We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian to your Saves list
Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE , Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Sunderland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I Had a good stay in this hotel.
I stayed in a single room on the 3rd floor. Room was clean, spacious enough for a single room and had a comfy bed and a reasonable size TV. There was no view from the window other than the neighbouring building and fire escape.
As I stayed on a weekend I got a very good rate and was actually cheaper than the Travelodge and the rooms in the Caledonian are much better.
Excellent location just off union street. The staff were friendly and if im back in Aberdeen for a night out would'nt hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conor S, Guest Relations Manager at Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Jock25
Thanks for you recent review on the Caledonian Thistle Aberdeen. Its great to see you enjoyed you stay here with ourselves and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Next time you stay booking a deluxe room with ourselves would give you the most amazing views over Aberdeen.

Kind regards
Conor Summersgill
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    166
    76
    43
    20
See reviews for
36
174
45
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just had another amazing night at the Caledonian! This place is the best location in Aberdeen. We normally have a night out in Aberdeen every 6 - 8 weeks and have chosen to stay here for the past 10 years normally in a suite. This time we booked a deluxe double and were upgraded to a suite. The rooms are great and the hotel is right in the centre of Aberdeen. We have always found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. We haven't eaten in the restaurant in the evening but have heard good reviews. Breakfast is excellent!

Thanks again Calley and see you next month!

Room Tip: Deluxe double and suites at front have great views of the terrace gardens. Terrace suite is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conor S, Guest Relations Manager at Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Hazels123
Thanks for your great review on the Caledonian Thistle Aberdeen, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Caledonian and return to us each month. As you know our location and historic property are our main selling points as well as being the oldest hotel in Aberdeen. Thank you again for the review, myself and all the team here at the “Caley” look forward to seeing you next month.

Kind Regards
Conor Summersgill
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turriff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a fantastic night in this hotel. I booked a suite because it was our anniversary and wasn't disappointed! We arrived back to our room to find two glasses of sparkling wine and fruit and chocolates which was a lovely surprise. I would definitely recommend this hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conor S, Guest Relations Manager at Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Susan L
Thank you for your recent review on the Caledonian Thistle, Aberdeen. I am Glad you enjoyed your suite and hopefully the recent weather did not spoil the beautiful city view from your bedroom. I hope you enjoyed your anniversary stay and that the prosecco and fruit made it that little bit better. Hopefully we will see you again in a year’s time if not sooner.

Kind Regards
Conor Summersgill
Guest Relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A fantastic 2 night stay in the centre of aberdeen up for friends 50th, I booked this through last minute.com and got a great price for the 4 of us for the 2 nights, everyone very friendly and always there to help. We were given a drink on the house for our friends birthday, we never ate bit expensive but had a few drinks. Couldn't fault our rooms everything was there that we needed.
Fantastic place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conor S, Guest Relations Manager at Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Lorna K
Thank you for you review on the Caledonian Thistle, Aberdeen. Its great to read that you enjoyed your stay here at the Caledonian I hope your friends did as well, I am glad to see you got a drink on the house for your friends birthday and from all of us here at the Caledonian “happy Birthday”. Hopefully you will return to us soon and we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards
Conor Summersgill
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Chose this 4 star hotel because of it's rating, and central location - 10 minutes walk from Railway Station and shopping centre. Entrance steps were filthy, inside reception area was pleasant with helpful, polite staff. Allocated a very small, back bedroom on the first floor overlooking a noisy, narrow cobbled lane. Bed was comfy and clean. Discovered in the morning that the shower did not work. The trickle of water was SCALDING and dangerous, so no morning shower. Had a wash standing in the bath filling a cup from the sink with warm water - not good! On reporting the situation to Receptionist we were upgraded to a Suite which was very nice, but the lack of basic facilities on our first night had spoilt our stay.

The large lounge bar, very quiet in the evening, doubled as the breakfast room. The quality of the Breakfast was disappointing, and some crockery had to be replaced with clean ones. All staff were polite and friendly, but unfortunately I could not recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with a view. Ask staff to confirm that all facilities in the room (Heating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conor S, Guest Relations Manager at Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Kate
Thank you for your recent review on the Caledonian Thistle, Aberdeen. I am very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and the issues that you have brought up I shall address personally, and I apologise. I am glad to see that you were upgraded and that the team were good during you stay. I would like to talk to you personally about your stay, My email address is conor.summersgill@thistle.co.uk I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards
Conor Summersgill
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I am a hhonors diamond member and so usually only use hiltons. I got a cheap rate off last minute.com for good friday and so thought I would give a go. The duty manager and receptionist were so friendly and made the hotel. They upgraded me to a nice room which I did not expect. The night manager was less friendly as wanted to use the Internet for 5 minutes and took a while for him to reluctantly give me a code but he did- I understand they charge but for 5 minutes. In any case, I would stay here again and the Friday night staff were excellent. Also hotel is next to shops and bars.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conor S, Guest Relations Manager at Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Bikevail09

Thank you for your recent review on the Caledonian Thistle Aberdeen. I am happy to see you enjoyed your recent stay with ourselves and that you shall be returning. I shall also pass on your comments to Lindsay Aitchison who was the duty manager that day and the staff that were here on the Friday night, its always great to get good staff feedback. I shall look into the Wifi issue as that should not have happened and I apologise. I hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Conor Summersgill
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I recently stayed for a few nights in March & was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was beautiful, an old building but in great condition & very well looked after.

The room which I stayed in (109) was lovely, a great size, large comfy bed & everything was in great condition. The room was also cleaned to a high standard & was cleaned thoroughly every day. The staff overall were great, very pleasant & always there to help.There was some noise from the street outside in the early hours each day, but I know this isn't your fault.

The only other issue I had was with breakfast service, the staff seemed overstretched & had no time to serve people properly & I had to wait longer than I expected to for my cooked breakfast. However, I will definitely stay when I'm in the city centre again in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conor S, Guest Relations Manager at Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear FrancesL431

Thank you for your recent review on the Caledonian Thistle Aberdeen. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with ourselves and shall be returning which is brilliant, with regards to the breakfast service we have just decided to increase the amount of waiting staff, which should resolve the issue that you came across. I hope to see you in the near future and once again thank you for your great feedback.

Kind Regards
Conor Summersgill
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian

Address: 10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE , Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the centre of Aberdeen, close to the railway station, and handy for the airport and heliport, The Caledonian is an ideal venue for business meetings or simply exploring Aberdeen’s parks, gardens, museums, galleries and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledonian, Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
The Hotel Aberdeen
Caledonian Thistle
Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.