We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday night - Very Busy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of QUAYWEST

QUAYWEST
Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7QB, Northern Ireland
02871370977
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 147 Restaurants in Derry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Families with children, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
UK
2 reviews
“Saturday night - Very Busy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had booked table for 9.00 p.m. on Saturday night. Arrived at 8.30 p.m. and the place was bunged. Although the staff were very organised and on top of everything - we weren't seated in restaurant until 9.40 p.m. Food very good. Booking essential.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    120
    57
    20
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Limavady, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC EATING EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We went as a family group of 7 to Quay West on Friday night. We are still purring with pleasure at our experience. The atmosophere was buzzing and service was excellent; thanks to Jarvis and Kate who were most attentive and profesional. Just loved the open space and characterful beamed ceiling on the upper floor. We had a variety of starters, main courses and desserts. All were excellent. The salmon wrpapped in cream cheese and crab was a particular favourite. The Italian chicken, smoked cod, steak and monkfish wrapped in Parma ham won especial praise. The cheese cake was very good. The only criticism was the leaden base on the strawberry gateaux. With food, drink we were amazed at the value. It finished off a really pleasant dining experience and one we are keen to repeat in the near future.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Didn't even look open from the outside but inside was warm, friendly and hospitable, with attentive staff, good service and great food. Booked a taxi from the bar after our meal which arrived in minutes! Modern and trendy decor, not my usual style eating place, but it was busy and welcoming and I would eat here again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I went to Quay West a couple of months ago whilst on business. Visiting on a Monday night, they had 50% off everything. I've experienced these offers before and it's usually on a selected menu, interesting house wines etc... but at Quay West, this was literally 50% off everything. The food was excellent and although they were pretty much full, they squeezed me in at the bar. All the staff were talkative and friendly, in particular the bar manager, Eugene.
Even at full price, I would highly recommend this restaurtant, in particular if you are on your own. The TV's were showing the Olympics at the time and the staff changed the channel on request too.
This was the best dining experience I've had in Derry - excellent!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“worst service staff in derry”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

ive ate in here quite a few times the food is good apart from once my food was cold when i sent it bk they just stuck it in the microwave an sent the same bacon and cheese melter back up which then tasted like rubber... the service in this restaurant is really bad everytime ive bn in after our order was taken no one came near our table to check on us my friend waited the entire time it took us to eat our main course for a drink she had ordered to have along with her lunch .. we could see that the drink was sitting at the end off the bar but the staff was to busy chatting among themselves to remember..( the restaurant was not busy on this occassion it was the end of lunch an there was only two other tables) .. my friend asked for the drink when the waitress came to clear the table after finishing 15 mins before hand she said she would get it up straight away but didnt even say sorry .. we wernt asked if we wanted anything else i had to go downstairs to find some1 to get me a coffee when it arrived there was no sugar with it i had to wait a further 10 mins to get the waitress' attention for sugar by that time my coffee had went cold an we just wanted to leave .. the service is unacceptable everytime i have been in . i think they should look into staff training cause the service is letting this place down completley...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed QUAYWEST also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to QUAYWEST? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage QUAYWEST, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.