We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Josephine's

Josephine's
18 Holburn Street, Aberdeen, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #170 of 516 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Bring your own booze restaurant. Tapas and Italian.
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I came to Josephine's after a friend recommended it, and I'm glad I did. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. Staff were helpful, friendly and attentive. I will definitely return on my next visit to aberdeen.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    38
    10
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Felt like putting a brick through your window for my after meal mint.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Used to love the place. Lost all respect for the owner Keith. Disgusting behavior. Not impressed. Horribly rude, and non-negotiable. Yeah it does good food. But also the manners from the owner seem to come as a paid side order.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food! Great Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a great meal here for two on a Friday night. Our reservation was for 6:30 in the evening, so it was quiet when we arrived but it soon got busy. We were welcomed by the servers and the chef, who went over the tapas menu on offer with such enthusiasm that we had a hard time deciding what to order as it all sounded so delicious.
The food was excellent, the tapas were large portions and flavoursome. So although they were pricey, you got your money's worth, and BYOB meant you didn't grudge spending the money saved on drinks on treating yourself to dessert!
Can't wait to go back, next time I think I'll try the pizza!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Cannot fault.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Always enjoy tapas here, very laid back atmosphere and friendly staff. The food is fresh, of good quality and authentic. Can highly recommend the scallops and gambas pil pil.

Cant wait to go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friends birthday meal - disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Had high hopes for a friends birthday meal here but....
Our table of eight was seated in the window which would've been ok had the front door not been broken (didn't close properly) so we got an arctic blast (February in Abdn) every time someone came in/out.
Overall the service felt rushed, they seemed under-staffed and concensus round the table was the food wasn't great. My bruschetta was burnt and everything came at once - starters, tapas etc - which hadn't been explanined when ordering.....
Best part of the evening was the wine - and we brought that ourselves!
Maybe we just caught them on a bad night....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josephine's also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Josephine's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Josephine's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.