We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gurkha Chef

Gurkha Chef
5 Palmerston Road, Aberdeen AB11 5QP, Scotland
01224586005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 516 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Cuisines: Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very attentive staff, delicious food and they take taste card. I was there this evening for my mothers birthday and i had the himillian lamb very flavoursome. I will return!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    29
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Favourite Restaurant in Aberdeen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I have now visited this restaurant a good 20 to 30 times with my girlfriend and I can honestly say that each and every time we have found it outstanding. There is nowhere else in Aberdeen where I have had a better curry.

I usually go for a medium to hot dish with my girlfriend more keen on a milder dish so we often seem to end up going for the everest chicken and the mayalu chicken. Without fail the meat is tender and full of flavour and the sauces are always prepared to an excellent standard, rich and full of flavour.

The rice is always served steaming hot and my girlfriend often opts for the coconut rice which is wonderfully fragrant. We usually have a garlic naan which is always excellent; perfectly flavoured with a great balance of fluffyness and crispness.

Our drinks are also consistently well served. I find that the large 660ml bottle of Cobra beer is always served ice cold and washes down my food nicely.

For the quality of food the price is very fair. I wouldn't go so far to say it is cheap but it is excellent value for money when you consider the quality of food on offer.

There is plenty free parking nearby the restaurant on Palmerston Road and around the old fish market and if you can't get a space you can always park for a pound after 6pm at Union Square.

The service is always excellent as well with the staff never being too over the top but always very warm, friendly and efficient.

To round off the review I'll say that possibly the best thing about this restaurant is the attention to detail. Even the small things like the clarity of the menu, the cleanliness of the cutlery and crockery, the cleanliness of the bathrooms, the quality of poppadoms and the condiments and the temperature in the restaurant are always spot on. As you can probably tell I can't recommend this place highly enough.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen, scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“a real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

my wife and I tried this place for the first time on Saturday, having driven past it many times we thought we'd give Gurkha chef a try. as others have said it's not much to look at from the outside and the inside is rather drab, but forget all that because the service and food are excellent. we went for 2 Nepalese main courses, rice and bread plus a drink each and the bill was only £31. incredible value for the quality of the food.
I would happily recommend this to anyone, if you like Indian style food, you'll like this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

11 of us enjoyed every bit of food on our plates at this wee hidden gem. Can't wait until our next visit. Good value as well, drinks,. starters, mains, sides and coffees or teas all at £26.00 a head.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is not the easiest restaurant to find. Although it is near one of the main shopping centres (Union Square), it needs to be tracked down. TIP - there are really cheap parking facilities in the evenings at Union Square. Because there are so many eating places in the Square it is easy to overlook this one. We were given a very warm welcome and found the home cooked food to be excellent. The premises themselves are very clean and unpretentious. I would go back if I had the opportunity.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Chef also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Gurkha Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gurkha Chef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.