We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hideous” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Save Saved
You added Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Huntly Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SU, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Adv Purchase upto 20% off
Ranked #35 of 61 hotels in Aberdeen
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Hideous”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The smell that greeted us as we walked up the stairs was mild vomit.

Nevertheless the lobby was fairly clean and check in was swift enough with some nice big clunky oval key fobs being handed over. Bags straight into the room and down into the bar for a drink.

The source of the smell, the vomit, sweat, stale beer, humid boy odour…it almost stopped us having a beer there…almost…absolutely hideous. A whole room full of “Scaffies” and “Riggers” waiting to go home or go offshore, drinking and gobbing off each in their own colloquial tongues which they would heighten when “one of their own” would engage in conversation.

Was hungry after a pint and ordered the vegetarian sweet and sour with rice. You know the microwave stuff. Well that is what it was. Inedible.

The rooms were B&B+ just….however they did have a min bar….impressive for this day and age….

Breakfast was a horror show. Black pudding bubbling in an inch of oil and it had been for a few hours. Fried eggs that I could have bounced off the walls.

Beans that had a skin thicker than a pig. Juice so bitter and concentrated that it turns your mouth inside out. Coffee that tastes like dried powder.

All served up with an extra helping of attitude. Not shy in that department.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear KERF_Worldwide

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive comments following your recent stay here at Copthorne Aberdeen.

Firstly can I once again offer our sincere apologies we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Indeed I we are embarrassed our lack of customer care and standards that your guest experienced which spoilt what should have been an enjoyable visit.

Rest assured we have reviewed your comments in great detail and have started to implement the corrective action and re-training to ensure this does not occur in the future. Our Maintenance and Housekeeping departments are looking into the issues you have reported.



Once again, please accept our apologies and, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Copthorne Aberdeen Hotel in the future.



Yours sincerely



Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    111
    101
    60
    38
See reviews for
35
105
28
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedum, Groningen, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 night during our visit to Aberdeen.
Nice light and open room, much space.
Good sleeping comfort.
Big bathroom, only the shower was to low and the bath wasn't deep enough.
Good service at the reception.
Verry nice location in the city centre, everything within walking distance.
The breakfast was of good quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Esther S

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive comments following your recent stay here at Copthorne Aberdeen.


Firstly can I on behalf of everyone at the hotel say how delighted that we did meet your expectations on this occasion.


Once again, please accept our gratitude and, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Copthorne Aberdeen Hotel in the future.



Yours sincerely



Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on a Saturday and prior to arriving asked about parking. We were told,over the phone, that there was lots of spaces. There is not. They have about 8 spaces underneath and the car park over the road is expensive. Inside the reception area and bar is nice,clean,modern and tidy. Upstairs though is a different matter. The furniture is slightly dated and the carpet in the corridor was a bit thread bare in areas. The rooms were large enough but our bed sheets were stained. It was also slightly noisy from within the hotel and outside. Overall I would say it is three star and not four but I would stay again although it would be more for the location just off union street more than anything.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here on 14th September with my daughter before she was due to start at Aberdeen University.It is really handy for the city centre and rail station. We stayed in a twin room which was very spacious, had two double beds ans spotlessly clean. Had lunch on arrival and found the staff to be very courteous and pleasant. My only gripe would be the fact that I was disappointed that a 4 starhotel didn't offer free wi-fi and felt it was expensive to use. Overall a lovely hotel and I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Do not stay in this hotel if you intend to sleep. There was some machinery on the roof directly above my bed, which made it sound as though I was in the engine room of an ocean-going ship. The vibrations were violent enough to make the ceiling light fittings rattle.

There were other deficiencies too. I'm not tall, but had to crouch to get under the non-adjustable shower head. And you have to open the window because there's no air conditioning/circulation system in the room, which would not be a problem except for the pool of standing water outside that attracts a cloud of midges.

Oh, and they don't have a single ale in the bar.

Room Tip: NOT top floor (400-rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Horrible overpriced dump certainly won't be staying there again nor shall I recommend it to anyone, a coat of paint and some maintenance wouldn't go a miss! Take some ear muffs so you don't have to listen to the people in the room next to you. The rickety lift is amusing/ scary !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed midweek, courteous welcome, very nice room and bathroom which was very clean, car park small. Handy for city centre which is walking distance. My only criticism is the breakfast, loads of staff but not organised and the cooked buffet was sparse. Apart from that a great effort Copthorne and I would go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Stevie3889,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Copthorne Hotel, Aberdeen.

It is extremely encouraging to hear that guests enjoy their stay with us. With regards to breakfast, I am disappointed to hear that the breakfast did not completely meet your expectations; hopefully this was just a one off as our aim is to offer a wide variety of fresh ingredients to our guests.

Thank you again, and we look forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards,

Daniel Lawrence, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Address: 122 Huntly Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel located in city center, 7 miles to airport & within walking distance of museums, galleries, shops & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.