We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced and requires refurbishment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Huntly Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SU, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Saarbruecken
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“overpriced and requires refurbishment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

good points: i got a spacious room on the 4th floor which was quiet.
the bar was ok, the breakfast was ok though with 15.75GBP
somewhat overpriced.

bad points: avoid the 2nd floor as it may get very noisy from the bar underneath. the rooms definitely need some refurbishment.
no mininbar which is not acceptable for a 4star rated accomodation.
matrace was ok.

the reception was mostly ok though sometimes appear a bit annoyed and impatient with foreigners.

internet access was not charge-free (again for a 4star rated hotel that is questionable compared to international standard) but costs 8 GBP for 4hours (!) but the clock runs from the first time
you use it - not counting the time you really use it, that's simply money making.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    162
    132
    72
    42
See reviews for
47
146
34
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2007

I.ve been to so many hotels in the world, but this one is bad. Very bad.
The staff at the reception is so unfriendly. Not interested in there guests at all. Not polilte, and not amused when they were asked about there behavior.
Room: dark, brown, bad view, and for most of all very hot. Do what you have to do here, and than go away as soon as possible.
Location is good, but that's all.
Breakfest in a dark windowless room.
During my stay. Twice fire-alarm. We had to go outside the hotel without any information. No it was not a pleasant stay.
If you want to visit the city of Aberdeen or the beautifull Scotland
Highlands do so because that's great but avoid this hotel.
Fo me: never again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service, staff and dirty dark uncomfortable room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

I have stayed in this hotel several times over the past few years, mostly because Aberdeen has too few hotel rooms. It is overpriced and
needs refurbishment. The Bar has been redone, but the rooms are something you would see in the 1950's.

On a positive note, parking is free, if you can find a spot.

Overall, the hotel needs its rooms modernized, particularly the second floor, and even smokers don't like to stay in smelly rooms, so
ban the ashtrays.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

I've stayed here a couple of times on business and continue to be surprised that this hotel is on a 'preferred' list within my company. The lifts seem to suffer constant problems, the rooms are damp, drab and smell of nicotine (non-smoking rooms). The breakfast however expansive is simply too expensive for anyone wanting just coffee, croissant and/or cereal and the place in general is soul less and very very tired considering the price and pitch of the place.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The room itself - drab and miserable experience considering price and was next to lift / door so little sleep!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2007

We'd booked a room for seven nights at a reasonable price of 88 pounds per night for two well in advance with SuperBreak - before I read the mostly negative reviews of the Copthorne here. We weren't expecting the best, but we both were very wonderfully surprised. I wonder if the other reviewers had even been to the same hotel.
First of all the hotel is both very close to the center of town and very quiet - a wonderful combination. The building itself is so attractive that we wondered why Copthorne only shows the entrance door on their website.
Maybe since we arrived on a Sunday night and were staying for an entire week, our request for a large room was granted immediately and we were given a great Connoisseur room on the 3rd floor. Two huge beds, a big desk, lots of room to store our luggage and a nice view of attractive roofs and steeples around the hotel. The closet was a bit small and the coat hangers were of the aggravating "can't-take-them-out" kind, but the bathroom was large and spotless with great complimentary toiletries. The room doors are a bit noisy - and there seems to be no way to close them quietly unfortunately.
The best surprise came the next morning at breakfast - the best breakfast we'd ever had in the entire United Kingdom and we've both been there many times! Superb fresh fruits, a great cold buffet, as much delicious coffee and hot chocolate as we wished and the chance to order several varieties of a cooked breakfast from the very friendly and helpful waiters and waitresses. We enjoyed a different breakfast each morning!
The staff was without exception always very friendly and helpful. It was a joy for us to stay at Copthorne, and it made the international convention we attended in Aberdeen all the more pleasant.
If the pound continues to fall against the euro, then maybe in the future the value for money we can get in Germany will one day be possible in Britain too. But even at 130 euros a night, the Copthorne was worth it and in comparison to other hotels and b&bs in Aberdeen that other people attending the convention stayed at even reasonable.

  • Liked — The wonderful friendliness of all the staff - they made us feel at home!
  • Disliked — the expensive internet connection
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

I stayed here for 2 nights last week while attending a professional conference at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre. Generally the hotel was very comfortable, and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. It's in a convenient and quiet location, though has no gym, pool etc.

The breakfast was good - good buffet with lots of fruit, excellent cooked breakfast options, huge portions, and prompt and friendly service. A group of us were joined by a colleague staying at another hotel, and he was offered tea at no extra cost.

I've only given it an average rating because it was so expensive, £135 for a Thursday night and £88 for the Friday night single occupancy. The walk-in rate for a standard room is around £225. Apparently they can charge these rates because of the oil industry.

  • Liked — staff and breakfast
  • Disliked — cost, complicated and expensive web/broadband access
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2007

Just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel. Our room cost us the grand total of £88 including full breakfast - no complaints there!! Bedroom and bathroom were clean and well decorated in the usual hotel style and there was a trouser press,iron and board, tea tray and kettle etc. Room fairly small and wardrobe sliding doors flimsy and cheap looking. Bathroom well lit - a change from lots of hotel bathrooms!My husband could actually see his face while shaving!
Public areas were smart,well carpeted and possibly recently refurbished. We had a bar meal ,a room service sandwich supper and breakfast. Food was well presented and portions extremely generous! The room service sandwiches were triple decker and accompanied by a mixed salad and potato crisps. They were served on a very large dinner plate and there was no room left on the plate!! The tray was covered with a starched cloth and there was a large starched napkin,pepper and salt and knife and fork provided. This cost £5.25. Hot food at breakfast was served to order and arrived at the table on piping hot plates.
We came in contact with quite a few staff members and they could not have been more attentive and pleasant.

  • Liked — Cheap clean good honest food well presented
  • Disliked — bedroom furniture ai bit tired looking
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Address: 122 Huntly Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel located in city center, 7 miles to airport & within walking distance of museums, galleries, shops & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.