We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does as it says on the tin!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Save Saved
You added Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Huntly Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SU, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Adv Purchase upto 20% off
Ranked #35 of 61 hotels in Aberdeen
1 review
“Does as it says on the tin!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

This was our 1st stay since we held our Wedding Reception @ The Copthorne.... it was nice to be back...... Easy to book, pleasant staff, very central, gorgeous hotel, room was lovely, shower was amazing...... Unfortunately didnt stay for food, but we'll be sure to on our next visit as we'll be back again....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Debbieandpaul5,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive comments following your recent stay here at Copthorne Aberdeen.

Firstly can I on behalf of everyone at the hotel say how delighted that we did meet your expectations on this occasion.

Once again, please accept our gratitude and, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Copthorne Aberdeen Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    111
    101
    60
    38
See reviews for
35
106
28
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ondara, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights to be in central Aberdeen with my son. Next to our room was a fire door which the staff must use. The door banged extremely loudly about twice an hour and made both of us jump every time!! Really annoying when you are trying to relax or sleep!!! The hotel is very dated and it is a shame because it used to be a lovely hotel. Room was large, but the bathroom definitely needed an overhaul - bits of the skirting fallen off, the door was damaged and when you flushed the loo, it sounded like a train coming through the room!! After the fire drill the night before at 1.45am we just couldn´t wait to get out of there!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Suzy Z,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive comments following your recent stay here at Copthorne Aberdeen with your son.

Firstly can I once again offer our sincere apologies we did not meet both your expectations on this occasion.

Indeed I we are embarrassed our lack of standards that you both experienced which spoilt what should have been an enjoyable visit.

Rest assured we have reviewed your comments in great detail and have started to implement the corrective action and re-training to ensure this does not occur in the future.

Once again, please accept our apologies and, we look forward to welcoming you both back to the Copthorne Aberdeen Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

After changing rooms twice we finally had a room with a working tv... and no noise from air con duct . This hotel is very much in need of over haul. As regular visitor to aberdeen I would recommend the Hilton garden inn , jurys or the park inn for a much better hotel experience at a similar cost. Sadly I won't return to the copthorne..and can't think of anything positive about our stay. All three rooms including the club room we ended up in were of very low standard...the one shampoo and one shower gel between us was laughable !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear dizzy_traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive comments following your recent stay here at Copthorne Aberdeen.

Firstly can I once again offer our sincere apologies we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Indeed I we are embarrassed our lack of standards that you experienced which spoilt what should have been an enjoyable visit.

Rest assured we have reviewed your comments in great detail and have started to implement the corrective action and re-training to ensure this does not occur in the future.

Once again, please accept our apologies and, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Copthorne Aberdeen Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Hotel has a basement Car Park, a huge bonus *. Reception staff helpful and friendly with a smile on arrival.
Room was warm and spacious, had everything you require. Fridge in your room. Not noisy!
Beds are very comfortable. No road noise for being in the middle of Aberdeen. Had a drink in the bar that evening and again attentive very friendly service and non intrusive.
Breakfasts are well presented and had plenty of selection fruit juices, fruit, cooked breakfast and cereals etc. Service was again very attentive and with a smile!!. Asked for freshly cooked poached eggs and was served them a few moments later. All in all no complaints. People should stop trying to find complaints, the Copthorne Hotel in my opinion is good value for the money. Does an excellent service in this economic climate. Well done everyone keep it up ****

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear GranaryGuestHouse,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive comments following your recent stay here at Copthorne Aberdeen.

Firstly can I on behalf of everyone at the hotel say how delighted that we did meet your expectations on this occasion.

Once again, please accept our gratitude and, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Copthorne Aberdeen Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Convenient for the city centre this hotel needs a bit of a face-lift, rooms are large and well-appointed but in need of some tlc. Breakfast was... ...edible?! Staff were very friendly. I would stay here again but I am sure there is better.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi Guy B,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive comments following your recent stay here at Copthorne Aberdeen.

Firstly can I on behalf of everyone at the hotel say how delighted that we did meet your expectations on this occasion.

Once again, please accept our gratitude and, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Copthorne Aberdeen Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I remember when I was younger that this hotel was one of the best in Aberdeen but unfortunately now very dated. The rooms are needing a right good update and I haven't seen a tv like that since the eighties. Ok for one night stay but until this hotel is giving a good lick of paint this 4star hotel is living on past reputation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi David M,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive comments following your recent stay here at Copthorne Aberdeen and your memories of staying with us before! We always love to welcome back returning guests.

Firstly can I offer our sincere apologies we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Indeed we are embarrassed our lack of standards that you experienced which spoilt what should have been an enjoyable visit.

Rest assured we have reviewed your comments in great detail and have started to implement the corrective action to ensure this does not occur in the future.

Once again, please accept our apologies and, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Copthorne Aberdeen Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
japan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is in need of a update & refurbishment, it's dated, dirty and one to aviod in aberdeen city centre. The food is the worst I've experienced in my 30 years of visiting Aberdeen. On the plus side I found the staff very welcoming & helpfull. There are many new hotels in aberdeen city centre so this needs to up it's game to compete.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Japan 2007,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive comments following your recent stay here at Copthorne Aberdeen.

Firstly can I once again offer our sincere apologies we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Indeed I we are embarrassed our lack of customer care and standards that you experienced which spoilt what should have been an enjoyable visit.

Rest assured we have reviewed your comments in great detail and have started to implement the corrective action and re-training to ensure this does not occur in the future.

Once again, please accept our apologies and, we hope to welcome you back to the Copthorne Aberdeen Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Address: 122 Huntly Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel located in city center, 7 miles to airport & within walking distance of museums, galleries, shops & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.