We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Lunch - Give it a miss!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Deeside Road Blairs, Aberdeen AB12 5YP, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #19 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Ondara, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Christmas Lunch - Give it a miss!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over Christmas and really looking forward to it as we haven´t been back to Aberdeen in 5 years. We booked a double room with sofa bed as our son may have stayed over if he had a drink - they gave us the wrong room and we had to go back to reception. We always used to take the staff to their Christmas parties and stay over, and they were brilliant! However our stay was a different story!! On Christmas Eve a very large party arrived for the Christmas Package and it seemed that whatever they wanted they got. The other guests were just onlookers. We had to wait 2 and a half hours to get a table in the restaurant - they could have called us much earlier, but waited until the restaurant was practically empty before seating us. When we arrived we looked at the restaurant menu and thought it was good value for money for the 3 courses, however they forgot to tell us that although the food was the same the price was nearly double!! We were booked for the Christmas Day lunch - The turkey was rolled/pressed meat - disgusting!! There wasn´t a parnip to be seen and the sprouts were frozen - all very unedible!!! The Christmas pudding looked and tasted like it was bought from Asda!! The meal cost 64 pounds each and it wasn´t really worth 20 pounds!! The hotel promised a full scottish breakfast and it did on two of the mornings, but Boxing Day morning breakfast was the leftovers was the christmas meal, i.e. bubble & squeak, kedgerie - no sausages, bacon, mushrooms, etc. Very disappointing!! We left the hotel feeling thoroughly fleeced of our hard earned money!!! We will never go back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterArdoeGM, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, please accept my apologies that everything was not to your satisfaction during your festive stay however I would have to correct some of your comments as they are factually inaccurate. This clearly isnt the forum in which to debate your concerns, suffice to say that we fed over 500 people on Christmas day and the overwhelming feedback has been positive, that being said I will more than happily have that conversation should you wish to contact me directly at the hotel on peter.sangster@accor.com.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    240
    152
    67
    31
See reviews for
106
310
31
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

The Conference staff made this stay. They were incredibly professional and very helpful - we were quite demanding requiring tables brought in and out on demand and air con switched on and off at will! A nice touch was to have a mobile number so I could text during the event which was responded too. The facilities are very good and the views pleasant, it was also great to have natural light into the rooms.
The bar and restaurant staff were vey helpful and the food of an acceptable standard. Room service was brought promptly and delivered without fuss.
The rooms are of a decent size but a bit tired and could really do with a bit of a refurb but all in all everything functioned and it was clean, which for me is the main thing.
The hotel and grounds are beautiful, particularly in the snow. I didn't use the gym/spa so can't comment on that.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterArdoeGM, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback, I am please that you stay and event were a success and I will be certain to share your comments with the team. I hope to be able to welcome you back to Ardoe House Hotel in the future.

Best regards

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

my friend and I were treated to afternoon tea by a good friend for Xmas and from the moment we entered the Ardoe Hotel we were in a lovely Xmas wonderland. Warmly welcomed by a duty manager, we were shown into a drawing room wich was most inviting, with a cosy real fire. Our table was close to the fire which was lovely and as if by magic our Champagne instantly appeared . Sitting comfortably, our afternoon tea experience had begun. After having a wee chat and enjoying our bubbles, we were then served our dainty sandwiches, scones with jam and cream together with cakes and biscuits from an Art Deco Cake stand Our tea and coffee was topped up while working our way through the abundance of tasty bites and the time flew by so quickly. We were SO well looked after all afternoon by the waiter and will definitely be going back again, as well as recommending this treat to our friends

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterArdoeGM, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments, I am delighted that both you and your friend had an enjoyable afternoon with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back to Ardoe House in the future.

Kind regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

After 50 years with my husband, he still managed to surprise me!! I was whisked away to this beautiful, baronial mansion. Log fire in the foyer, log fire in the drawing room, log fire in the dining room and log fire in the bar!! Absolutely, warming and welcoming. Our room overlooked rolling lawns and beautiful mature trees, a Summer House type building was just visible in the distance. A peaceful haven. Soft fluffy towels, soft fluffy bathrobes, spacious bathroom, lovely toiletries. Fine dining menu delicious, breakfast menu, excellent. Afternoon tea in the drawing room with the log fire and Sunday papers was so relaxing. Later that day a trip to the spa, numerous treatments avaiable and very comforting. We will be back, management and staff were very accommodating, helpful and friendly. Royal Deeside at it's best, Ardoe House Hotel & Spa.

Room Tip: Ask for newly re-furbed rooms, they are so luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterArdoeGM, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments and congratulations to you both on celebrating your Golden Wedding Anniversary, I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us here at Ardoe House Hotel & Spa and I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kind regards

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here recently with members from work for two nights. The room itself was okay but the bathroom was tired looking and in need of renavation. The cold water tap came off in my hand. On a positive note the breakfast was nice.

Room Tip: Best to upgrade above the standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterArdoeGM, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, please accept my apologies for the maintenance problem you encountered during your stay however.

Kind regards

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I'd never been to Scotland, so when the opportunity arose I decided to stay in a hotel that would offer a memorable experience....and the Ardoe House certainly delivered! The staff is warm and helpful from the moment you enter the premises, and they continue to go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms are large and comfortable. I had breakfast and dinners at the hotel and was never disappointed. The bar offers a daily special on a local single malt... I was able to taste a bit of the local fare then walk up to my room for a good night's sleep! I also tried the Spa, and again I was impressed with the friendly service. If I ever get back to Scotland I'm definitely staying at the Ardoe House!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterArdoeGM, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back should you return to Scotland in the future.

Best regards

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Second stay in 6 months and again really enjoyed it. Allocated a new refurbished room, big windows with views over the river Dee. Ate in the bar this time and enjoyed a salmon starter and fillet steak for main, couldn't fault it. Getting married in the hotel later this year and feel confident it will be a great bash. Looking forward to seeing the new refurbished restaurant when we return again. Thanks

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterArdoeGM, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments Billy, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back to Ardoe House later in the year.

Best regards

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa

Address: South Deeside Road Blairs, Aberdeen AB12 5YP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the royal residence of Balmoral Castle, a few miles upstream, this 4 Star 19th Century mansion house offering 109 en suite rooms is situated 3 miles outside the city centre of Aberdeen, in 30 acres of countryside. Ideal for shopping, theatres, scenic walks and Balmoral Castle. Meetings suite for up to 500 guests, Blairs Restaurant, Soapies Lounge Bar, pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, tennis courts, fully equipped gym, aerobics studio, state of the art beauty salons and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Ardoe House Hotel And Spa
Mercure Ardoe House Hotel Aberdeen
Mercure Ardoe Hotel Aberdeen
Accor Ardoe Hotel Aberdeen
Ardoe Hotel House
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel And Spa Scotland
Ardoe House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.