We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, neat rooms, welcoming staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bauhaus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bauhaus Hotel to your Saves list
Bauhaus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   52 - 60 Langstane Place, Aberdeen AB11 6EN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location, neat rooms, welcoming staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Standard rooms are comfortable and kitted out in a bold contemporary style. Bathrooms aren't massive but they are perfectly adequate. We paid £70 for bed and breakfast on a Friday night which seemed very reasonable. Top marks for the staff who were as welcoming as they were friendly.

I think I'm right in saying that Bauhaus is independently owned and it shows. It is a great wee mid-range hotel which has plenty of character without being annoying wacky.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    94
    25
    11
    11
See reviews for
9
92
22
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 1 night at the Bauhaus for a night away, our choice was based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disapointed. A warm and friendly welcome upon arrival was much appreciated after our long drive and our room did not disapoint. We booked through Expedia and i had requested a quiet room, this request was duly met and our room was nice albeit very modern so quite basic but it worked for us. The only couple of points i would like to point out are the lack of soap to wash hands with and the proximity of the bedside table to the bed which was a bit dangerously close to eye level. Apart from that no complaints, lovley warm welcome at breakfast with a good choice on the cooked menu and cold buffet arrangement. All in all a pleasant stay. Keep up the good work Bauhaus, we will be sure to return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Went to Aberdeen to relive our youth and ended up spending our entire visit in the hotel with the most wonderful staff. We were greeted by the fabulous James who was very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and furnished to a high standard. Ended up getting the best sleep I've had in ages! Thanks to Stuart and Andrew who kept us entertained in the bar, get some Sailor Jerry in for our next visit, they were good craic! Look forward to coming back and staying in the gropius room next time.......friends and family rate!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

The hotel is located in a busy street just behind Aberdeen's main thoroughfare and we drove past it a couple of times before realising where it was. On my floor there were just five rooms and each was accessed by a key card. Mine didn't work first time so I had to return to reception for re-programming (the card, not me!). First impressions on the room were favourable. Good-sized bed, walk in double shower (no bath) and a large flat screen TV, wall-mounted. The shower water pressure was a bit weak. The tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries were frugal to say the least given the cost of the room. The breakfast was also a tad disappointing and was more akin to what you might expect in a little B and B. The staff were helpful and friendly throughout. Overall a nice hotel but over-priced at £85.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I have recently returned from a weekend stay at the Bauhaus in Aberdeen and had a very enjoyable stay.

The checkin staff were very friendly and accomodating, especially when I lost my room key card.

The rooms are very spacious and the bathrooms excellently presented.

The hotel is situated on the street behind union street which means is very close to all the pubs, clubs, bars and resturants.

The breakfast was superb...fully scottish. I will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Good location, room was clean and spacious, noise and light pollution in the room at night a bit disappointing. Restaurant was clean, efficient and food well cooked. Breakfast was good. Overall I would recommend the hotel but as pointed out by other reviewers try and get a room on the back of the hotel. Decor is not entirely to my taste but that's my issue and not something to criticise the hotel for

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

I stayed at the Bauhaus Hotel in January and was very impressed. It is a beautiful boutique Hotel and very modern/trendy. I had a large room with ample space and was impressed by the decor. Carpet on the floor is amazing, need to find out where they got it. The Hotel is right next to Union Street with plenty of bars and places to eat. Superb breakfast in Grants resturant. I usually stay at the Mal Maison but will switch to Bauhaus as absolutely superb

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bauhaus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauhaus Hotel

Address: 52 - 60 Langstane Place, Aberdeen AB11 6EN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bauhaus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Aberdeen city centre, our contemporary, iconic granite building opened its doors in November 2009. Located very close to Union Street, the hotel provides easy access to the city's shops, nightlife and sights. We recognise that style and flair for design need not break the bank. Our yummy cocktails, fabulous linen, flat screen TVs, free WiFi, luxurious Aveda bathroom products, all help to redefine the urban hotel experience in Aberdeen. It is the first high quality, no fuss, value-for-money boutique hotel in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bauhaus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauhaus Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bauhaus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.