We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, poor acoustics” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Fish Cafe

Moon Fish Cafe
9 Correction Wynd, Aberdeen AB10 1HP, Scotland
01224 644166
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 514 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Price range: $39 - $158
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, poor acoustics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This restaurant has top rating for a good reason. The food is fabulous. It is, however, a bit noisy when it is busy. The acoustics of the room is poor. This could be improved a lot with soft furnishings.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    99
    25
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Really enjoyed this small restaurant. We were greeted very warmly and the service throughout our lunchtime meal was excellent, attentive without being obtrusive. My companion and I had two starters each and a shared platter instead of main courses and all were delicious. The menu was not extensive but reasonably imaginative and good value for money. £33 for two, including one glass of wine and a tonic water and two coffees.
We lingered a long time and never ever felt pressurised to leave which was really good as my friend and I were "catching up". A wee gem of a place which I would highly recommend.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing all round experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Me and my partner went to this cafe for Dinner. First impressions were that it was a very cosy and intimate place. We both discussed that if it was any bigger it would loose the exclusive feel. The decor was very modern and rustic at the same time, and the service from start to finish was amazing (not too "in your face" at all, but still managing to cater to your every need with menus and drinks). Each course was just phenomenal. It really is a unique, mouthwatering dining experience with each course up to the most incredible standard. It is one of those places that you could order anything off the menu, no matter how adventurous it sounded, and still feel like it was the best food you had ever eaten.I guarantee that if you choose to dine here, you will not be disappointed. You will leave feeling like the atmosphere was brilliant, the staff were very friendly and at hand, the drinks were fantastic, and most of all the food was to die for. An evening you won't forget. Hats off to the chef and staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Dinner with colleagues”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I hosted a dinner with 14 colleagues at Moon Fish and had a great evening.

The service and food were outstanding.

The atmosphere was perfect for the event.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great gin menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Moon fish is a small, intimate restaurant which would be great for a romantic dinner or a catch up with friends / family. Out of all three courses, by far my favourite was the scallop thermidor starter but all were lovey and I would definitely go back.

Although there is a casual atmosphere, my only criticism is that I'd like to see the waiting staff slightly smarter. I think for the price and atmosphere, this is a must. Also a little cold sat next to the window but then it was snowing the day I was there!

The gin menu is a great touch and any gin lover will appreciate!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon Fish Cafe also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Moon Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Fish Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.