We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian to your Saves list
Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE , Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Pune, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Caledonian Hotel in Aberdeen is conveniently located in the heart of Aberdeen. Staff at reception were very helpful and understanding. Wifi Service was pretty good. Room cleanliness was given very high importance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    138
    73
    34
    17
See reviews for
29
135
41
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed one night. Conveniently located in the centre of the city. Room was quite large and well furnished. Comfortable bed. Small bathroom. Small TV.
Bar was modern but very functional, it is used for breakfast and dinner. Polished floors do not help.
Reception area very small.
Staff young but very helpful.
Overall a functional hotel in a nice spot. Nothing spectacular

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Good location and friendly staff. The room I was in on the 4th floor was an adequate size although smaller than I expected. Bathroom door only opens so far so you have to go right in and close the door to get to the bath. The hotel is being refurbished and there is scaffolding outside the window. The scaffolding has boards across it so very little natural light gets in the room. Bed was comfortable. Nice sized flatscreen TV but remote didn't work. I handed it in at reception hoping that by the next day it would have new batteries and put back in the room but that didn't happen. I had to leave for work too early to have breakfast so can't comment on that.

Room Tip: Might be best waiting until the refurb has been done or choose a room without scaffolding outside th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

The Hotel has an excellent location and you can enjoy the nightlife within walking distance. The hotel also offers free parking but I suggest you arrive early as parking is fairly limited. The rooms are clean and the service efficient. The bar also offers a good meal.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with friends for a couple of nights & had a lovely time. We were in room 232 which had no view but the room itself was large, modern and comfortable, with all the amenities you could wish for. There's a slight slope to the room, but it's an old building and this is just an observation not a complaint. The bar & waiting staff were great too. The location is just off the main shopping street in Aberdeen, and a perfect spot close to many bars & restaurants. The parking is limited, and I think it's first come first served. All in, we'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for spending the time to leave a review. I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable weekend with us and will pass the kind comments on to the team.

Our car park is indeed first come first served and we are one of the only hotels within the city centre to offer free car parking to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards
Jane Bourque
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Myself and a friend went to the Caledonian Hotel for Afternoon Tea and it was a real treat. The staff were very attentive and pleasant and we had a nice table close to the window. It was a Monday afternoon we went and we were virtually the only people in the room but that was fine. The deal included a cocktail (which I had forgotten about) and was a nice surprise and you were able to choose anything from the cocktail menu. The Afternoon Tea came with the usual sandwiches, scones/cream/jam, cakes and tea or coffee. All were lovely and appeared home made and plentiful - we could't eat everything! Crockery used was quaint and added to the All in all I would recommend this to anyone and being in the centre of town would be ideal for a girls treat after shopping all morning!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind comments on our recently introduced afternoon tea. Our Sous chef Bryan Murray created the afternoon tea as part of our 120 year celebrations this year. To keep in with what we think is the ideal afternoon tea we have worked closely with Candy Belle Vintique to create an authentic vintage feel with all our crockery. Our Terrace suite is the perfect place to relax after a day's shopping and I hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best Regards
Jane Bourque
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Good lord, this is the 21st century. The tiny bed and breakfast I just left had no lift and a four floor walk up to the lobby - they had free wifi. I thought this one did too when I booked (it was one of my filters). Expensive pay wifi doesn't qualify and should not be listed so that filters fool people into booking thinking they will have access without a huge expense (£20 for 2 days) Lesson: email ahead to check if wifi is provided. (Today wifi is like clean towels: if a hotel doesn't get it right, there will be no return.)

The cupboard door was not well thought out. You had to move the chair because the door opens on the wrong side.

I think the tv remote needs a new set of batteries.

An observation: The view was a scaffolding. I understand buildings need work. Room 407 has an industrial view of rooftops. It would bother others. It is not a big issue for me.

Now that the bad has been said, let's get to the good. Nicely appointed bathroom. The room is a single so it is perfect for a solo traveler. I liked the honey-colored wood furniture and the warm colors (maroons). Plenty of plug ins above the desk for phones etc. (that 21st century thing again). A robe and slippers, an iron and ironing board with a bag for laundry services are cozy little touches.

Overall a nice room. It just needs wifi access.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for spending the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Thistle Hotels do not offer complimentary wifi, however we have introduced our new Signature loyalty scheme that does offer complimentary login time, dependent on the level of membership they have attained and qualifying points that are earned from the day of application. With reference to the scaffolding we are currently undergoing some improvements to our hotel and scaffolding is erected to the rear of the property. We have agreed hours of work with all contractors to ensure disruption is kept to a minimum. Our aim is to complete the renovations in January 2013 these works are a commitment to continual improvement in our service and hotel offering. I am glad to hear that your approved of your room and the recent refurbishment.
I hope to welcome you to Aberdeen in the future and if you would like me to send you some details on the Signature Loyalty programme please do not hesitate to ask.
Best Regards
Jane Bourque
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian

Address: 10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE , Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the centre of Aberdeen, close to the railway station, and handy for the airport and heliport, The Caledonian is an ideal venue for business meetings or simply exploring Aberdeen’s parks, gardens, museums, galleries and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledonian, Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
The Hotel Aberdeen
Caledonian Thistle
Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.