We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 Star as advertised.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of AB11 Town House Hotel Aberdeen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added AB11 Town House Hotel Aberdeen to your Saves list
AB11 Town House Hotel Aberdeen
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   68 Dee Street, Aberdeen AB11 6DS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 97 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not a 4 Star as advertised.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Arrived after an 8 hour day traveling to an unkempt, nondescript town home where we were greeted with a " who are you" and never an introduction, just a " you need to pay now"! The room was literally steps inside the front entrance (which was also the breakfast area....right in the very narrow hallway) and although clean, it was the bare basics. We asked where we could get some supper and were told to walk down Union Street....we asked for a map or some menus and were told that they didn't have any.......that was why they gave free WI Fi. All of the B&B's we had stayed in prior to this one included WI Fi, was 25 pounds less, had common rooms with maps etc. and welcoming helpful, owners. Look elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AB11Aberdeen, Owner at AB11 Town House Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear Guests

Thank you for visiting AB11 Bed & Breakfast during our renovation time as we explained to you when you came in. You were the only cutomers that we had during your stay. I remembered I welcomed both of you in asking for the booking confimation and you said you did not have it. So I asked:"May I have your names please?" We explained to you we currently under renovation for the dinning room and other rooms, so the hotel was closed. We did not have any maps but I showed you the Tourist Information Centre is down Union Street, 3 mins walk away, where you can get all information for Aberdeen. Union Street is the high street of Aberdeen having many good places for fine dining. The lady was very unhappy when we welcomed her in. She refused to speak to us kindly from the start. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your trips from other cities.
AB11 town house hotel Aberdeen now is open with 7 brand new en-suite rooms and a beautiful dining room. Our rooms are Victorian featured with Egytian cotton bedding satin black out curtains.
I remembered when you left both of you were much happier than when you came in. I dearly hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip home. AB11 town house hotel Aberdeen always welcome you back! Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    2
    4
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
6
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Pros: Owners are very welcoming. House was clean. Aberdeen main street is a 10 minute walk away.
Cons: Twin beds were too narrow to sleep comfortably. Curtains were very thin and let light in. The Breakfast Room is actually the hall just inside the front door. On site parking is for 1 car and is difficult to access, the street has parking meters from 8am to 5pm. I did not think the accommodation was worth 90 pounds per night.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AB11Aberdeen, Owner at AB11 Town House Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear guests

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. Our dining room was in renovation as the rest of the property as I explained to you. Our temporarily hallway breakfast room was bright and clean with high ceiling. When you booked it, you were aware of the fact that you booked for two single beds instead of a kingsize bed as we always gave guests choice. Our beds are back care beds with many praises from other guests. I remembered that you wanted to book another night when you were checking out but we were fully booked. I hope the help I provided for the next day accommodation was helpful for you. New satin black out curtains are now in every room. Our brand new tastefully designed dining room is in use.
Thank you for your review and AB11 town house hotel Aberdeen always welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

My husband & I stayed here recently and really enjoyed the stay....young couple very welcoming, home clean and very comfy.....we wish them well with their further renovations and expansions...would stay again & recommend to all

Graeme & Linda Austin (NZ)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Booked online for 2 nights, was on aberdeen for business. this place is very centrally located, so was easy for me to find somewhere to eat both nights. Free wifi was a bonus, & had a good cooked breakfast, no issues with parking either, there were plenty of free parking places on the street to the front when i arrived at about 6pm each night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Location is ideal as it is central but quiet like the country side. The Victorian house is beautiful. When Mrs Kerr showed us our room, all we said was "wow". Spacious and nice room with big ensuite. The bed was big and comfortable. Everything was just spotless and perfect. Free WiFi was great. Mr&Mrs Kerr were the nicest people, they showed us local restaurants and helped us to rent a car for the next day. The breakfast was the best we have ever had. Mrs Kerr even packed all the fruits for us for the road. What more can I say. Thank you and it was a perfect!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AB11 Town House Hotel Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AB11 Town House Hotel Aberdeen

Address: 68 Dee Street, Aberdeen AB11 6DS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — AB11 Town House Hotel Aberdeen 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AB11 Bed & Breakfast is located in the heart of Aberdeen and has been freshly renovated to a very high quality. It is only minutes away from cinemas, theatres, music halls, shopping malls, bars, restaurants, museums and all local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your AB11 Town House Hotel Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AB11 Town House Hotel Aberdeen Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AB11 Town House Hotel Aberdeen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.