We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“on the decline” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sai Gon

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sai Gon
29 Crown Terrace, Aberdeen AB11 6HD, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #276 of 489 restaurants in Aberdeen
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“on the decline”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Rewind 5 years and I was a regular here. Back then it was fantastic! Great food, great service and something to look forward to. A friend and I decided to take a trip down memory lane. We were disappointed. The Smoked Corn chicken is the same as always- TASTY. That, however, is pretty much where the praise ends. The remaining starter all tasted exacltly the same as one another. The duck was fatty and coudln't really be called "crispy" at all. The mains were cold.

The decor has seen better days. The carpets were stained and the restaurant generally looked worn. Service was average

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    17
    15
    8
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtonhill, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“All you can eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Sai Gon restaurant is brilliant, all menus are being cooked to order and is delivered to the table in a short time, food is always hot and taste fantastic. It is good for Families, Friends and Business. Well love going there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Oh dear. From the minute we opened the door we knew it was going to be bad...but foolishly hoped the stale smell, the exhausted carpet, would somehow be transcended by the food. Our gut feeling was to exit before we got down the stairs. Oh, that we had not gone on to throw away our money. Food: memorable only for its blandness in taste and presentation, its suspect quality. Enough said.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great value all-you-can-eat deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We went here as a group of eight on a Friday night and all had the all-you-can-eat deal. This works best in a group because, between you, you can get a really good selection of different dishes from the menu. For example, we had two starters each, so we got to sample 16 different starters and then we tried plenty of different mains and sides between us.

There was no problem with ordering as much food as you wanted until you were full up. The restaurant was busy with lots of other people doing the same and it was a good atmosphere. The food was decent quality and the service was quick. Obviously with the volumes of food they must get through, a lot of it must be pre-prepared but they probably know they're going to get through it all on a busy night. The deal is great value - they probably make most of their profit from the drinks, which are comparatively expensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBAI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Bad in every way”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the decor is old, dated, and tired. Stained table cloths, stained and threadbare carpets.

When we arrived there was no one else there this should have been our clue to leave.

Off to a bad start the prawn crackers were already placed on all tables which left me thinking how long they may have been on there or how long they will continue to sit there. The starters were ready so quick after ordering it was obvious it had been pre cooked, and in light of the dry hard ribs and chewy chicken I guess we were right. The mains faired no better with one chicken and pineapple dish tasting so bad we couldn't eat it. The wine was dreadful vinegar would have tasted better. Service was ok.

I would definitely not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sai Gon also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Sai Gon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sai Gon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.