We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay the TreeTops” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Aberdeen Treetops Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Aberdeen Treetops Hotel to your Saves list
Hilton Aberdeen Treetops Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Springfield Road, Aberdeen AB15 7AQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for Two
Ranked #48 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Lanark, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Our Stay the TreeTops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We enjoyed a warm welcome and very cheap luxury room upgrade. The staff were very pleasant and met our needs without fuss. The room was very luxurious with free wine and bottled water. We will certainly be paying another visit and enjoy the hearty breakfast.

Room Tip: Room upgrades are good value if you opt for this option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemant M, Manager at Hilton Aberdeen Treetops Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to the Treetops.

I am delighted that you had a pleasant experience and enjoyed the breakfast buffet and room upgrade offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,


Hemant Markanday
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    206
    243
    134
    86
See reviews for
155
220
61
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night it had really good parking, the staff were really friendly, the pool was nice, shame the showers at the poolside weren't working and the changing rooms need some work. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment. Wouldn't bother staying again but as I said it was ok.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the upgrade, it's just not worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemant M, Manager at Hilton Aberdeen Treetops Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to the Treetops.

I very much hope that should you return to Aberdeen you will feel able to consider the hotel again for your accommodation and dining requirements and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Treetops in the near future.

Kind regards,


Hemant Markanday
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Some hotels we visit for the view, or the spa, or the food. The USP of the Hilton Treetops is by far the staff. From the welcome received at Reception, to the delightful Douglas behind the bar, to the efficiency of the restaurant team, their enthusiasm and genuine smile was a delight to see in the hospitality industry.
Yes, the corridors, stairs and lift are in desparate need of a refurbishment, but I believe this is to be undertaken later this year. The sauna was out of order during my visit, and the jacuzzi is within the main swimming pool so wasn't the relaxing hot tub I had hoped for, but this is reflected in the room rate.
The restaurant food was great, and breakfast was hot, plentiful and a fantastic selection. The bedrooms are spotlessly clean and fresh, as is the bar and reception area.
The city centre may not be on its doorstep, but even taking into account a return taxi fare, it's much more economical to stay here than pay city centre rates and a parking charge.
I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemant M, Manager at Hilton Aberdeen Treetops Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to the Hilton Aberdeen Treetops Hotel.

I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay and found the team at the hotel to be friendly and helpful during your visit.

As mentioned in your review, we are indeed carrying out a refurbishment of the hotel corridor areas and this is expected to take place this summer.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hemant Markanday
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

I was recently blown away by the service we experienced at the Tree Tops...let me explain, we spoilt ourselves with an over night stay here before going to Barcelona to celebrate my 50th birthday. On check in we as always were upgraded to the business wing. In the room in addition to our usual treats a birthday card signed by all team members a fab bottle of Cloudy Bay ( my favourite) chocs and a lovely platter of fruit. If that was not enough within my card complimentary vouchers for dinner for both my wife, me and an invited guest. To be spoilt like this....amazing...more follows
We duly went to dinner, had a lovely bottle of bubbly...well it's not every day your going to be 50 an excellent meal with wine, including desert wine and then a night cap in the bar. Our guests taxi had arrived so I asked to sign the bill, my answer....no bill to sign...happy 50 th...well I was truly touched and blown away by such a gesture. Can I say to all those people posting bad reports on this hotel, perhaps if you supported this hotel and treated the wonderful staff in the manner to which they deserve ( outstanding friendly and professional staff) you may find the level of service that we always experience, hence our repeated custom. Yes the hotel is a little tired, but what the hell, the staff make this place our truly second home.
We returned for a one night stay for my wife's birthday and she also was spoilt rotten, thanks to the whole team for making our stays so special...see you all soon !!

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemant M, Manager at Hilton Aberdeen Treetops Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to the Treetops.

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay and we are pleased that we helped make your birthday celebrations special.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind regards,


Hemant Markanday
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Not a great choice as the rooms are old and small and the location is terrible. If you chase Hilton Miles or have a corporate account you will survive a stay here. But there are better choices in Aberdeen.

It used to be a great hotel 20 years ago - but times hae changed but sadly this Hilton hasn't

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room and one recently renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemant M, Manager at Hilton Aberdeen Treetops Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to the Hilton Aberdeen Treetops Hotel.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the location of the hotel. We are located in the quiet west end of the city, approximately 10 minutes drive from the city centre which is convenient for a lot of guests who prefer not to be right in the city centre however are still within easy access of the city if required.

At the latter end of 2010 we completed a refurbishment of the hotel foyer areas and function suites and the next phase of our refurbishment programme is to include the hotel corridor areas and a number of guest bedrooms.

Thank you once again for your feedback and hope you will consider us in the future.

Kind regards,


Hemant Markanday
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairn
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This was our third visit to this hotel with our kids age 9 & 7. Previously we have had no need to complain but on this occasion......Firstly the good points: Nice public areas, good bar, friendly and attentive staff, excellent breakfast, good pool (although 1st 2 days it was pretty cold, normally nice and warm, still got a problem with sand at bottom of pool too), plenty of parking.

Not so good points: We paid for an upgrade to a junior suite which we duly got however in the room we found sweet wrappers and half eaten box of complimentary chocolates under sofa bed in kids section; sliding door/window was very stiff to open and when I managed to eventually move it, it fell off it's rails and I (and a member of staff) were unable to get it back on they did however manage to re-locate us to another room with adjoining room for kids fairly swiftly, however the keycard locking system was abysmal to say the least. We spent a lot of wasted time going back and forward to the reception to get the keys re-programmed.
Our first night at dinner (Saturday night) 3 other tables with a total of 7 guests excluding us, so not a busy night for the chef, took over 45 minutes before they brought our kids dinner ! On our previous visits to this hotel they were usually served first or with the adults starter course, so very poor experience this time around.
Then on check out had to make a few corrections to bill, i.e remove charge for upgraded room (which we didn't use) , deduct breakfast charge (it was included in rate anyway), adjust drinks bill from dinner (wrongly priced wine).
Will we go back?...... Probably not judging by this experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemant M, Manager at Hilton Aberdeen Treetops Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to the Treetops Hotel.

I am delighted that you have stayed with us in the past and chose to return and enjoyed a number of the facilities during your stay.

I am disappointed that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and I would like to assure you that the points you have highlighted will be reviewed with the management team at the hotel to ensure we improve our future performance.

I very much hope that you will consider the Treetops for your future accommodation requirements in Aberdeen and thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards,


Hemant Markanday
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

we arrived for a saturday break had a nice room and most comfortable bed we have slept in for a long time. leisure pool was cordoned off for a child swiming lesson.and they also had a sand problem at bottom of pool which someone was fixing. as we were trying to swim ! apart from that we had a lovely breakfast next day. staff were very pleasant an helpful.would go again .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemant M, Manager at Hilton Aberdeen Treetops Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent visit to the Hilton Aberdeen Treetops Hotel.

I am delighted that overall you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your visit.

We are aware of the problem in the swimming pool and are working to rectify this issue.

We hope to welcome you back to the Treetops in the near future.

Kind regards,


Hemant Markanday
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Aberdeen Treetops Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Aberdeen Treetops Hotel

Address: 161 Springfield Road, Aberdeen AB15 7AQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#20 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Aberdeen Treetops Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Aberdeen Treetops Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Treetops Hotel Aberdeen
Hilton Hotel Aberdeen
Hilton International Aberdeen
Aberdeen Hilton
Hilton Aberdeen Treetops Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Aberdeen Treetops Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.