We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, lovely food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Western Hotel Aberdeen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Great Western Hotel Aberdeen to your Saves list
Great Western Hotel Aberdeen
239 Great Western Road, Aberdeen AB10 6PS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 97 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great hotel, lovely food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We visited this hotel at the weekend. We had a lovely room and after a day shopping in the city decided to eat in the lounge. The young girl working in the restaurant was delightful. The food was fantastic and beautifully presented as well as reasonably priced. Breakfast was tasty. All in all a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    43
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
52
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two days in September while attending a course and due to non availability on those days at my Bed and Breakfast. The downside to this hotel is the traditional theme of the bar area. You are greeted with the look and feel of a downmarket football viewing pub more so when it is easily accessible to members of the public. The room was comfortable,bay's room very modern but getting warm water in the morning was a task. Breakfast appeared mass produced and the staff were impersonal

Room Tip: WIFI signal on the first floor was rather weak. I am not sure if better signal strength would be ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Im just back from a lovely night at The Great Western Hotel, Room was lovely,Staff were great. The guy who checked us in was great, he recommended the resturant for tea, we had lovely meal there. We had a long day shopping and this was just what we needed ,We did not have to leave hotel for evening everything was there , nice meal, few drinks in bar, and a lovely breakfast next morning. We could not have asked for anything better. Ignore reviews this hotel is lovely. I would love to go back and would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: We were in a room just above the bar and smoking area but it did not effect us as it was a Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed one night in this hotel had a voucher deal so it was very cheap so was not expecting too much but the bedroom has no mirror so could not do my makeup or my hair for a party we were going to and the bathroom mirror was far too high for me could only see the top of my head. Had a meal in restaurant before we went out the food was ok but we ordered a bottle of white wine costing over twenty pounds which was served warm when my husband complained the barman would not exchange for chilled wine he gave us a glass of chilled house wine each and said our bottle of wine would be chilled in the bucket of ice by the time our meal was served but sadly it was not so I don't think we will be staying again or using there restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay !

On arrival hotel looks good nice decor
Bar area and restaurant all very nice

room very poor !!!!! Very small and bed most uncomfortable bad we have ever slept in :-(
Level of cleanliness ?? Not up to scratch !!!

We ate in restaurant for dinner & breakfast both lovely although on both occasions short staffed !!

Location on you are about 15 min walk to town centre....

We won't be back !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Having a house locally we have never used the accommodation at the hotel, but every week we visit one for more times for food.

Can't fault the food experience at all, nothing is ever left on the plates - it is relatively easy to spend more than you budgeted for, though. The Sunday roast, in particular, is getting to be a bit of a habit.

I get the impression that the hotel is popular as Monday to Friday accommodation for those working in the area, so it might be a good source for a weekend break if you want a room and good food handy ( ten minutes walk, five minutes bus ) for the centre of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

My first visit to the Grt Western and I loved it. Sunday lunch was delish!
Decor is lovely calming, relaxing and cozy!
House Rose was very nice for a house wine.
For two of us
Main course, dessert, large glass of wine each, a tea and a latte only £41.
Will certainly be recommending and will be back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Western Hotel Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel Aberdeen

Address: 239 Great Western Road, Aberdeen AB10 6PS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the centre of Aberdeen, the Great Western Hotel is a short drive to the stunning scenery of Royal Deeside. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers a full cooked breakfast during the week and a continental breakfast at the weekends, free wireless internet, local cuisine at the Paula Miewen Restaurant, and refreshment from the two bars on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Great Western Hotel Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Aberdeen Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Western Hotel Aberdeen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.