We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Boulevard, Aberdeen AB24 5EF, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #45 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Christmas Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We booked a family Christmas lunch at the Doubletree this year after a poor experience at the Treetops last year. The Doubletree was excellent from start to finish. The service was spot on, food very good, and the temptation to cram in as many people as possible has been resisted. We were entertained by a magician who went round the tables. A good time was had by all.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_karwl_jackes01, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, December 31, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words, I remember speaking to you as you was leaving, A great day was had by all the restaurant proved to be a success and the function room was super value for money. I have had some lovely comments from guests it is wonderful to hear that we have made the festive period special fo you.
We are in the middle of our new year celebrations just getting ready for the bells and then the piper will make a entrance, hope you can join us again next year.

Kind regards
John Karwl-Jackes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    226
    185
    111
    65
See reviews for
110
273
48
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed two night in a Platinum club room : separate lounge for breakfast, flat tv, huge & comfortable bed, compl. beverage, view on the sea. Quiet and clean, good value, nice staff. The first time I stayed was a standard room with a view on the lobby where you cannot open the window and room was not very clean and the breakfast was average. The variance is important compared to the price spread between the two classes.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Lovely hotel, received our upgrade and was very impressed! Hubby loved the cookies and the complimentary drink offered on arrival was a lovely touch! Our room was very spacious and the bed was very comfortable, with ample pillows! Breakfast in my opinion was fantastic, plenty of variety and very attentive staff :-) We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_karwl_jackes01, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Dear Guest
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, The Platinum Club is a product and definitely the place to stay if in Aberdeen for pleasure or for business, the club offers an experience of a hotel within a hotel offering its own reception to help speed up check in. A relaxed bar with comfortable sofas to catch up with your latest book or to log onto your laptop to finish off that all important work project. We at the DoubleTree by Hilton look forward to you returning and we will have the warm cookie ready for your arrival.
Kind Regards
John Karwl-Jackes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We booked for Bonfire night this year and after reading some of the reviews about the old part of the hotel I was prepared to complain.

On arrival, I was not impressed to be told our rooms weren't ready. I don't care how busy it was the night before or how many rooms there are to get ready, if a check in time is advertised, and guests are asked to advise when they will arrive, make sure the rooms are ready. And when a guest complains about it, an apology is the correct course of action. "Well, we do say 'from 2pm' for check in" is definitely not the right response. After about 20 minutes wait with free coffee, we were checked in.

So, I was definitely looking for fault when I got to the room, I was going to ask for an upgrade. Imagine my annoyance when I found nothing. And I mean NOTHING to complain about. I'm a really fussy person and have stayed in many, many hotels and have found many, many faults but in this case there really was nothing.

Sure the rooms were a bit dated, but to be honest I often find newer hotel decor isn't to my tasted either. Despite its age, the rooms were well maintained, not shabby at all. If I were pushed I would say it would be useful to put some instructions for the heating system in the room and having the large telly in front of the heater probably isn't best.

For 60ish pounds it was absolutely fine. No-one should expect the Ritz for that price. They should expect clean and comfortable and in that respect this hotel ticks the boxes. I'm actually pleased we decided not to pay for the upgrade.

The location is pretty good. We walked up into the city and it took about ten minutes. We were right next to the beach for the fireworks which was a bonus.

