We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the cleanest!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen to your Saves list
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Malcolm Road | Bucksburn, Aberdeen AB21 9LN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not the cleanest!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have had the joy of staying here as I'm stuck in Aberdeen. I would not advise staying here at all! I u dear stand prices in Aberdeen are inflated but over £200 to stay in this place is ridiculous to be honest. The bar is terrible with a toastie starting at £5. Now the worst part the place needs a complete overhaul from top to bottom!

I don't think they actually clean the rooms as the twice if had no option but to stay here they have been filthy. The latter room all the enamel and paint was peeling from the bath and the walls in the room had brown marks on them !when I went to open the window as the heat I. The room was unreal. The white netting on the window was actually black.

I have stayed many places all over the world with work in some horrible locations but this ranks up there with the worst.

I'm sure you will see from my review so far that this hotel should be avoided if possible.

It don't cost a lot of money to keep a place clean!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear scotty13, The prices charged are clearly displayed and is the choice of guests if they wish to pay them. I apologise if you found the hotel to be dirty, it is old and requires maintenance however there is no excuse for being dirty. We are currently sourcing a new company to repair some baths that the last repair on the enamael did not fix properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    64
    80
    118
    357
See reviews for
73
136
50
267
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have just got back from a 3 night stay at the Britannia Aberdeen while travelling with David Urquhart Travel. We had reservations after reading other reviews but we had a great time. We found the hotel clean, staff very welcoming and helpful. Our Breakfasts and 4 course evening meals were lovely, well prepared and of great variety. Meals were self service so we were not limited to a given portion as we have been with other holiday companies (please read my previous reviews) so no-one had to leave the table hungry. A HUGE Thanks to the waiting staff especially Louise whose whitty banter and sense of humour made for happy dining. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others. We got a fantastic deal with David Urquhart so we found the whole break a true value for money deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear travelfan1808, I am glad you had a great holiday here and found that a lot of the comments we receive are not valid. I will pass your comments onto the staff and we hope to see you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Ok, I stayed there for 2 nights and for the price my company paid it was disgusting.
I arrived and checked in with an extremely rude receptionist who clearly want to be there and who was drenched in sweat and absolutely stunk to high heaven. Personal hygiene costs nothing and neither do mannours

I got to my room which on the surface looked bearable (just....) water pressure is extremely low making taking a shower almost impossible and the window only opens about 3 inches making the room stuffy and stale.

my first nights sleep was ok but then it gets worse...................

The second night I went to place where people eat (I won't call it a restaurant) it was disgusting to food was basic and was cooked terribly. But then I noticed all of the stains on the seats and carpets which led me to wonder what my mattras was like on my bed which I checked strait away...........I wish I didn't it was absolutely filthy which made my skin crawl, I felt sick to the stomach that I had to sleep on that, which I didn't..... I paid out of my own pocket to change to another hotel for the 3rd night.

I wouldn't let my dogs stay in this hotel and I have noticed the manager seems to reply to every comment on trip adviser trying to justify it........you can not justify the dirtyness of this hotel my friend and you seriously need to hand in your notice and leave along with most of your staff.

ABSOLUTLY DISGUSTING! AVOID AT ALL COSTS

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear kg k, I am sorry that you were obviosuly not happy with the price your company paid for your room but the cost is the agreed and accepted cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Remember the hotel is aimed at the high volume, low cost sector of the market. Within those constraints they do very well. I went on my own as a last minute, three night, booking with a coach tour. When we got there the manager (?) welcomed us and gave out the room keys. My name was not on the list so I was directed to Reception. I was given a room and they found my surname had been misspelled. Obviously an error in transmission.

The hotel is well outside Aberdeen but OK for a bus tour base. Well worn best describes the hotel and furnishings but there seems to be an ongoing piecemeal renovation to improve it. Having seen what customers can do to it, I am surprised that it is in such reasonable condition.

The choice of food was limited and basic but the food was well cooked - a marvel, considering the numbers - except for the chips which always seemed dried out. However, this suited me as I am trying to stay off chips. As it was always a buffet, I could eat as much as I wanted. The choice of white wine was restricted to two house whites, each being very acceptable table wines. I brought a large glass from the bar for each evening meal.

I asked for an alarm call at a different time for each morning. On the first morning it was not loud enough to waken me but as I was already up it did not matter. I mentioned the problem to Reception. Immediately, she noted I was to get a louder alarm call and it was to be repeated until I answered.This worked well for the rest of my stay.

The mattress seemed flimsy when I first tried it but to my surprise I slept well each night.

The acid test - would I go back again? No hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Hugo D, thank you for your comments and it was indeed myself that came on the coach and welcomed you and gave your keys out (sorry again for your name being miss-spelled). I am glad you had a good holiday and would not hesitate to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Following previous comments on tripadvisor.We were dreading our booking with David Urquhart almost to the point of cancellation. However, due to the organisational skills of Conf.mgr David.Not only did he do his own job but also had to stepup and cover the restaurant mgrs job which he did most admirably. Due to the hotel having 4 coaches staying at same time.David once again smoothed out ruffled feathers.
We found our room spacious clean comfortable and tidy with excellent high speed Wifi available. Bearing in mind it is a 3 star only hotel good value for money. Jeff&Annie.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Loopy_bear2000, thank you for your comments. I am glad you had a great holiday and found the hotel value for money. I have also passed your comments onto David who was glad to have made a positive impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Very unpleasant, shocking meal, dirty, .........
No bar food(£5 toastie), warm restaurant, terrible buffet, shocking wine, poor staff, smell of sewage in toilets, no view, bad signage,
Can't rate this one!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Ally S, sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, the bar does offer a light snack menu as you have pointed out and the price of the toasted sandwiches are clearly displayed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Over £200 per night for an outdated, dirty, worn out room is a disgrace. The staff were badly trained and struggled to be polite. Breakfast was charged as an extra, as was the paddling size swimming pool and gym. There are plenty of other much better and cheaper hotels in Aberdeen. I stayed one night and changed hotels!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear markymarkxx, the hotel would benefit from refurbishment and this is being looked into. The rate you had was obviously room only so breakfast would not be included. The leisure centre is not the biggest but we do not advertise it as being large.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen

Address: Malcolm Road | Bucksburn, Aberdeen AB21 9LN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.