We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be surprised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Abingdon Collection

The Abingdon Collection
16 Gortnagarn Road | Abingdon, Omagh BT78 5NW, Northern Ireland
028 8224 3373
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Attractions in Omagh
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 'THE ABINGDON COLLECTION' offers a unique visitor experience in the beautiful rolling hills of Co. Tyrone. Divided into two distinct sections the first area covers classic cars, motorcycles, diecast models and enamel signs and every 'BIG BOY'S TOY' imaginable. Take a step back in time to the 1950's and remember when petrol was sold in gallons and you could still afford to buy it. The second part of the collection takes you back to the dark day's of World War Two and represents one of the largest private collections of militaria in the UK. Admission is free but contributions to Cancer Research are gratefully accepted.If you want a totally different day out with a history lesson included contact us now. Classic car and motorcycle clubs are very welcome and catering can be organised for visiting large groups. Admission by appointment only.
Saintfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Be surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is the most amazing private collection of cars and wartime memorabilia. You will be delighted at the beautiful collection of motor vehicles, all gleaming as if they had just left the factory. The war time section transports you into a by gone era which re-creates the lives of servicemen and has an amazing collection of weapons on display. This is educational, interesting and informative and the owner is happy and willing to answer any questions you may have. It is almost too much too take in on one viewing so I think we will need to go back! The donation you make goes to a Cancer Charity and this makes it even more worthwhile.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABINGDONCOLLECTION12, Owner at The Abingdon Collection, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments. As history teachers your own knowledge shone through and helped an amateur try to bring the period to life. Your students would be most welcome to make a visit to the collection. Why not make a day of it and we will look after you. Thanks again for your kind donation and have a great Christmas.

Philip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cookstown, United Kingdom
1 review
“Memorable and moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I visited 'The Abingdon Collection' with a friend last week and it was an unexpected, but truly moving experience. The owner was extremely friendly and welcoming and his obvious passion and knowledge about his entire collection made the visit simply gripping. As I moved around the themed exhibitions, I was transported to various decades in the C20th - each exhibition was a feast for the senses, with the displays and the music. The eclectic mix of museum pieces means that there really is something to interest everyone. I had gone to learn about military history, specifically german military history, and I truly have been educated on the subject. It was the very real way in which this collection presents the lives of soldiers which moved me most - and moved I was. This collection will stir the emotions and I truly recommend it to everyone who is visiting the area. There is something for all the family and will be a great day out. But this collection is important - and anyone studying social or military history must go to this place! Also, the donation for your visit goes to a Cancer Charity, which makes this place even more worthwhile. We are so lucky to have this calibre of collection in Northern Ireland. Thank you for an unforgettable visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABINGDONCOLLECTION12, Owner at The Abingdon Collection, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments. It is gratifying to know that what we try to reflect is appreciated and well received . Thank you very much and I hope to see you back at the collection soon.
Philip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Truly Amazing !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This collection is quite incredible. We enjoyed the WWII exhibits especially.
Philip has a tremendous knowledge which he generously shared with us. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Abingdon Collection as a MUST SEE.
Its, colourful, eye-popping, surprising, entertaining, illuminating, thought provoking and in places incredibly moving : a wonderful view of the 20th century. Thank you Philip !

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABINGDONCOLLECTION12, Owner at The Abingdon Collection, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks Jayne for your kind comments and contribution to Cancer Research.
I hope to see you and your friends back at the collection in the near future.
Philip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fivemiletown, United Kingdom
1 review
“A tremendous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Abingdon Collection first and foremost provides a great day out and you owe it to yourself to visit and enjoy the experience.Yet beyond this it also offers a tremendous opportunity to open a window to the past, with twin strands of 20th Century social collectibles evoking images of a simpler and perhaps happier time and an outstanding World War 2 militaria display. If you are looking for an enjoyable morning out with expert commentary from a knowledgable host this is for you but as you view the tremendous WW2 exhibit expect an impact on your senses and to come away thoughtful about the past, the present and everyones future.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABINGDONCOLLECTION12, Owner at The Abingdon Collection, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Stephen,
Thank you for your kind comments. Please pass on my thanks to the group for their very generous contribution to Cancer Research. I hope to see you all back soon.
Philip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
1 review
“A must see collection- a hidden gem- do not miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Without doubt this is one of the best history tours we have visited. Philip was a very informative host who was a fountain of information about the different eras. The world war room was amazing. So much in it that we would have to return to see it all. Some of the personal war stories philip tells about some of the items makes it even more interesting and real.
It really is a journey through history.
Philip can be very proud of the collection he has built up over the years. You can really see the love and care philip and his wife hazel put into the collection. Its spotless.
The cars and motorbikes were brilliant, would make you want to jump in and go for a drive.
The biggest compliment i can pay is that for all their hard work and effort, any donation is given to cancer research.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABINGDONCOLLECTION12, Owner at The Abingdon Collection, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind comments and generous donation to Cancer Research.
The collection tries to bring the past back to life and it is gratifying to know that the stories told are appreciated by visitors.
You are both most welcome back at any time.
Philip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Abingdon Collection also viewed

 
Omagh, County Tyrone
Omagh, County Tyrone
 

Been to The Abingdon Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Abingdon Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.