured tasteful portraits of all our Scottish personalities, I particularly liked the decanters which had been made into lampshades! The following morning we went for a first class traditional Scottish cooked breakfast, a little break and then back to the pool again to try and burn some of it off! Unfortunately it was time to check out however, I can't express how magical a weekend we had at Ardoe House and would highly recommend a visit you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Perhaps give the hotel a ring and let them know what kind of stay or room you are looking for. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterArdoeGM, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback Mark, I am delighted that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us here at Ardoe House and I am very grateful that you took the time to comment in such detail. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elgin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Below expectations food and service in restaurant let down my visit to hotel. Inconsistent service time delay in serving food and wine, warm food not hot. Plates not heated, quantity of food limited. Impressive building, location ideal, very easily found.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterArdoeGM, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments following you recent stay with us here at Ardoe House, I will be certain to share the problems surrounding your dining experience with my team and apologise for the obvious inconvenience caused on this occasion.

Kind regards

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I am in Aberdeen for professional reasons and it is definitely one of the best place to stay. Rooms are pleasant and comfortable, and staff is always very welcoming.
I look forward to be back next week.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterArdoeGM, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments, I am very pleased that you continue to enjoy staying with us here at Ardoe House and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed at the Ardoe House Hotel while attending a dinner and had a very pleasant stay. My room was comfortable and I slept very well. The service at reception and from all the staff I met were excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterArdoeGM, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback Fiona, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us here at Ardoe House Hotel.

Best regards

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here recently on 15th February for the Spa Reviver deal. For £170 we got a room, breakfast, a 3 course meal and 2x free 30 minute treatments at the Spa. Well worth it!!

Had a look at the menu weeks before we arrived + emailed the hotel re a change for my meal (fussy vegetarian!!). They kept in touch with me and I got a meal of pasta on the evening. Our room was lovely. Only complaint as that the water wasn't warm enough in the morning for a shower.

We would stay here again for the Spa Reviver Deal.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterArdoeGM, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your time here at Ardoe House for your Spa Break. Please accept my apologies regarding the water temperature, we are actually just about to undergo a replacement of the main boiler in this area of the hotel which will address this concern moving forward, thank you for bringing it to my attention.

Best regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa

Address: South Deeside Road Blairs, Aberdeen AB12 5YP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the royal residence of Balmoral Castle, a few miles upstream, this 4 Star 19th Century mansion house offering 109 en suite rooms is situated 3 miles outside the city centre of Aberdeen, in 30 acres of countryside. Ideal for shopping, theatres, scenic walks and Balmoral Castle. Meetings suite for up to 500 guests, Blairs Restaurant, Soapies Lounge Bar, pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, tennis courts, fully equipped gym, aerobics studio, state of the art beauty salons and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Ardoe House Hotel And Spa
Mercure Ardoe House Hotel Aberdeen
Mercure Ardoe Hotel Aberdeen
Accor Ardoe Hotel Aberdeen
Ardoe Hotel House
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel And Spa Scotland
Ardoe House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.