We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual setup, but very chic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bauhaus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bauhaus Hotel to your Saves list
Bauhaus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   52 - 60 Langstane Place, Aberdeen AB11 6EN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Somers, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Unusual setup, but very chic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed two nights at the hotel at the end of June on a Friday and Saturday (more about that in a minute). It was a bit different from the typical hotel experience, and fairly unconventional - the hotel is painted in strong primary colors inside, with a different color theme for each of the 5 floors. The art on the walls matches the theme, which is to say it's painted in bright primary colors, usually of combinations of geometric shapes, matched to the primary floor theme color. I liked the style a lot, but it's very modern, so if you're looking for a hotel experience that's more "regal" this probably isn't the place for you. There is a full bar on the second floor of the hotel that seems to get a lot of traffic, and the reception desk also doubles as a small bar on the groundfloor (as I said - unconventional).

The room was similarly modern, with warm browns and cream colors and furniture with a distinctive 70s-but-modern look. It felt like the room had been set up by an interior designer, and was decently sized. The bathroom was a little smaller, but instead of tile the shower was paneled in a smooth stone (coriander maybe?) which gave it an upmarket feel. The shower was amazing - the wide head flowed so much water it felt like I was showering under a hot waterfall! I loved it and wish I could get one of those in my home. One small note that may be of interest to Americans is that I was surprised to find that they didn't include any washcloths with the linens. So, I called down to reception, and said they would send some right up. No one ever came, and it was late, so I didn't pursue it. But in morning when I called down again, someone came by but thought I was asking to drop off clothes to be washed. Once they understood I was looking for a "face towel" they then informed me they didn't stock any. That surprised me given how many rooms the hotel had and that they were in a big city, but reception later that day also confirmed they don't stock them. Maybe it's a European thing (?) Bottom line - bring your own washcloth. The hotel got a little noisy with so many people going to the bar, and with the tile hallways echoing any voices. Since we were there on the weekend, the bar got pretty busy, and the street that the hotel is on has about 6 different nightclubs that also get a fair amount of traffic, so you'll hear the music beat and be in the "clubbing" environment when you leave to go anywhere in the evening.

The hotel service was overall very good. The front desk person helped me decode the parking signs around the hotel, but be warned that if you're driving a car you'll have to park on the street - and often need to pay really expensive meters from 8 AM - 6 PM. I found some off-street parking a few minutes away (thank you wifi and Google!), but just be forewarned that you'll have to figure out what to do with your car while you're there. Breakfast was included in our room reservation, and the food was good but average overall.

The hotel was reasonably priced, and given the clean modern decor, location in the city centre (not "center" when you're in Britain of course), and included breakfast, staying here is a terrific value. I dinged one star (circle?) for the lack of parking arrangements, but I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably quieter given that they're farther from the street where the clubs ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    94
    25
    11
    11
See reviews for
9
92
22
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Grant is an excellent chef! Whilst the food was quite pricey I didn't grudge it because it was lovely! His wife was our waitress and is lovely. Had cocktails here with friends one summer evening and it was a great place to start our night. Highly recommend it :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night at the weekend. We stayed in the Bauhaus Suite which had a separate lounge area with a large flat screen tv, and a couple of sofas. Bed was very comfy and en-suite bathroom had a an amazing shower. Breakfast was wonderful. Freshly cooked in view and very tasty. Overall, a very pleasant stay and would definitely stay here again. Only complaint was that it was very hot outside which meant the bedroom was very warm and although window did open, it would not stay open.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for 1 night at the end of May, the only availability was a suite, which was overlooking Union Street, as a result it was noisy, on top of that when I had a shower the water was cold & I did not find the staff helpful

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kingston, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

With as much as I travel, I am always nervous of the unexpected, and staying at a non-chain hotel is not something I usually like to do. But seeing I waited a little too late to get a hotel in Aberdeen (two weeks before), and almost everything was sold out, I had not much choice. That being said, the hotel was great. The room I was in, the Fitzgerald room, was spacious and modern. The internet worked great, the shower was clean, and the bed was comfortable. Also, the hotel is centrally located so you can walk out to a bunch of bars, and also the number 1 Trip Adivisor restaurant is right across the street. It was an uneventful stay, which was great. If I was in Aberdeen, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossgates, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel on first impression is quite austere and minimalist. When I arrived, I wasn't sure that I liked it. But it improved on better acquaintance!
The room and bathroom were very clean. The bed was comfortable and there was a huge TV on the wall! The shower was very lovely and we enjoyed the breakfast.
So everything that's important when staying away was great. But aesthetically it wasn't my taste. My husband loved the look of it though! We would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I had stayed in the Bauhaus about 3 years ago when it had just opened and enjoyed it then, but had actually forgotten what a nice hotel it is. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the reception staff are very efficient and friendly, and the breakfast was really good with the freshly squeezed orange juice an added bonus. The hotel is just at the back of Union Street so is very central. The only downside is that it doesn't have it's own parking and parking is expensive in Aberdeen. We parked at the underground car park across the road at The Park Inn where we paid £12 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bauhaus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauhaus Hotel

Address: 52 - 60 Langstane Place, Aberdeen AB11 6EN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bauhaus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Aberdeen city centre, our contemporary, iconic granite building opened its doors in November 2009. Located very close to Union Street, the hotel provides easy access to the city's shops, nightlife and sights. We recognise that style and flair for design need not break the bank. Our yummy cocktails, fabulous linen, flat screen TVs, free WiFi, luxurious Aveda bathroom products, all help to redefine the urban hotel experience in Aberdeen. It is the first high quality, no fuss, value-for-money boutique hotel in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bauhaus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauhaus Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bauhaus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.