We will definitely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_karwl_jackes01, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind words and encouragement, It is difficult sometimes to reply to specific feedback however when guests respond as you have it is easier to look at how we manage certain parts of our procedures to be able to deliver a better quality of service, so a big thank you from me for addressing an area for us to look at.
The firework display in Aberdeen is very popular and the hotel is generally busy with guests who come to enjoy the spectacular performance which happens just in front of the Platinum Club, thank you for your description of our classic rooms which is correct and these are the rooms planed for refurbishment starting middle of January they are very clean rooms and simply need bringing up to our guests expectation,
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.
Regards
John Karwl-Jackes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Reception area and bar are lovely, spacious, and fairly quiet but I found several things disappointing about this hotel in terms of the rooms. They were smaller than I had anticipated, and the wardrobe doors wouldn't open properly. The room had a smell which I couldn't quite place, too. Shame, the leisure centre was nice but I wouldn't recommend it for a stop over.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_karwl_jackes01, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments, without further information it is hard to respond, however I can only guess you had reserved a Classic Room which is the smallest of our room types.
All The Classic Rooms have plenty of floor space to accommodate a double or twin beds along with two separate seats with a table, along with a full size desk for working. Should you of required more space than that then our Premier or Platinum Rooms are bigger in their floor space. The Hotel also has on offer Duplex Rooms which give you a lounge downstairs and a bedroom upstairs these rooms offer you wonderful views out to the beach and to the sea.
Should you want to speak to us prior to making any reservations in the future concerning your needs for a larger room then please do not hesitate to call the hotel directly,

Kind Regards
John Karwl-Jackes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Ok so we arrived here thinking 4 star hotel so it should be good. Yes it was a special rate as we were attending a bring a party to a party but really the standard of a travelodge is by far better. Room 107...what can i say about this room. The first thing was the smell of stale smoke, had this been a smoking room? or still was? The window opened but would not stay open. There was stains round the sink, ok the sink was clean but the stains were awful looking so it should really be replaced. The base's of the beds had no valance so you could clearly see the beds were very old and tatty. The tv, well it was a huge old style tv, fair enough but not all the channels worked. The drains also smelt funny. We should of complained but at the time thought its just for one night, but will i stay again? NO. The reception staff were very friendly and the cookie on arrival was good but really, this hotel needs to be re rated. The stair case carpets need replaced, look old and grotty. THis is the first time i have left a review, but having stayed at other 4 star hotels in the area, this is the worst i have stayed in. Next time i will be going to a premier inn!

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_karwl_jackes01, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear Guest
I am pleased you took the time to respond to trip advisor. Your feedback is important to our business I would also like to mention that we have an exciting new programme starting in January of a refurbishment which will begin with our classic bedrooms. This will entail a complete overhaul of bedrooms and bathrooms. Times change so quickly and technology improves each year and at the DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen we are making all the necessary changes to keep up there with some of the new build properties.
Regards
John Karwl-Jackes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Seems looking at the rest of the reviews this is an ongoing problem, stayed in room 140, had a busy day as drove up from edinburgh, went visiting family in Aberdeen and returned to room about 22:30 very tired and looking forward to getting a good sleep.There was however no way this was going to happen as there was a function being held directly below the room and it was that loud It felt like being in the middle of a nightclub. This went on to the early hours of the morning, we also had to endure drunken partygoers running about the corridors which none of the hotel management team seemed interested in stopping.

I have stayed at this hotel previously, but would never stay here again and would certainly not recommend it to anyone else, when contacted customer services to complain not interested and never even received an apology, poor service for a hilton hotel worst one I have stayed at far better hotels in Aberdeen for same kind of price.

Room Tip: If you have to book this hotel, ask for a room away from function room and prefferably on second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_karwl_jackes01, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Dear Guest
I am sorry to hear that you have not had a good time at the DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen and very disappointing to read your feedback. Being a festive party weekend across the city the hotel is full with guests attending many events, we try to ensure that all our guests are allocated rooms according to the function they are attending or if they are visiting the hotel simply for a leisure break we have done our best to allocate rooms away from the festivities by. I am not sure how you managed to slip through our checking process and without further details I am unable to do so. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to discuss this matter further as I would like to make our checking procedures tighter. All this helps us to deliver a better level of service.
Kind Regards
John Karwl-Jackes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre

Address: Beach Boulevard, Aberdeen AB24 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Doubletree Aberdeen City Centre
Hilton International Aberdeen
Patio Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Hotel Patio
DoubleTree By Hilton Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.